We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming host, wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Le case del merlo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Le case del merlo
Save
You added Agriturismo Le case del merlo to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   via Sciara Praino 11/13, 95010 Milo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Milo B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Welcoming host, wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Le Case del Merlo is a calm, quiet « agriturismo » a little ways outside the village of Milo on the eastern slope of Mt Etna, in the midst of vineyards. Stella (alias Angela), the host, who also speaks French, is very sweet and also prepares the fine included breakfast and, upon request, the dinner. The latter is always very good with typical Sicilian dishes, but don’t expect a choice – they don’t have the staff for a menu, it’s what’s on offer that day. This is a small agriturismo and it’s all the nicer for it. It was very clean, the room was comfortable in a simple style (this isn’t a 5-star hotel) and there is a swimming pool with great views to relax by after your excursions. The photos posted by other visitors on the TripAdvisor website give an accurate idea of how attractive the place and location are. Milo is high enough in altitude to provide relief from the summer heat along the coast and the area is well worth visiting, with dramatic roads through Etna’s lava fields. It’s also a good base for visiting the east coast of Sicily, such as day trips to Taormina, Messina, Catania or Syracuse.

We see many people had the same positive experience we did but others did not and we can’t explain that, maybe there were some unlucky days when there were staffing problems or something else going on. The (extremely critical) person who among other things said the location was awful ("in the middle of nowhere") made an incomprehensible comment – you can see that it’s in the countryside, that’s what makes for its charm. You do need your own transport of course.

We highly recommend this charming agriturismo and intend to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
17
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Le Case el Milo is tucked away on the side of the mount etna. In the middle of a Terraced Vineyard. Breakfast was a wonderful spread of local breads, cheese, salami, yogart with honey and my favorite you squeeze blood oranges for your morning juice when in season. Coffee but ask for the cappuccino. Dinner is available on site for a modest additional fee. A bargain for what you get and that includes the local wine (All you can drink). The dishes were wonderful, and when we were there you could schedule a cooking class. This is not too far from Catania, but remember you are away from the auto strada about 15 to 20 minutes. We enjoyed the remoteness, it allowed us to take the back roads and explore the local vineyards, away from the city and city traffic. Have to mention that they had the largest most beautiful geraniums I have ever seen

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The agriturismo is located in Milo, on the side of the Etna volcano. Getting there is quite easy, no difficult roads, food is good and most of all, the location provides a relaxing atmosphere. The agriturismo has all the commodities one looks for, from swimming pool, to wi-fi. It's location is quite close to Sicily's main attractions.

A perfect family venue. Mrs Panto is a dedicated host who goes out of her way to make sure that everyone is having a nice stay.

Will probably visit again in the future.

