We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value , lots od space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Aniaraplatsen 8, Sollentuna 19121, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sollentuna
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value , lots od space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a double room over weekend , very basic furniture but lots of space &a great shower . Good breakfast & a nice bar in the evening , all very early 80s style though . A good cheap base for this part of Stockholm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    57
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
44
25
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I am staying at the Scandic Star Sollentuna for a conference.

I was given a choice of a “Superior” room overlooking the interior courtyard where the restaurant is (and that meant no fresh air circulation and the noise of people eating and the staff getting ready for breakfast before 6AM and cleaning up after 11PM) – or a room facing the exterior of the building with a lovely view of the autumn colors and fresh air … BUT it also came with the noise of trains zipping by literally every few minutes. As someone who always carries earplugs, I took the exterior room – and YES, you will definitely NEED earplugs. My room was about $250 per night.

What makes it strange -- at least for an American?

-- No thermostat.
-- No washcloth.
-- No bathmat.
-- No ice bucket.
-- Not a single drawer in the entire two-room suite.
-- Not a single picture on any wall.
-- No in-room safe.
-- No in-room refrigerator.
-- Beds in Sweden are different -- more like a thin futon on top of a box spring -- but comfortable to be sure.

What makes it quite nice?

-- The front desk staff is VERY helpful and friendly.
-- The gym is small but surprisingly well equipped. As a very serious weightlifter, I found everything I needed for a solid workout.
-- The train station is just a 5-minute walk from the hotel, so easy access to Stockholm.
-- There is a VERY nice mall with a complete grocery quite literally STEPS away from the front door of the hotel.
-- The windows open for some fresh air.
-- Heated bathroom floors are very nice, but there’s no control switch to turn it off. For a hotel that is very concerned about being “GREEN,” this is a huge waste of energy.
-- DIMMER SWITCH in the bathroom – perfect for a mellow soak in the tub.
-- One of the best, most-powerful showers I have EVER found in ANY hotel.
-- Fantastic breakfast! I really wasn’t expecting much since it’s FREE – but the truth is that the buffet is as good or better than breakfast buffets I’ve had for 20 Euro and more all over Europe. They even made up a “breakfast box” for me on my morning of departure since I would be leaving before the regular breakfast was open. (Tell them you want this the day before though – they make the boxes up before the kitchen closes for the night.
-- Wireless Internet service was fast and reliable throughout the hotel – my room, the lobby, restaurant and the conference facilities and meeting rooms.
One piece of advice –

Grabbing a taxi from the airport isn’t as easy as one might expect. Apparently the taxi industry has been deregulated, so you are confronted by a gauntlet of taxis from different companies all of which offer different rates. I absolutely HATE that. My taxi from the airport was 430SEK (currently about $65 US) – but other drivers were demanding as much as 600SEK ($90). So I walked up to each driver one by one and asked for a fixed price to my destination. What an unnecessary hassle!

On the way back, the hotel arranged for a taxi at just 390 SEK (about $60).

If you’re coming to Stockholm as a tourist, you might find this hotel a bit far from the excitement (truly just a 15 minute train ride though) – but for our business meeting, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs -- the trains ARE noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Managed to book tickets to Stockholm on a weekend with two major concerts and a big sporting event. Hotel prices were sky high and all mid-range hotels booked up. In despair we turned to Scandic Star Sollentuna located in the north of Stockholm, a 15 mins train ride from the central station. We had a very good stay there and I'll tell you why.

- Service. The reception staff was truly welcoming and helpful.
- Room. I don't know how we did it but somehow we ended up in a great room with separate bedroom and TV-room with sofa. Great!
- Location. The thing that we dreaded - distance to central Stockholm - was not a problem. Commuter trains leave every 15-20 mins and the station is literally 50 metres away. So convenient! Just make sure you don't pay for single tickets, they're so expensive! Buy a ticket for several journeys or a Stockholm card that give you free public transportation.
20 metres from the hotel is Sollentuna Shopping Mall with many stores and a food court. Plus a supermarket with generous opening hours. Perfect!
- Price. We got really good rates. I'm so happy we didn't overpay in central Stockholm!
- Clean and quiet? Yes! At breakfast (which is good) we were surprised to see other people since we hadn't heard a thing from our room.
- Spa. Well, a small pool and sauna. But at least they've got one!

