We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zinzi

Zinzi
10 k west of Plettenberg Bay | Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
+27 44 532 8226
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Vibrant and casual with distinctive international flavours, Zinzi Restaurant offers an abundant & tasty menu. Ideal for sun-downers on the deck, or for a relaxed dining experience, Zinzi embraces the spirit of hearty cuisine and zesty ingredients with a choice selection of a la carte menu items. A meal at Zinzi is truly an abundant experience of honest food, warm service and superb ambience, at an affordable price.
Essex
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“First class dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Number one in Plett? Yes. From the moment you walk down the drive in the fading evening light you know this place is a notch above the norm. First class service and stunning food with the spicy edge. Drinks on the deck overlooking the gardens is superb. Strangely not that expensive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    51
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ayr, scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It was dark when we arrived and we had a fair walk from the car park to the restaurant. When you open the big wooden door you enter a new world. A beautiful restaurant with comfortable and well spaced seating in a high quality setting. The food was excellent and the cost very reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Zinzi. The ambiance was attractive, featuring a nice open fire to accompany our pre-dinner drinks on an otherwise chilly veranda. Service throughout was attentive, polite and friendly. Not the best restaurant we encountered on this trip, but the menu featured an excellent range of choices, and each dish was thoroughly enjoyable. We found the prices to be very fair. Recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed our evening as the food and service were good but felt the place lacked a bit of atmosphere and did not have the sea (or bay) views that many other restuarants have in that area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taichung
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If your GPS takes you down a dirt road through a dark forrest, don't worry it should be the right road. Zinzi is a quirky formal restaurant with a small but tasty menu. We loved our starters of the medditerean platter as well as the north african platter. The mains were delicious too and quite filling so unfortunately we did not have space for dessert.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinzi also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Zinzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zinzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.