Room Tip: the rooms on the higher side are the closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip to Sicily for the express purpose of visiting Etna (it had been recommended to us by some Sicilian friends) and as experienced travellers we both liked it. It's well-priced for what you get and we both agreed that we would happily stay there again. The location is high up on the edge of the lava fields and it's very much a tranquil rural setting. The buildings are attractively laid-out in an attractive hillside setting and the guest rooms are in a separate building overlooking a pool area with a splendid view out over the Strait of Messina towards mainland Italy. Behind you, the summit of Etna looms directly, wisping smoke. Bar a lot of black volcanic sand (more like tiny friable stones) that had recently fallen and had been swept away to the extent feasible, everything outside was clean and neatly kept. Contrary to one very negative review I can see to my right as I type this (which documents an experience I don't remotely recognise), the pool was completely clean and inviting, with a continuously running pump/filter system so we had no qualms about leaping in (and trust me, we're picky). Our room (No.3) was spacious, clean and comfortable without being necessarily luxurious - this is a small agriturismo after all, not Claridges. The bathroom was also spacious by the standards of other hotels and agriturismos I have visited. No untoward bugs and we slept well. The service was low-key and unfussy but the owners and staff were very friendly, accommodating and chatty (being/speaking Italian always helps of course) and we ate well: breakfast on both mornings was tasty, home-made and plentiful, and we had an three course evening meal the night we arrived that frankly cost buttons. No choice - either you fancy what is being cooked or you go out for dinner but we had no problem with that. The gnocchi and the rabbit were both delicious. In summary, we felt it was ideal for visiting Etna and the surrounding charming towns such as Zafferano Etnea without spending a fortune. Getting to the coast at Fiumefreddo/Acireale takes about 30-35 mins by car and it's about an hour from Catania airport. I'd recommend ensuring you have a sat nav, as the whole area is a nest of tiny roads that you could get very lost on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were there for a couple of days. The room is big (with a mezzanine to put the cod bed), well equiped, very nice. The view from the terrace is amazing overlooking the slopes of thr Etna and the sea.
Staff is very nice, swimming pool is big and pleasant.
Breakfast is good and included in the room. And if you stay there for dinner the food is actually very good.
I clearly recommend this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Essentially- DO NOT EVER STAY HERE! Oh where to start! There are so many things badly wrong with this place! I’ll do dot points to try to summarise easier:
• Room is completely dirty- the loft area above us looked like it had not been cleaned for a year
• Infested with bugs- I understand we were on a farm but the place was crawling with cockroaches. They would fall off the roof and onto the bed and we even found worms in the rugs
• Bathroom was horrendous- would fully flood after one minute in the shower and we were lucky to get a bar of soap- no products at all
• Breakfast was terrible- a bit of bread and cereal and by the time we got there everyday at 9/9:30 it was deserted and no one would be seen to restock the bread or coffee to the point where the last two days we didn’t even bother with it and just went into town to have breakfast at the bar
• Pool is just for looks on the website- it is absolutely filthy. Water has probably been siting there unfiltered for years. You would get sick swimming in it
• Location is awful- it is still 10 minutes from Milo in the middle of nowhere and Milo is miles from everywhere, The website makes it out to sound like you are 20 minutes from everything- Catania/Taormina etc, so this is what we were expecting- instead you are ½ an hour from the Giarre entrance to the autostrada not to mention then another ½ and hour to either Catania or Taormina.
• Shocking uncomfortable bed
• No heating and it gets cold in those mountains even in summer
• Expensive for what the place is and basic facilities were not there i.e. phone, or didn’t work properly i.e. TV
• Service is shocking! The few things I asked for i.e. an iron were made impossible
• The dinner is awful- bad food, bad service, expensive and had the daughter and boyfriend carrying on walking around us all and playing the Simpson’s on the big TV behind us- talk about a way to ruin the serenity
There is so much more that I cant even remember but I just remember it being horrible and I was so upset the last few nights- checked out earlier by one night, would have lost money to check out any earlier than that but now I'm thinking I should have done it anyway and just lost the money cause I was so upset. Anyway I will finish with the last point- the worst of them all
• The reason why they abandon breakfast is because they start to clean the rooms at 930. We are late risers when on holidays and they woke us up every morning screaming out the front of our room assigning jobs to each other like uncouth animals. One morning they actually stormed into our room while we were sleeping and told us they were going to come and clean it in 5 minutes and we said no we still needed to have showers etc, come later. But they never came at all. We got home late to a dirty room and no towels as we had used them all to mop up the flood on the floor that morning. We asked them to clean it and why it was not cleaned and we said cause we wouldn’t let them. I tried to make them understand that it was 930am- why wouldn’t you just come later at 11 or something but they just wouldn’t get it and still didn’t come and clean it instead just handed us fresh towels. It was the same story every day. They always came when we were getting ready and they continually knocked demanding to clean our room and pretty much kicked us out every morning.
Essentially these people have set up an agriturismo and they have no idea what they are doing. I stayed 5 horrendous nights, the worst of any trip I have had and I have travelled to almost 40 countries in Europe, Asia, South America and the Middle East. They completely ruined that last week of my trip. NEVER STAY HERE

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Le case del merlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le case del merlo

Address: via Sciara Praino 11/13, 95010 Milo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Milo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Milo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Le case del merlo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An environment of well being and relaxation, ideal for those who want to immerse themselves in the typicality of these enchanting places and unspoiled.The property consists of 9 rooms and 4 apartments spacious and comfortable, refined in every detail and equipped with TV, mini-bar, safe and air conditioning.Outside you can enjoy open spaces where guests can relax, soak in a wonderful swimming pool with hydro-massage, which overlooks the panorama of the Sicilian coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Le Case Del Merlo Milo, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Le case del merlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.