We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, disappoining food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kamp-Bornhofen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp
Save
You added Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp to your Saves list
Klostergarten 6 | Rheinuferstrasse 13-14, 56341 Kamp-Bornhofen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kamp-Bornhofen
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Basic, disappoining food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed last week Sept 2012 on National Holidays trip. Accomodation very basic, no phone, television, radio, clock in room, but it was clean. A couple of parts dropped off the shower and wardrobe, but they were still useable.
Food very disappointing. "Evening meal" on (later than intended) arrival was some soup and stale bread. There were some nice bread rolls in the mornings, but the rest of the food was poor. Well suited for serious drinkers and smokers, including a cellar bar with a not-very-talented singer.

Room Tip: Ask for an annex room if late noise from the bar disturbs you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    94
    38
    15
    7
See reviews for
33
127
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Booked on Rhine Valley 5 day trip with National Holidays at this hotel. The journey was a nightmare taking over 20 hours due to accidents, delay with ferry so had to transfer to Euro tunnel. Think that the hotel has 2 sides to it if you read the other reviews. Our room was large and clean but shutter on windows was broken, window broken and show curtains which couldn't be closed, giving no privacy. Bedding and towels very worn and hard good for ex foliating!! Room overlooked first floor concrete area, no Rhine view for us, littered with cleaning equipment.The food - very small portions, offered 1 bread roll with soup between 4 adults cut with a surgeons precision into 5 slices, only told on way home that others had asked for more and then they were given more. Didn't go on holiday to have to asked at every meal for a reasonable amount of food. As others have said free bar is in the cellar where smoking is allowed. This made it very uncomfortable, even staff were smoking, not nice for a non smoker,clothes smelt awful. Next night decided to sit in the bar in the dining room to be told we had to pay for our drinks and couldn't bring drinks up from the free bar!!! All in all yes you get what you pay for. Went on a National trip last year for 9 days to Austria which was superb, brilliant hotel, overnight stay and great driver. The alternative of a cruise and stay means you don't get enough time to see the area. Cant honestly recommend this trip unless you are happy being cramped up on a coach for a very long period. Its a pity that we had rain every day as I would imagine the area would be lovely in the sunshine. Wont be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Well where do I start this hotel its a bit run down rooms are basic no tea making so take a travel kettel they have hair dryers, dont know how this hotel rated a four on trip advisor meals were nice but not great small potions have to ask for more Sir . Beds were not changed sheets still the same after 5days IF you go by National Hoildays getting up earley say 410 then set off all in all 20hrs travel you get there about 1am in the morning very long bus drive this is your first day of your hoilday tuesday,wedensday ,thursday you travel on friday you get up have breakfast 5.00 and start your travel at 530 then it takes another 20hrs

Room Tip: If you get the chance dont go to this hotel find another because the Rhin Valley is not to be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Truly enjoyable
The five day trip with National Holidays during the last week of August 2012 was great value for money.
The Hotel.had plenty of character and the Hotel Manager and staff were very friendly. The Hotel was very clean and situated on the edge the Rhine. Our third floor room was facing the Rhine with breathtaking scenery.

Breakfast was continental. Meat, cheese and bread rolls on your table.
Dinner was three course. You were offered a choice of three main courses. Staff checked to ensure everything was OK.

Our room was large / comfortable and very clean including the shower room. The Bed was also comfortable and clean. What no kettle!!! luckily we always pack a kettle. The excursions are great "don't miss them", and the evening entertainment well it was good fun, though we had a great party of people, "party goers" and a Lady called Shirley who could really sing and made a good night into a fantastic night. The hotel rocked each evening...........
Some of the guests commented about the noise from the trains, afraid it didn't disturb us.
Keep up the good work "Markus Schreiner" Hotel manager, and thank you for a great room and a great holiday.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Rhine, third floor/front and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have recently returned 27/8/2012 from this holiday and we all enjoyed it very much. The journey is quite tiring but apart from that the hotel is clean and the staff were very helpful. The scenery is most impressive we found the food to be good and the room we got was quite big and we were very impressed. The place is an old convent so don't expect too much but we loved it. We would happily return I think sometimes you can't always please everyone. Our son is 14 yrs old and he enjoyed the trip very much. Paul, Wendy and Tom Clark Stockton on Tees.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have read the negative reviews but our experience was that the hotel was very good. I must say that we booked an inclusive package which included the coach trip from Newcastle to Hull and the North Sea ferry to Rotterdam which included Evening meal and breakfast then coach via a stop in Koblenz to Kamp Bornhofen on the Rhine. I must mention that if the North Sea Ferry is booked as a seperate trip the cost of the ferry crossing alone with the meals for 2 people is £315.00. We paid only £458 for 2 people which included the above and then the journey to Kamp Bornhofen, two nights in the hotel with breakfast and evening meal, a boat trip on the Rhine, a coach trip onwards to Rudesheim and a trip to Cologne on the way home. Terrific value for money!
The hotel is quaint, it's an old convent more than 300 years old so quaint is the best description. I have never seen hotel staff work as hard to give satisfaction, the food was perfectly ok, not a great choice but well cooked, quickly served and exactly what we expected for what we paid.
I had emailed the owner Markus and asked for a quiet room with a view of the Rhine. We were given room 6 which was quite big with an en- suite shower/toilet and well away from the railway line.
We were more than satisfied with the hotel (for what we paid) and I have no hesitation in marking it "very good"

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The journey down was long but ok, longer then expected due to traffic accidents. When we arrived there was soup and sandwiches available. Rooms were basic but very clean, fresh towles and beds made everyday.The food was good and you could ask for more. The entertainment was so bad it was good, hilarious in fact!! The scenery and views are breath taking. Trips out each day with drivers who could tell you about the area. There were more trips than advertised (optional) at a small cost but good value. All inclusive drinks were limited to beer (larger red and white wine) We had a lovely time there and would go back. To get a good nights sleep take ear plugs as there is a trainline both behind the hotel and at the mother side of the river.

Room Tip: Rooms hot in summer ask for a lower floor take ear plugs and a German phrase book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp

Address: Klostergarten 6 | Rheinuferstrasse 13-14, 56341 Kamp-Bornhofen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Kamp-Bornhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kamp-Bornhofen
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp Germany/Kamp-Bornhofen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kurfuerst Kamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.