We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Hotel Alimuri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Hotel Alimuri to your Saves list
Mar Hotel Alimuri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80059 Meta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is a little gem of the Amalfi Coast just out of Sorento which makes for less hustle and bustle and greater serenity. The hotel is of a good standard with clean and quiet rooms, some with a view of the coast. Our room was bright, airy, clean and quite large with good size hanging space in the wardrobes.
What sets this place apart from its peers is the quality of service of its staff. This begins with Concierge desk with the wonderful Serena who is courteous and thoughtful and catered for any reasonable request. She introduced us to the hotel and made it a pleasurable experience to stay here and solved any problems we had with the tour or any other request. The other joy was Roberto the maitre'd. What a pleasure it was to eat in the restaurant.
In short a great place to stay with wonderful food and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    133
    38
    16
    27
See reviews for
114
272
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London - UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hotel receptionists were not welcoming, Breakfasts and Lunches - Cold - Evening meals - very nice. Didn't seem to have a lot of choice of meals. Sewage problem on the reception floor, the staff try and cover it up with polishes and air fresheners but the smell beat them one morning but we could not fault the cleanliness of the Hotel. Coming out of the hotel you can go "right" for the bus stop which you have to walk through a tunnel shared with cars, mopeds etc.. and left is fenced off about 150 yards from hotel. If you are a wheelchair user or have mobility problems then this area is not for you as it is very hilly and dangerous to walk through the tunnel as there is only a narrow, uneven foot path. The local bus takes approx. 20 minutes to get to Sorrento (Meta to Sorrento is 5km) and the fare is one euro - 30 cents but the hotel puts on a courtesy bus (Thomas Cook) to take you into Sorrento but this is one every 30 minutes. If you make a mistake with your seating at meal times the head waiter/restaurant manager raises his voice at you so people look round - very embarrassing. We were there for ten days and there were only three entertainers ( one solo and a duo) and it was music every evening. We had road view room which we didn't mind but it was quite dark (as we faced cliffs and the sun didn't really get into the room) and the décor depressing. Nice shower room (no bath) and no tea/coffee facilities but the mini bar is topped up everyday with bottle water. We paid for 4*. On departure day there is a Hotel Tax to be paid which is one euro 50 cents per person per day and they do not like accepting credit cards - cash only. The service throughout the hotel was very good. We personally would not recommend this hotel. Geoff & Sue - London.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with bath (if required)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Booked an all inclusive package holiday at the Alimuri and would go back tomorrow if I could! Admittedly the hotel is isolated and there isn't really anywhere to go for a walk but the free shuttle bus goes into Sorrento several times a day; you just book your desired times with reception. The room itself was bright, airy, clean and big! I'm sure some hotels would have split it in half or even thirds to get extra rooms it was that big.

The staff at the hotel are amazing. From the chambermaids, the maintenance crew, reception staff and waiters, to the shuttle bus drivers, nothing was too much trouble. Special mentions have to go to the maitre'd, Roberto and the fabulous bar team of Pasquale, Valentino, Guiseppe and Francesco (who also doubles as the lifeguard). Drinks and ice cream brought to your table in the dining room or sun lounger without being requested. Just one word of warning, these guys don't measure the alcohol. The cocktails are lethal but oh so good!

There is a spa at the hotel but the treatments are not included in the all inclusive deal. They are a little expensive but again the team are lovely. There is an indoor pool and sauna which is available at a cost of 15 euros. Not sure how long you can stay there but it's worth going in to have a look.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The second floor is directly over the bar but the entertainment finishes at 11pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a quiet hotel with it's own small beach.The staff are fantastic and this is the first time we have ever stayed at a hotel where everything is included, drinks and two courses of the evening meal were served to your table and if you asked for wine you were given a bottle.Branded drinks were also available, as were a wide range of cocktails.The rooms were spacious and clean.There was a bookable shuttle into Sorrento.
If I have any criticism it is that the hotel is a little isolated and that the hot water did run out one evening and was not great if you were late bathing. The entertainment was fine apart from our last evening when it was outside because it had turned warm and we had a 6am start, but it did finish at 10.45pm.

Room Tip: Do book a balcony room, the views are excellent. If you want to avoid the music in warm weather do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful week at the Alimuri in Meta, Sorrento. This really is an excellent hotel - rooms, staff, food & views all fantastic! The hotel is nothing to look at on arrival from the street but do not be put off inside it is a beautiful hotel with lots of old fashioned charm and decadence! The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated - we had a sea view and it was really stunning. The food is excellent - breakfast is buffet with plenty of choice, lunch is buffet and grill also with lots of choice and dinner is a 4 course meal every night with waiter service!! There is always a great choice, different every night and the quality is second to none and if you want wine they bring you the bottle!! The restaurant staff are friendly and accommodating. Next door is the bar with a beautiful terrace to sit on and watch the sunsets! The staff led by Pascale, with Guiseppe and Valentino were absolutely great - always friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. You can also get snacks in the bar if you haven't had your fill in the restaurant!! The reception staff are also very friendly and informative. Perhaps the only negative point is the location. We found it a bit isolated - there is nowhere to have a leisurely stroll to, however Meta is in walking distance, but is a bit of a trek uphill!! There is a frequent shuttle bus to and from Sorrento, which is easily organised from reception. You can reach Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples easily on the train or bus and you don't have to go to Sorrento, Meta train station is much easier. Also when we asked where it was at reception they told us the shuttle bus would drop us off there. This hotel is more suitable for couples or older travellers - it is very quiet and the evening entertainment is bit laid back piano bar style!! All in all a great holiday in an excellent hotel and we would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: We would recommend a sea view, stunning panorama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

13 - 15 May 2013 - Decor - 1960-70s, excellent setting over looking the Sea, large comfortable rooms, excellent service staff. Food is good with more than generous portions. Breakfast had an enormous array of choices and delicious pastries. Dinning room staff friendly ad helpfull. You could easily spend a week in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We.ve just returned from Sorrento having stayed at the Alimuri Hotel. The hotel staff made our holiday, they were so friendly and couldn.t do enough for us. The food was excellent. We paid to upgrade our room to a sea view we could not believe our accommodation it was fantastic we even had a whirlpool bath and a small balcony overlooking the pool and sea. Fantastic. Although the hotel was just outside Sorrento we had a free courtesy bus which ran every hour to take us and bring us back. We met some lovely people whilst there. Would we go back? That.s a definite Yes.

Room Tip: pay extra to upgrade to balcony/seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Hotel Alimuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Alimuri

Address: Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80059 Meta, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Alimuri 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Mar Hotel Alimuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Meta
Mar Hotel Alimuri Italy/Meta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Hotel Alimuri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.