We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at Feathers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   24 Melina Street | Rosendal, Durbanville 7550, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Durbanville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“First stay at Feathers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My first experience at Fearthers Lodge left a lasting impression and will certainly see me returning to this venue for future business trips. Conveniently located and easy to find. Parking was good and the service was warm and welcoming. My room was perfect and I made good use of the free WiFi on offer which was easily accesssed. Did not get the opportunity to have dinner at the Lodge but my breakfast was fantastic!

Excellent venue for business travel but I imagine the pool and garden might be too small for family travelling with small children.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feathers L, Front Office Manager at Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Larry697,

thank you so much for taking the time and posting a comment on our listing! We pride ourselves in our product and service excellence is of utmost importance to the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back and next time you must definately try our 3 course home cooked dinners from the mini a la carte menu.

Warm Feathers Regards,

Mariaan Laubscher
Feathers Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
5
3
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Every time I go to cape town I want to stay in Feathers Lodge. Everything is perfect, the location, the accommodation, the restaurant and the people. There I feel like at home. I love it. I will always have Feathers Lodge as my first choice in Cape Town. :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feathers L, Manager at Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Rui A,

What a wondeful review, so lovely to hear from you.

We can't wait to have you back home again, our home is definately your home.

Thank you so much for the kind review, I cant wait to share it with the rest of the team.

Wonderful clients like you, make our work and passion for what we do so much easier.

Can't wait to see you in the New Year.

Till we meet again,
Melanie Wheeler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

No Good - Toilet in room no window. Too small room. Too small pool. Too small garden. No minibar. Nothing for children. Feel like a box. Manageress not friendly. Dont take children - very boring. Children must be quiet all the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feathers L, General Manager at Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Mikcila,

We value the platform that Tripadvisor provides us, as it helps retain the close relationship we have with our clients. It is wonderful celebrating positive reviews but also to reflect when receiving a negative review.

One of the strongest attributes of Feathers is that we are centrally located to all Cape Town’s Tourist attractions. We are 25 min to: the airport, city centre, beaches, table mountain, the Waterfront and Stellenbosch wine route as well as 5min from the Durbanville wine route, golf courses & Tygervalley shopping centre.

We do offer a courtyard garden with swimming pool and movie/kids room with free popcorn over the Festive season, but Feathers is not a holiday resort. We ensure that our friendly Front desk managers are equipped to recommend the best day trips available, as there is so much to do and see in and around Cape Town.

We pride ourselves in offering our 4 star facilities with 4 different room types (including breakfast, free filter coffee and uncapped WIFI, room menu, braai facilities, pre-ordered picnic baskets and lunch packs to take on day trips) to our Leisure guests at a discounted rate from our normal corporate year rates.
Families with children are welcome and off site entertainment such as Buggs Play Park & Funky Frogs are just a stone throw away.

We would love to welcome you back at Feathers Lodge whom has this year been voted as one of the Top 3 guesthouses in South Africa by SouthAfrica.TO Travel Awards 2013.

Warm Feathers Regards,
Aneen Saayman
General Manager- Feathers Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I spent 7 nights at Feathers lodge while on a recent visit to Cape Town. Feathers provides excellent value accommodation that was always clean and very comfortable. The service was great, staff always available, helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Fast, reliable and free WiFi in the bedroom was a pleasant surprise as was the provision of secure off road parking. The room was well equipped with coffee making facilities, iron, small safe and hair drier. A laptop safe would be useful.
While situated in a quiet upmarket northern suburb the lodge is very close to excellent shopping at Tygervalley centre and a wide range of restaurants. Cape Town and the Wine routes of Stellenbosch and Paarl are within easy reach by motorway. A car is essential.
Although a regular visitor to Cape Town this is the first time I have stayed at Feathers Lodge. I will have no hesitation in booking there again in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feathers L, Front Office Manager at Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Holmestead50;

Thank you so much for those wonderful kind words and such great feedback.
If there are three things our guests must always have, its great coffee,free fast uncapped WIFI and top notch service from every department.

We hope you will be back very soon and we can hopefully spoil you with our scrumptious breakfast,new dinner menu and possibly a different type of room perhaps?

Thank you once again, I can't wait to share this feedback with our team!
Till we next time,

Warm Feathers Regards
Melanie Wheeler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

At Feathers Lodge, you will be very well looked after by all staff members. It's a friendly environment, the staff are very helpful and the accommodation is very stylish and clean.

I visited South Africa four times this year on business, and returned to Feathers Lodge each time as my preferred place of stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very good accommodation, used by our business to put visiting staff up. Try room 12! Very friendly staff, less than 5 min away from Tygervalley waterfront by car. Suitable for conferences. Competitive rates.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feathers L, Front Office Manager at Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Gordon W

Thank you very much for kind words! Room 12 is our top suite and enjoyed by all our guests, we are very happy you liked it too!

We look forward to seeing you soon, perhaps for December Accommodation...

Warm Feathers Regards
Melanie Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a wonderful guesthouse that I have stayed with for the past 9 years. Their hospitality and friendliness is unmatched and addictive. It may be a guesthouse, but I have experienced it as a boutique hotel. It has become my home away from home. The rooms are well equipped, clean and neat but they will hook you with their warm sincerity, friendliness and hospitality. I will recommend to anyone any day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel

Address: 24 Melina Street | Rosendal, Durbanville 7550, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Durbanville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Durbanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feathers Lodge was designed and built in 1998 as a boutique hotel with conference facility and has been operating successfully ever since, earning many awards and recommendations in the process.Our managers are highly experienced hosts who will make every effort to make your stay fruitful, serene and slightly addictive!Each individually decorated room is air-conditioned and has mountain or pool views. It comes equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV,aircon,tea-and-coffee-making facilities and FREE UNCAPPED Wi-fi.Breakfast is served daily and other meals are available on request. The room service menu offers light meals and traditional South African cuisine.The Tygervalley Shopping Centre is a 5-minute drive from Feathers and the Durbanville Golf Club is 6.7 km away. For sports enthusiasts, the Belville Sports Stadium is a 20-minute drive from the property.The Cape Town International Airport is 24 km away.Free private parking is available.Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel Durbanville, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feathers Lodge Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.