We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kamp-Bornhofen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp
Klostergarten 6 | Rheinuferstrasse 13-14, 56341 Kamp-Bornhofen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Kamp-Bornhofen
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

went with national holidays November 26th 2012 to German Christmas markets.it was a long journey (18hrs) due to rain ,traffic, and bad coach connections ferry delays and farmers protesting with there tractors on the motorway in Belgium. however the holiday was great .the Drivers JOHN &JIMM Y were great the hotel had hot food waiting for us when we arrived at 1.30 am on the Tuesday morning after being on the coach from 5.30 am on the Monday morning.
The hotel was a bit shabby outside ,but inside was plain but clean and the beds comfortable
the food was good and ample always served hot and on time.
the entertainment was karaoke but great fun .Friedel a strange gentleman who ran the entertainment had everyone joining in .the excursions to the different markets were well organised .and the extra trips were good value.. This was a great holiday and both my wife and I are looking forward to going again this year.
John R Middlesbrough

Room Tip: try to get a room on the ground or first floor as its a long slog up to the second and third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    84
    31
    14
    6
See reviews for
28
105
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Food lovely, room very spacious and clean. Massive comfortable queen size bed. Staff very friendly. Would definitely go back but not with National holidays.
Drivers of our coach had no communication skills what so ever. Very rarely pointed out anything of interest or where we were. The trip seemed to benefit them on the way back, we called in at two PJ's chocolate ,booze & fag places, where they had bags & boxes of stuff. We had to have breakfast at 5.50am to leave at 6.30am to enable us to fit these visits in. Hotel staff told us breakfast is always at 8am on day of departure. We had a 19 hour journey back which had nothing to do with the weather. Formal complaint on route to National Holiday management .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have just come back from a brilliant four night break to Germany. We laughed from start to finish. The only downside it was a long long journey. The hotel was so friendly and the food nice and typically German with decent options. The entertainment was karaoke run by an unusual character called Friedel. Everybody joined in and our group was a great one with everyone getting on so well with eachother. The rooms were spotless and a decent size and the beds were so comfortable. However, my partner and I were on the third floor and to our shock there was no lift. We also had a low ceiling which was slanted in places. My partner is a tall man and hit his head quite often.All the staff were friendly and really made us feel welcome. We would definitely return to this hotel but would have to fly as aforementioned the coach journey was approx 16/17 hours each way. Thanks to Markus and everone at the Kurfuerst Hotel for a great time. Thanks to National Holidays for enabling us to have met some wonderful people and for the courtesy shown to all of us by the drivers, Kevin and Steve.

Room Tip: We had a good view of the Rhine but were up a height on the third floor. There is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've been to stay in this hotel twice and loved every minute each time i've been. the staff are very friendly and the food is always hot and served promptly.
The rooms are basic but so comfortable. The cellar bar is fantastic and entertainment really gets everyone up and boogying.
If you've never been. GO GO GO

I'm having to set the travelling date as 2012 but i first went in 2002 and the second time in 2010

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from a Christmas Break with National Holidays (via North Sea Ferries) to the Hotel Kurfurst. The journey, overnight sea crossing, food and service on board were excellent. On arrival at the hotel, we were warmly welcomed by Marcus and assisted by himself and his team were soon settled into our rooms. Yes, the room are quite basic, but clean, comfortable and warm. Breakfast was part buffet style with plenty of choices and dinner (pre ordered at breakfast time) was again good. Well cooked, excellent service and tasty. The bar service was good and the entertainment OK. Not to everyones taste but it certainly got people joining in and having a good laugh. The main dining room and tables were nicely set out for Christmas and looked very festive. Marcus and all his staff were very welcoming and friendly at all times and we would certainly recommend this hotel. If you want a hot drink in your room, just take a kettle and provisions, There are no TV's as previous comments have noted. However, if you really cannot live without a TV for a few days, there is one in the reception tuned in to the English channels! Certainly value for money.

Room Tip: Front room on top floor for views of the Rhine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brotton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Hotel Kamp Bornhofen the first week of Dec 2013.
We travelled with National and as previous reviews state 18 hours is a long time to be sat on a coach, with numerous stops and incompetence of feeder-coaches not available and constantly running late.
Hotel – Very basic rooms, however clean and lots of hot water. Drinks – very nice shots, and a good price, we did not take advantage of the free bar (this was due more to the entertainment each evening), however appeared to be well stocked.
Food – This is very poor, very, very basic, and evening meals rather poor too. Good selection of homemade soup for starter though, which did go down a treat.
Apart from the lovely people we met and sat with at our tables, would we return to this hotel.......no thank you, Berlin next year Christmas markets.....and we’re flying!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here whilst on a National Holidays Christmas Markets 5 day break.
It's quite difficult to be fair with this review, a main factor has to be that the management has to balance your stay on a very tight budget, I'm sure that the hotel get very little from the tour operator.
The hotel is a really old converted monastery, quite shabby and must cost a fortune for heating etc. Our room was in an annex building, quite small, and other than the toilet and shower there were no facilities at all! Two single beds pushed together with a strange duvet that only just covered you! It was warm enough though. It was almost impossible to get the shower to give a warm water flow. No shower mat! My wife slipped but luckily she was not hurt.
All meals are very basic, and your given only just enough to keep you alive! A few "local" drinks were free on our trip, between 8:30 and 11:00pm. We discovered that the free wine was from Lidl for 1.99 euros. The Lidl store is 100 metres down the road from the hotel.
The evening entertainment was from a weird bloke, a cross between Demis Rousos and Yabba the Hut! The music was, depending on your taste, dreadful!!! You know what I mean ... Tie a yellow ribbon round the old oak tree, Alice, Save all your kisses for me! need I go on? He sang all songs in a deadpan fashion!
We couldn't stand it!!! So we sat in the freezing cold entrance lobby and did quizzes on our iPad with our coats on! There was a constant flow of tabbers in and out of the entrance door, going outside to smoke, they might as well have just smoked in the lobby because it stunk of cigarettes!
It sounds awful doesn't it? But, if you smoke ( and nearly all on this trip did ), and you like the songs, you could be in heaven!
The staff were nice enough unless someone had a complaint Then it was the cold shoulder treatment.
They say in life " you get what you pay for " ..... in this case, never a truer word said!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp

Address: Klostergarten 6 | Rheinuferstrasse 13-14, 56341 Kamp-Bornhofen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Kamp-Bornhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Kamp-Bornhofen
Also Known As:
Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp Germany/Kamp-Bornhofen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp to your Saves list