We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, great hosts, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Pollio

Save Saved
You added Villa Pollio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Pollio
Via Guglielmo Marconi 6 | Sorrento, 80062 Meta, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 13 Meta B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, great hosts, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We (myself, partner, 11 year old daughter) stayed here for 5 days in July. The accommodation was just what we hoped for, big spacious rooms and well equipped. It was great to have the kitchen area to use so we could make drinks and keep stuff in the fridge for lunch on our days out. Air conditioning was really appreciated, as was the balcony overlooking the garden.

Our hosts were very attentive, a nice welcome and helped us out with phone chargers/plug adaptors and gave good information on getting around the area. We enjoyed the refreshments left for us during the week.

The location is great, literally minutes from the train station (turn right and head down hill when you leave the station, go under the underpass and it's in front of you), regular trains running to/from Naples and Sorrento, on the Pompeii/Vesuvius and Herculaem line. 10 minutes downhill to the beach (black volcanic sand, but a nice spot nonetheless), restaurants, shops etc.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Charlie,
I would like to thank you for your very nice review about Villa Pollio B&B, I'm very happy that you've appreciated everything here and that we met your expectations.
I hope to see you next time, we will be very pleased.
Villa Pollio wishes you a great Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here with a friend and my daughter. Albert and his family are delightful and helpful. The place is spic and span...really, one could eat off the floor. Also it was a wonderful respite from hotels , it felt like home, spacious accommodations, close to the beach, round the corner from the train, centrally located to everything but quite and private. We had a kitchenette and made food and ate on the balcony overlooking a sweet little garden. Security is A+++ a locked gate a locked front door and a lock on your door and you bedroom if you choose. Perfect place for kids.

The short walk to the beach is charming and dotted with markets and such. The only good thing about leaving is that I can work to make ore $ and come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Rebecca,
we are very very happy to read that you have appreciate everything of your stay here at Villa Pollio B&B; I think, when our guests feel like home, it means that our goal is achieved..our mission is to put the guests at ease in an environment always clean and orderly.
I hope, you will come back in the future and see you again here in Sorrento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was travelling on my own for the first time to Italy. As soon as I emailed Albert, he wrote back and offered his assistance, which included directions for the train on how to get to Sorrento. Villa Pollio is a great location, 5 minutes from the train station, and 2 stops from Sorrento, which will get you all over the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Mt. Vesuvius, Capri, and beaches. There is a nice beach 10 minutes down the hill from Villa Pollio, and other beautiful beaches along the coast which was about an hours bus ride, but the ride is stunning! Albert reccomends the beach in Nerano, and I would agree. It was rocky, but if you rent a chair, the water is beautiful and warm.
I missed the train one night from Sorrento, and Albert drove by and gave me a ride back to the B&B. If I needed anything, it was provided. I would recommend Villa Pollio to anyone wanting to travel near the Amalfi Coast. I had such an incredible, memorable experience!
Thank you Albert!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello Laura,
thank you for your wonderful review about me and Villa Pollio B&B.
I am very happy that you appreciate Sorrento and the areas nearby, and that this your first experience on your own it was very nice.
I am proud that you recommend Villa Pollio as a memorable vacations in Sorrento and Amalfi Coast.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When I made the booking online, Alberto immediately contacted me to ask if I needed help with anything. We were able to park our rental car behind the villa and left it there for our four day stay, as we did all our traveling by public transport for our time around Sorrento.
The rooms were clean and spacious and included a breakfast with choice and Alberto asked if there was anything else we wanted. He was very helpful in giving suggestions and directions.

Room Tip: Our apartment had two double beds in two different rooms, so perfect for a family. The stove was goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Katarine & Brendan
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento at Villa Pollio. For us it is always a pleasure to help our guests and be available for any request or information. Thank you for this nice review, you give us the opportunity to make better known the B & B Villa Pollio in the TripAdvisor community. We hope to welcome you in future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were greeted by Albert when we arrived who couldn't have been more helpful. In our room we were supplied fresh cherries and a basket of breakfast things to enjoy at our leisure. The room was huge with our own dinning table, kitchen area, bathroom and bed - it felt like we were renting a villa. Just a couple of mintues walk from the train station, the villa was ideal for exploring Pompei, Sorrento, Herculaneum and Naples on the cheap and frequent train service that was just a few minutes away (there was no noise from the train at all). A few minutes walk from the villa is Meta beach which is beautiful and a great way to cool off after a busy day exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review, I am very happy that your stay has been very comfortable.
With your words I realize that our guests appreciate even the little things we do, to make unforgettable their holiday, and I am very pleased with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Meta. The accommodation was a large double room with balcony and a bathroom and kitchenette - all spotlessly clean and bright and airy. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They tidied the room every day.

We visited Herculaneum and Pompeii and also Naples and Sorrento by the local train which is a very short walk from the villa. Meta is still an authentic village and only just beginning to gear up for tourism, which we liked. There are good cafes, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk and popular beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you Gillian for your good review; positive words like these encourage us to do always the best for our clients.
We are very proud that your review will help us to let know our complete dedication we have toward our guests and the care that we have in creating an environment as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are tired of hotels and what you get (or don't get) for your money, I would highly recommend this place. Meta is a beach town near Sorrento (3 train stops). Villa Pollio is so close to the train....from the circumvesuviana stop, turn right and take the stairs down on the right. On the other side of the little tunnel under the tracks, you will see an Italia Post office sign, villa pollio is right beside it. There is also an ATM at the post office, very handy. Its a fantastic location if you have a lot of luggage. The beach is probably 10 to 15 minutes down the hill, walking. Albert is a huge help with directions and things to do in the area.

You get internet and a little kitchenette to make your own tea and coffee, along with mini fridge stocked with water, milk and juice. The room is large and the bathroom has many shelves to put your toiletries (Italian hotels don't have this). The bed was comfortable with great pillows for a great sleep.

I would stay here time and time again, very highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villapollio, Proprietario at Villa Pollio, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Tami,
I thank you so much for your positive review...it is a pleasure to read that for you Villa Pollio B&B has been better than some hotel, we think that offering the best at a reasonable price is that allows us to be appreciated.

I wish you a very nice summer
Alberto Russo and Family
Villa Pollio B&B Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Pollio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pollio

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 6 | Sorrento, 80062 Meta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of a hotel with the convenience of a Bed and Breakfast. We are proud to welcome you to our residence in Meta di Sorrento, a beautiful structure close to Sorrento which is just a short distance from the more affirmed international and cultural tourist destinations. The most fabulous excursions are simple to organise to visit Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, Pompeii, Herculaeum, Ischia, Procida, Naples and Vesuvius. We will host you in a beautiful and relaxed atmosphere so you may enjoy every opportunity to spend a beautiful holiday in one of the most beautiful places in the world, situated between the sea, hills and mountains. We will personally furnish you with all information to allow you to fully appreciate your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Villa Pollio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pollio Italy/Meta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Pollio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.