We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER EVENING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Contea Neive

La Contea Neive
Piazza Cocito 8, I-12057 Neive, Italy
0039 0173 677558
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 19 Restaurants in Neive
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
sauze d'oulx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SUPER EVENING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I last visited La Contea with a group of Norwegian friends in October. We met for an apperitiff in the small enoteca across the road (Bravo Luca). A super evening with fine food and wine! We specially ordered Fritto Misto alla Piemontese as main course but we had a small starter of a very very tasty Tripe and of course dessert of La Contea with the little dedication written in chocolate on the plate. The service as always was first class.
Grazie mille a Claudia Tonino Alessandro e tutti!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    61
    28
    31
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A delicious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Sounds like some have had very bad experiences at this restaurant, but I can only speak glowingly about it. I recently enjoyed a multi-course meal there with colleagues, and each course was stunning and a delight. The service was attentive and friendly, not overbearing but just the right touch. One dish in particular, a gnocchi in a cheddar basket with truffle shavings, was enough to bring tears to the eyes! A wonderful night in every way.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good wine, expensive food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Food was ok but extremely expensive (pasta 20-25€, main courses around 30€). We tried their organic wine (barbera d'alba caplin) and it was excellent and later I bought a bottle in their wine shop. Service is supposed to be high level however with the tipical italian style that for some foreigners could even seem rude. In conclusion not worth the money and if you want to try the wine buy it in their wine shop.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The restaurant from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Years ago, we enjoyed La Contea and had good memories, but it has become the restaurant from hell, due largely to the egomaniac, arrogant owner. His overbearing, peasant attitude may somehow escape the notice of some guests, but if anything is questioned, such as the appalling service or food, he becomes aggressive and threatening.
After failing to produce a wine list and then almost demanding a quick order for food, he insisted in an arrogant way that food should not be chosen according to the wine, but vice versa. We pointed out that it was our choice, not his.
My partner decided not to have a starter, but her main course was immediately served with my first course, and when this was questioned, there was more aggression from our abusive host. He is a madman and should not be in charge of a street stall, let alone a pretentious restaurant.
When my main course arrived after a very long wait it was overcooked, cold and appeared to have been slightly warmed up in a microwave, so I sent it back immediately. There was then an explosive appearance from our crazy host who said we should leave the restaurant, and that we could vacate our room at the "hotel", neither of which we did.
So don't visit the restaurant from hell, and if by chance you do, sit quietly, don't complain and pay the overpriced bill without moving an eyebrow. Needless to say, I wish I had never gone back there.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Shockingly Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I must add my voice, unfortunately, to the other two bad reviews here (one in English, and one in Italian which urges readers to 'avoid this place like the plague') . We were treated in an appalling way by the owner. We ate generally well, but when we had complaints about one of the dishes which was served to us, the owner exploded into rage. It felt like a bad film, the owner screaming at us, his wife (?) holding him back, trying to calm him down, the other guests with their heads turned in astonishment. We were told to leave if we didn't like his restaurant. I've never been kicked out of a place before for asking a simple polite question. This experience seems to follow the same pattern as what other readers report: if you show any dissatisfaction whatsoever with the food, or have any questions about it, including sensible ones (regarding allergies, as the previous reviewer reported) you will quickly regret it! Better skip this restaurant altogether, a safer bet I think, and one less likely to ruin your day.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Contea Neive also viewed

Neive, Province of Cuneo
Neive, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to La Contea Neive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Contea Neive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.