We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge De L'ecole

Auberge De L'ecole
12 Route de Montrichard, 41400 Pontlevoy, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Pontlevoy
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in Pontlevoy for several nights, and having the Auberge within a short walk salvaged the miserable experience of our accommodations. The Madam who ran the front of the house made arrangements for us on a crowded weekend evening when our Abbey Cottage stove ran out of butane, making it impossible to comp[lete cooking. The beautiful diningroom, delicious dinner and superb winelist were a welcome balm. We especially loved the molten chocolate cake with icecream. In fact, the experience was so nice that we went twice! Hats off to a wonderful surprise.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    22
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We arrived at Maison Rouge late in the afternoon, not knowing what was in store for us. Two daughters travelling with their 80 year old mothers all the way from Australia !! Our host recommended Auberge De l'ecole , so we wandered off to find it, what a lovely surprise ! David greeted us, as our host had rung through our booking and Agnes and her staff looked after us beautifully. Then there was the food.............nothing short of top quality, expertly prepared, presented and served.
We booked in to have our last meal in Pontlevoy there as well. You will not be disappointed !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants in the region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

If you want to splurge on haute cuisine, this is one of five places in the Loire Valley. A uniquely talented chef.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Food was quite good, had some lamb that was the most tender we've ever had.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Had a weird evening here - a very long menu but the chef lost his temper as 5 of us ordered 5 different things! We could hear the shouting from the dining room. Food was mixed - some very good and some average. The lady serving us did her best but it was very slow and the several erruptions from the kitchen were not condusive to a pleasant and relaxing evening.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge De L'ecole also viewed

Cande-sur-Beuvron, Blois
Cande-sur-Beuvron, Blois
 
Blois, Loire Valley
Cellettes, Loir-et-Cher
 

Been to Auberge De L'ecole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge De L'ecole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.