We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highs and Lows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Hotel Alimuri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Hotel Alimuri to your Saves list
Mar Hotel Alimuri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80059 Meta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Porth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highs and Lows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner had a week here beginning on July 14th, our first visit to Italy and after reading reviews on here were really looking forward to the hotel.

Positives - amazing views, high standard of cleanliness, outstanding food, lifeguards, reception staff, branded alcoholic drinks. Also due to the location of the hotel in the evenings, you do tend to stay at the hotel, but we got to meet more fellow holiday makers.

Negatives - having to pre-book the shuttle bus so you had to plan exactly what time you would be returning. Christian the bar manager was very odd - one minute ignorant and the next very friendly. Poor entertainment. Also they have now stopped the gala evenings, although we were not informed of this.

Finally and of no reflection to the hotel but the Thomson rep is very very rude and unhelpful, for the limited amount of time she is actually at the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    128
    36
    16
    26
See reviews for
111
262
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

had 10 lovely days early July, beautifully located in the bay, had a high floor room with excellent views. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I am surprised that no body has mentioned the spa (beauty farm) on floor 0 - it is well worth a visit, treat yourself to a treatment with the two lovely sisters.

Room Tip: 516 - has lovely views but no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I agree with most of what everyone before me has said on TA about this hotel and the staff, so I wont repeat the same things again.
Our room was rather small with a road view,(room404) if we were to go again we would book a sea view room. We chose a room with no balcony so we cannot complain about that. I dont know whaT the bathrooms are like in the other rooms, ours had a very small shower cubicle and it was really difficult to have a shower without knocking your elbows etc. We are not big people, Im only 5'2", so I cant imagine someone who has a large frame would manage to shower at all in that cubicle.
Could not understand having a fridge in the room containing 4 bottles of minerals, which if used had to be paid for, and the fridge could not be used to place your own items in, as per the printed notice on the fridge door. Why would anyone on all inclusive buy drinks from there when there is a fantastic all inclusive bar which is open from 10.00am until midnight?
The tv had only 1 channel in English and that was BBC world news.
The bedding was of a very high quality and the towels were changed everday and were always snow white.
The beach area is very small and is covered in pebbles and black sand/ash. Not very appealling, but that cant be helped, thats how it is. Franco goes above and beyond to keep everyone supplied with drinks and ice creams all day. We have never known such a bar service on any holiday before.
The inside bar service was also very good with an amazing selection of cocktails and many branded spirits, including Baileys. There are all kinds of nibbles available and on display all day and night too.
We were quite surprised to see that the hotel allows men to dine in the evening whilst wearing shorts.
We did a couple of excursions with Thomas Cook, we knew it was cheaper to do them by yourself but to be honest we couldnt be bothered. We went to Pompeii and Vesuvius and our guide was very good and knowledgeable, which made it so interesting, dont regret that at all. However we do regret paying an extra 10Euros each to walk the 1000metres to the top of Vesuvius. It was very hard walking up on loose ash, and hard walking back down too. Really wish we hadnt wasted our money on that,not worth it in our opinion.
We also did the Amalfi drive which was really good, the views were fantastic.
The sunsets at the hotel are so beautiful, just remember to take your camera with you when you go for your evening meal so you can capture the moment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel. This is a smaller hotel which is it's attraction - The staff have a great rapport with each other in the dinning area. Very attentive & happy. Reception is excellent and do all they can to help. We never once see our rep. & reception booked all our excursions - Great shuttle bus into Sorrento town & the best part is the fantastic view across the sea from your room. Also lovely to eat dinner at night with the same wonderful views. All inclusive - this is the best deal for the area. Food we could not fault. Wonderful menus and Buffett lunch was superb - very comfy bed too. We stayed here as we had a family wedding - what a wonderful place to pledge your love to each other. Totally recommend it

Room Tip: Upper floor & sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I made a promise to return to Sorento after our daughter's wedding there in 2000. We chose this hotel because it was all inclusive, just on the outskirts of Sorento and had a frequent complimentary bus service to the town centre. We were not disappointed with our choice. The hotel was wonderfully Italian and very welcoming. We arrived at the hotel in time for the evening meal and after a brief chat from the reception staff we were taken to the outside dining area and in the blink of an eye my wife had a bottle of white wine and I had a red. Heaven. The choice of food was good and so was the service. As with anywhere you go, the service improves with tips. After the meal we went to our room and watched the sun go down over the bay of Naples. Stunning. What a super week we had. We dined outside for every meal, something we certainly couldn't do in Yorkshire. The staff were good including the cleaners who worked very hard and kept our room spotless. Great value for money. When we arrived home I looked at booking again for next year but was very disappointed that the hotel was fully booked. I'm not surprised. Will go again at some point.

Room Tip: Pay for sea view, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Yes met up with friends we were there with last year and took friends with us. we can only agree with all other visitors comments superb place where they cannot do enough for you, but the staff that stand out are Franco down on the beach and Valantino in the evenings and not forgetting Roberto and Antonio who looked after you at meal times.
Would go back again, in a couple of years Hope it doesn't change
Barb n Geoff Bob n Mo Lynn n Graham

Room Tip: we were on 3rd floor which was excellent with 4 poster bed sitting room and large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaco86
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I visited Hotel Alimuri for 1 week between 20th June - 27th June 2014 for our honeymoon. As we had never visited Italy before we were nervous however this vanished as soon as we arrived at our hotel and were greeted by the friendly staff. The receptionist gave us a full rundown of the hotel and surrounding area and we were shown straight to the restaurant for dinner. All the staff were very friendly and keen to help with any queries we had throughout our stay.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and is decorated in a very Italian ornate style. We were really pleased with our room as we had booked a Junior Suite and staff had also left us champagne and fruit. The views of the sea and surrounding cliff tops from the hotel are beautiful and the sunset is especially stunning.

The food is also excellent with a large selection and a mixture of buffet and sit down menu. Staff are very quick to serve and bring drinks promptly. We were really happy with all the food we tried.

The pool area is lovely and there is a small private beach. Most days however we got the shuttle bus into Sorrento for lunch and a wander around. Sorrento is absolutely stunning! We also took a walk around Meta - a lot of reviews have complained about the tunnel you have to walk through but it's a very short tunnel and it does have a pavement, so as long as your careful it's fine.

The shuttle service to Sorrento is very efficient - just ask reception staff to book you on the bus at the required time and they give you a ticket to show the driver. This runs almost hourly between 8.30am - 11.30pm and always arrives at least 15 mins early and is never late. We had no problems getting on the bus and at most there was never more than 4 other people on it.

I would also recommend booking any excursions through the hotel because this means they will arrange for the shuttle bus to take you to any pick up points and the staff can easily help you if there are any problems. We booked one of our excursions through a company in Sorrento and regretted it because the info we received from them was so unclear but luckily the hotel staff helped sort this out.

We absolutely loved our time at Alimuri Hotel and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Sorrento. Sorrento itself is also a beautiful place with lots of top restaurants and bars. We did a boat trip to Amalfi and Positano and I would recommend this as you see the beautiful coastline.

We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Request a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Hotel Alimuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Alimuri

Address: Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80059 Meta, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Alimuri 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mar Hotel Alimuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Meta
Mar Hotel Alimuri Italy/Meta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Hotel Alimuri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.