Would definetely consider this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I spent three nights at Scandic Star Sollentuna with my fiancé. We had a basic room, it was quite modest but we found everything we needed there. The location is great if one is fine with taking a train to get to the city centre - the trip takes 15 minutes with a commuter train. Like somebody mentioned before, the Sollentuna station is right next to the hotel and therefore keeping the window open might result in some noise getting into the room. This didn't bother us though, the temperature in our room was OK and we didn't keep our window open. There is a very good grocery store in the shopping mall next to the hotel.

The staff was very friendly, everything went smoothly with them. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, so can't really say much about the restaurant. The breakfast was a bit above average, I'd say - one will find everything one might expect from a basic hotel breakfast buffet.

The WiFi worked perfectly. We got a password at the reception and used the same password our whole stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Been to Scandic Star Hotel in Sollentuna few days ago, it's only 5 minutes away from the train station, next door there is a modern shopping mall. Reception and Resturant staff are very helpful. The family room was good for 4 people with 2 TV's but noisy if you leave the windows open because of the trains, but otherwise the room is very warm during the night as there is no climate control. This Hotel lacks hygien some towels were returned with stains and WC with lime scales, complaints fall on deaf ears. There is a fridge in the room but no safe deposit box. Otherwise it is in a good location with a nice lobby, swimming pool, gym, bar and a nice resturant.

Room Tip: Trains stops working at 12.50 AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Been to the Scandic Star in Sollentuna just a few days ago, where I slep on a twin bed room, tried the gym and spa, breakfast and bar. The end result? I like it. The rooms are clean and the one I was in had two sections, one for a couch, table and a small closet for your clothes, and the other for twin bed and bathroom with shower and a bathtub. The rooms are good but I know from others that slept on similar rooms that not all of them are the same: some have a table near the bed, others have a mini-fridge (mine didn't). Overall? The rooms get an OK.

This hotel has a spa/gym on the top floor, where there is a small gym with a few treadmills, station bikes and elliptical machines to workout. There's also a few dumbbells, a bench and a cable machine where you get to workout chest, legs, shoulders, biceps, ..... There's also a small swimming pool and a sauna inside the locker room. For an avid gym goer, consider this hotel since you get a real chance to workout. Besides, the swedish culture is one of healthy habits, so you get a number of paths you can use to jog and use the bikes available at the hotel.

I could go on and on about details, but I'll sum it up to the following:

Pros:
Train a few meters away from the hotel gives you access to central stockholm in just 20m (yes, it's a pro and not a con, since you cannot hear the train inside the hotel :) )

Good gym/spa

Nice rooms with comfortable beds

Cons:
Hotel lobby decor is.....out dated?

The bar/restaurant close way too early...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rooms here are OK, the small CRT TV is out of place though. My room looked like it was an older suite, but the bathroom had been remodelled. Location wise it's great, and breakfast has good variety and quality. If you need to be in the northern part of Stockholm it's a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna

Address: Aniaraplatsen 8, Sollentuna 19121, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Sollentuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sollentuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located next to one of Stockholm's largest shopping malls and only 15 minutes drive from central Stockholm. Hotel Scandic Star Sollentuna is strategically located at the northern entrance to Stockholm, only 15 minutes drive from Stockholm City. Sollentuna Centrum is one of Stockholm's largest shopping malls with over 130 stores and is located next to the hotel. Our hotel is also close to nature, ideal for walking and jogging.Facility Visit our hotel restaurant for a delicious meal, and order coffee and drinks in one of our 2 hotel bars. At hotel Scandic Star in Sollentuna, we also have a relaxation centre with a pool and sauna, as well as our own spa, Star Spa. Our hotel offers one of Sweden's largest conference facilities with 18 conference venues for up to 500 people. There's wifi throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna Sweden - Stockholm County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.