We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The soul of Piemonte - warm, friendly and heavenly food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Contea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Neive
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Contea
Save
You added La Contea to your Saves list
P.zza Cocito, 8, 12052 Neive, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neive
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The soul of Piemonte - warm, friendly and heavenly food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We have stayed at La Contea twice, both in October around the time for the wine harvest and wine festival. The rooms might not be the must luxurious, but they are authentic and charming in harmony with the ancient spirit of the beautiful village of Neive. The staff is very friendly, you feel like a part of the family and the food and wine in the restaurant is simply heavenly. The homemade pasta with white truffles, the green gnocci with cheesesauce, fried rabbit with black truffle sauce, ...I could go on. All accompanied with the ecologically produced Contea Barbaresco. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
24
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We are not fussy, nor do we want a cold and luxurious place to stay. And, we love the Piemonte. My new husband - and longstanding boyfriend - worked in Northern Italy for a number of years, but I am relatively new to travel. We find, when we go to the Piemonte, or elsewhere, that it is helpful to have backup plans - A and B (rarely C) when looking for a place to stay, and eat. Sometimes research and guidebooks disappoint, or you might have something else in mind when you get there....

That said, we arrived in Neive, where we've never been (he might have passed through), to La Contea, on its hilltop, with its grace and beautiful views. It's a country inn, longstanding, with something I'd call spirit and a wonderful hospitality. The rooms aren't luxurious. Ours even had some linoleum peeling in a corner. That beautiful ancient light in the room. I loved it -- hurray, no renovation.

But we were tired when we arrived and there was a basket of fruit and cookies, and a nice fellow to greet us with an arching brow who turned out to be the most maternal of waiters. We had dinner there that night and chose the full menu - excellent food and service - a leisurely pace, and we felt befriended by staff. Early morning I smelled the breads which appeared fresh at our breakfast buffet. We also had blood-orange juice and an excellent variety of cheese and meat. The buffet was served in the main dining room and so the atmosphere was one of country elegance and good humor. It was my favorite breakfast of the trip.

The rooms are above the inn and so, as we climbed up and down the stairs from our day of touring, we might easily have felt as though we were disturbing the workings of the busy restaurant. But, we were put at ease...I had an emergency. The staff let me set up, and use my computer in the dining room, right before the restaurant opened, and Mr. "arching brow" stood by and kept the others working around me as I sat at the computer typing away. Neive - the old city - is beautiful to walk in, and the surrounding landscapes full of vines and vistas of ancient buildings and agriculture. When we left La Contea we were given some lovely souvenirs (I won't mention what they were in case they change seasonally) and I felt really happy. During the rest of our weeks in Northern Italy we occasionally reverted to plan B and once C, I think. But for us La Contea was a lovely embodiment of the Piemonte we cherish: warmth, grace and delicousness. Not perfect...but that is not what we seek...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed in this beautiful place for 2 nights. The rooms are lovely. We had a small balcony which overlooked the village. There was fruit left in the bedroom when we arrived and was topped up the following morning after the room was cleaned. We thought this was a lovely gesture. We couldn't eat in the (La Contea) restaurant as we arrived on a Monday and the restaurant is closed on Mondays. We ate in La Luna Nel Pozzo which was SPECTACULAR! The following night we ate in La Contea - this was also superb. These two meals were one of the best we've ever had in Italy. The staff are very friendly and generous (they gave us two bottles of their own wine when we left!). We would highly recommend it. It is also excellent value. Nieve is a beautiful, quiet, sleepy village. We will be back! PS. La Contea also have a fabulous wine shop!

  • Liked — Very peaceful and excellent food
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

This is a small charming B & B that is worth finding if you want something special. Rooms are lovely; food to die for. Can't wait to return. This is how to see and dine in Italy!

  • Liked — Antiques, charming room, nice bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing; it was perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — Go!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Contea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Contea

Address: P.zza Cocito, 8, 12052 Neive, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Neive
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neive
Number of rooms: 22

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Contea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.