We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zinzi

Zinzi
10 k west of Plettenberg Bay | Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
+27 44 532 8226
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Vibrant and casual with distinctive international flavours, Zinzi Restaurant offers an abundant & tasty menu. Ideal for sun-downers on the deck, or for a relaxed dining experience, Zinzi embraces the spirit of hearty cuisine and zesty ingredients with a choice selection of a la carte menu items. A meal at Zinzi is truly an abundant experience of honest food, warm service and superb ambience, at an affordable price.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant. Service was great as well as food. A must for honeymooners. Lives up to #1 ranking.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    69
    21
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family and I ate at Zinzi on two occasions during our Christmas holiday in Plettenberg Bay. As a group of 8 people, other restaurants were not able to accommodate us over the busy season. But Zinzi came to the rescue on both nights that we joined them. The food was exquisite, the atmosphere was beautiful and what a view! Our waitress was a lovely young lady named Cathy who gave us wonderful service on both occasions. As a family we tried almost everything on the menu and were plesantly surprised at the variety of options they offer and how concerned they are with food allergies.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We got here after dusk so were too late to see what I am sure would have been beautiful gardens. The interior is stylish and eclectic but overall modern African. The food was simple but well cooked good ingredients made for a very enjoyable meal. Really enjoyed everything we ate- carpaccio of beef, oriental salad, Greek salad, sirloin steak. Our waitress was very jolly and ensured that we had a great night. I would certainly eat here again if I was in the area & would look into staying at the lodge which is set in the same grounds.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic dinner for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were recommended to go here by our guest house (Aquavit) and they were right. The dining room is gorgeous mixture of traditional african wood and modern accents. The food was fusion leaning towards african and arabic inspired. I had the lamb...exceptional, my wife had the butternut squash soup which she commented may be the best she's ever had. Afterwards, we soaked in the surrounding forrest and scenery while enjoying a scotch on by the outdoor fireplace. Worth visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“beautiful, relaxed location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Always a pleasure to eat here-we managed it 4 times during a recent visit to Plett. The menu is fairly static but there is plenty of choice from salads to more substantial fare. The fish is very good and the lamb was a big hit. Friendly, unpretentious, good food and a lovely place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinzi also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Zinzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zinzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.