We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for a late september holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sorrento

Save Saved
You added Villa Sorrento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Sorrento
Via Caracciolo 20/b, 80062 Meta, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #7 of 11 Meta B&B and Inns
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal base for a late september holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This villa is situated near the centre of Meta. There are rail connections to Pompeii and the other historical sites on the Neopolitan riviera and it is easy to get to Sorrento as well with the Amalfi coast possible from there using the blue buses from Sorrento bus station.
The villa was clean and the room we had was comfortable with excellent air- conditioning and a terrace/balcony overlooking the garden.Late September we had the place to ourselves for most of the time and made good use of the pool. The beach in Meta is also close at hand.The wireless internet worked very efficiently from the downstairs reception area
Stefania was a very attentive and helpful host and was even able to phone up the local dentist to get me some emergency treatment!
One tip- the front gate of the villa opens out onto a busy road and you need to take care when exiting. For this reason we tended to use the back gate the key to which is also there on the keys Stefania gives you on arrival

Room Tip: Ask for a room up the stairs with the terrace overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wavre, Belgium
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Pros
- Very nice place, away from the hussle and bussle of Sorrento, altough located very close (3 train stations - 5 min).
- Extremely quiet, people staying there do pay attention to the others and don't make noise in the morning/night.
- Great to have a pool to relax after a busy day visiting the area.
- Breakfast is good with different options (all sugary though) and fresh orange juice!

Cons
- The pool is unfortunately shared with an appartement (up to 5 persons, and of course 5 persons were staying there because it was July) that the owner of the B&B rents nextdoor, thus can be busy (I think the B&B has 7 rooms in total).
- Bed is too small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The property was beautiful, centrally posiioned in Meta. We chose this accommodation because of previous reviews and its proximity to the circumvesuviana station - we were planning a trip to Pompeii.
We were made very welcome on arrival and shown to the accommodation's private parking, just up the road from the Villa.
The rooms we had booked were well decorated and beautifully clean.
Breakfast was modest- a bit of fresh fruit or yoghurt alongside the cereal and pastry choices would be a good and easy addition.

We had a meal at Tico Tico - beautiful views from the terrace , good food and nice prices.
and Pizza at Peccati di Gola, an unassuming excellent value choice for pizza.

All in all our 2 days in Meta were excellent and achieved our objectives of Pompeii, pool and good food.

Room Tip: A room with a terrace is worth a little more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent our 25th Anniversary here in a beautiful, immaculate, pristine villa. Stefania was wonderful. We got a little lost when first arriving but her really nice husband came and got us. Everything was so clean and it felt new. The pool was lovely on those hot afternoons and the sunset from the rooftop was amazing. Parking is a little ways away from the villa, but it is behind a secure gate in a lemon grove. Although you don't hear the traffic, the road the villa is on is busy. Walking or driving out of the gate is an adventure. Breakfast is outside in the garden, lovely fresh juice, freshly made coffee and pastries. I could rave about this place all day. Sometimes it felt like we had it to ourselves. Meta had some great restaurants and wonderful views. We drove the Amalfi coast (not that hard once you master the thin roads). Gorgeous drive. The weather was perfect (early June). I loved Sorrento. Everything smells of lemons. Lovely shopping area for gifts, fabulous restaurants. Overall, I would reccommend this villa. It's a must.

Room Tip: Really google your map for directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Meta wasn't one of our choices to stay in while in Amalfi, but I'm glad we did. Meta isn't very touristy, but it has some excellent restaurants that are way cheaper than anything in Sorrento. There were only locals, which made it even better. Estafania was wonderful. She recommended places to go and see, and which beach clubs gave the villa a discount. The Villa itself is very charming. It has about 7 rooms, all very different and beautiful. This was the best place we stayed at in Amalfi. The furniture appeared to be all new, the bedding was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom and the shower were very clean. The rooms are very big. The pool was nice and the terrace offered wonderful views. We also enjoyed the beautiful garden with oranges and lemons and rose bushes. Estafania made us cappuccinos and espressos at breakfast, which she serves in the garden. We loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We love the place!!! Its beatifull, the people es nice!!
Thanks for the perfect service, we recomended a lot

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was a really lovely place to stay, comfortable, peaceful and welcoming. Meta is slightly off the beaten track but this made Villa Sorrento even more special, an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento and the Amalfi coast. Meta is a beach resort itself or if it is the sights you are after it is very easy to get to the Circumvesuviana for trains to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Naples or Sorrento. There are regular buses from Sorrento to explore the Amalfi coast unless you fancy the craziness of driving the coast! I would recommend leaving the car behind and letting the Italian bus drivers give you a masterclass in precision driving and horn use!

The highlight was having the beautiful pool to come home to after a dusty day of sight seeing closely followed by the peace of breakfast in the garden. NB get good directions to the house we ended up negotiating some very narrow lanes by mistake when we tried to find it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sorrento

Also Known As:
Villa Sorrento Italy/Meta
Address: Via Caracciolo 20/b, 80062 Meta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sorrento (Meta di Sorrento)Close to Sorrento and a few kilometers from Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Ischia and Procida, Villa Sorrento, in Meta di Sorrento, the ancient fishing village, you can make a nice relaxing holiday and hospitality. Meta is one of the pearls of the Sorrento peninsula, characterized by the most famous beaches of the coast that are walking distance from Villa Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Villa Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.