We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Saturday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Restaurant

Hillcrest Restaurant
Hillcrest Olive and Wine Farm | M13, Racecourse Road, Durbanville, South Africa
021-970-5800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 52 Restaurants in Durbanville
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant is on an olive/wine farm in the Durbanville area
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Sunny Saturday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

It was the first really sunny day in Cape Town after a long winter. We decided to have lunch at the restaurant at the Hillcrest Wine Estate and also have a taste of their 2014 Sauvignon Blanc. We were fortunate to have booked, because the restaurant was packed. We ordered some wine and my friend also ordered a Weiss beer, which was very good. Later we met the winemaker, Graham, and found out that he is also now a beermaker ! That explained the Weiss on tap. We ordered the food, and were served quite promptly. Delene ( the owners) chicken pie is worth a taste. The other food also looked and tasted good. The setting is fantastic, and the views over the mountain towards the sea is beautiful. A real recommendation!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great breakfast venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The views are almost the best, overlooking blouberg from the top.
The menu is wide enough providing a good selection to cater for everyone's needs.

Certainly once finished, to pop into the wine cellar next door too. Their Merlot is a Gold Winner after all, and for a number of years voted the best in SA.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was a great find! There's so many restaurants in the winelands but this one really stands out. The food is always fantastic, the service is perfect and the wine is stunning! We've never had a bad meal here and look forward to coming back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great views, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

You must visit this little jewel of a wine farm in Durbanville. Lovely olives, and wines. They have lovely views from their stoep all the way to Blouberg. Their food is very tasty and you have to have their signature stone bread!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good Day on a wine farm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a wonderfull day we had with the warm Cape Town sun at our back. Good food and good wine. Love the place. People are friendly. We surely got a lot of nice winefarms in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillcrest Restaurant also viewed

 
Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Been to Hillcrest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.