We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Menu Choice, Great Food, Excellent Value and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pozzo

Il Pozzo
Via Europa 2 A, Pieve Fosciana, Italy
+39 (0)583666380
Improve this listing
Price range: $37 - $51
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Menu Choice, Great Food, Excellent Value and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a lunch at Il Pozza and loved it! Three of us went for the Tourist Menu, which was a set price and very reasonable. My six year old had just a plate of pasta and husband chose from the main menu. This restaurant is quite busy at lunch, with many locals taking advantage of a special lunch menu We all very much enjoyed our food, but none more so than my husband who had pasta with venison to start, followed by rabbit with truffles. .I wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    34
    39
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value quality dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had dinner here last week with two teenagers in tow. They had pizza and we had the Tuscany Experience and compared with the over priced "experience" in southern Tuscany , the food was very good and great value. The outdoor seating area is lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Lousy Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our waiter was a miserable SOB who never smiled all night. He was so miserable it became a source of amusement to the party. The food was OK but not brilliant. I guess this is what comes of having so little competition nearby.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food al fresco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I live in this area and know all the restaurants well. This is definitely one of the best. People come from all over to eat there; including Lucca and the Versiglia beach areas. The ambiance is very relaxing. You can eat indoors or outdoors. I would recommend the outdoor eating area. It's a big, covered terrace immediately adjoining a large garden with an area for children, including swings and a see-saw.

The food is excellent and the service is very good. I would describe it as a casual restaurant serving elegant food. The price is right. You can order a la carte or try the fixed menu and price. The last prices, in May 2013 were either E25. or E32 (subject to change) depending on which menu is chosen, which is a full meal. Of course, a la carte will be more.

If you're in the area, try it. You won't be disappointed!

Fran L.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Al fresco slow food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

True Tuscan slow food in this family-owned and run resturant.
Nice terrace and a garden for the children to run around in.
Good price value ration

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pozzo also viewed

Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
 
Pieve Fosciana, Province of Lucca
Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Il Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pozzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.