We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but should be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montra Hotel Sabro Kro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montra Hotel Sabro Kro to your Saves list
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viborgvej 780, Sabro, Aarhus 8471, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bo Godt - Spis Gratis
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabro
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice but should be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a pleasant hotel some 2 minutes drive from Aarhus centre. Rear rooms are quite and the hotel is in large grounds. This was my second visit. Check in and check out are slow, Breakfast is OK, all self service. No seater and greeter.

The dining room is a little old fashioned and dinner is over priced and service, and attention slow.

Bedrooms are good size but in need of modernising. Bathrooms excellent woth baths and walk in showers. Beds are single and narrow.

Room Tip: ASk for a room facing the rear of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob B, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Woimble,
and thank you very much for the review. I am glad you like our hotel, despite your remarks. We do think hospitality and service the traditional way, and want our contact with guests to be personal.

Next time you come in our hotel, please let me know more precisely, what you think needs to be renovated in our rooms, because mostly they only get praised. Our beds are normal danish size, but we have several rooms with bigger beds, so please ask for one of them next time.

Kind regards,
Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
30
1
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballerup
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed a few days at the hotel and the hotel staff was very professional and all in all the hotel was nice.
I had a room with two single beds but they were not very wide < 90cm so a bit uncomfortable.
Dinner was a bit expensive but nice.
Breakfast is fine but as with many hotels I miss fried eggs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob B, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Been_there_dk,
and thank you very much for your review.

I am very glad you like our hotel, and I have shown your appraisal of the staff to them.
Our beds have a danish standard width of 90 cm in our normal rooms, but we have other options as well, so please just let us know next time.
And when you have your breakfast next time just ask for the fried egg, and the chef will cook it to you.

Kind regards,
Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

After business, I have been here and getting refresh. Room is much clean and comfortable than any other hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob B, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi!
Thanks for the review of our hotel. I'm very glad, you liked it, and especially that you noticed our high standard of cleaning. We do emphasize this a lot, and put a lot of effort in doing the best hotel cleaning in Denmark.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was looking forward to a one night stay at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro with my boyfriend. The room looked nice and the bathtub in the bathroom was very much appreciated. But a few basic services seemed not in place! The trashcan in the room was NOT empty! It is one of the most basic things in terms of room cleaning - empty the trash cans! So that was a disappointment. The beds were nice to sleep in. The sofa had stains and seemed out of place. The morning buffet was ok, I liked the fresh orange juice machine. But we couldn't find a place to sit. There were a few empty tables, but they were filled with used dishes and left overs of food, not inviting at all! We had expected more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob B, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Hi Horsensmb!
I am glad you liked your room and slept well, but I am sorry that we did not deliver our normal high standard at your stay with us. Your experience is not what we are known for and strive to deliver to all our guests.
It would be a very big help, if you would email me your date of stay and your room number at jbw@sabrokro.dk. This way I can track your stay the best, and make sure these mistakes will not happen again.

I wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year.

Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this hotel as a stopover close to the motorway, but we wish we'd stayed for longer. We had a family room, which even with teenage and almost teenage children was relatively spacious and comfortable. The hotel appeared spotless and public areas were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good. There were some disabled guests while we were there and it was nice to see that the hotel catered well for different needs.

The thing that tipped this into a five star rather than four star were the staff, who really were as friendly and helpful as other reviews have said. We listened in awe as reception, bar and restaurant staff switched between Danish, pretty flawless English and German.

Our only note with children is that at least one of the freely available tv channels would not be freely available in the UK and finding it when flicking through was a bit of a shock for our 12 year old! There may be parental controls available, but we just hadn't thought of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob B, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi izzy83_11, and thanks for the review.
I am very glad your family liked it with us, an next time you are in the area please do stay longer. We see ourself as a hotel serving everybody, and that includes disabled who we welcome in the same friendly way as every other guest. This particular family weekend you experienced, has been in our hotel for many years.
The staff is proud to keep everything spotless, and I have forwarded your praisal of the friendly staff to everybody in the hotel.
Kind regards, Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed two nights with a price that included the dinner the first night. This was a good deal, and not overpriced compared to other hotels in the area. We were five adults, and we had two double rooms with one extra bed. That worked fine for us. Very nice clean rooms with excellent beds, and a fantastic bath room. Breakfast was very good with fresh orange juice directly squeezed oranges, very good coffee and a lot of different choices. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob B, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Writers_DK and thanks for your review!
I'm very glad you liked your stay with us so much. The things you enhance are something we emphasize a lot: The good breakfast wiht fresh orange juice, and when building the rooms we wanted to make the bathrooms as good as possible. I will give your remark on the friendly staff on to them.
Kind regards, Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 4 days of our vacation in the Aarhus area, with this hotel as our base. In total we were 3 families, all with small childeren spending time together. The hotel was great for us; spacious hallways for the childeren to move around, clean and nice rooms with excellent bathrooms. The ping-pong table was good recreation, as well as the playground outside. Here we had a picnic one late afternoon, with food and wine bought from the grocery shop (Rema 1000) just 200m down the road. Nice breakfast and ok a la carte menu if one wants lunch or dinner; sandwiches danish style are excellent and a full meal - the ones made at Sabro kro are no exception! Also, in the reception area, they provide pocket-sized maps with suitable jogging routes of various distances - very convenient and a good gesture if and when you need to move! Only minor things were negative; bin was not emptied one day, the minibar had not been made up when we checked in, one night we had dinner in the restaurant, they did not clear the table nor offered coffee or dessert after the main course, the ventilator in the bathroom only seem to work during morning time. All in all, a good hotel when visiting the Aarhus area and it is not a necessity to stay in the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob B, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi sigg76!
Thans for rating us on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation with us, and liked our spacious interior and good recreation facilities. Glad to here about the picnic idea. With this fantastic danish summer, we have been very busy in the hotel, but I have forwarded your comments on restaurant and cleaning to the responsible managers. We always use every guests feedback to improve ourselves, and will also use yours. Hope to see you back some other time.
Kind regards, Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabro
8.5 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 19 in Aarhus
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#3 of 19 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
8.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#4 of 19 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
8.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#5 of 19 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
8.6 mi away
First Hotel Atlantic
First Hotel Atlantic
#7 of 19 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montra Hotel Sabro Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montra Hotel Sabro Kro

Address: Viborgvej 780, Sabro, Aarhus 8471, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus > Sabro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montra Hotel Sabro Kro 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro is a modern hotel near Aarhus.All rooms are large with bathtub and shower, TV, mini bar, coffee/tea making, ironing facilities and French balcony. Junior Suites with jacuzzi, walk-in closet and private terrace. Big breakfast buffet is included in alle prices.The hotel is situated 13 km from Aarhus Centre, 4 km to highway E45 and offers free parking. There is a direct bus connection to Aarhus Centre.Free use of WIFI, playground, table tennis, petanque, table football, billards, outdoor fire place. We prepare the food in our restaurant with fresh products from our local farmers in a modern Danish way. Enjoy drinks in our bar, or visit the wine cellar. Aarhus is the second largest city in Denmark and offers lots of sights and exciting city walks, shopping posibilities and good life. Here you can visit the art museum ARoS and the Den Gamle By - Open air Museum. From Montra Hotel Sabro Kro it is very easy to reach all other attractions in the middle of Jutland by car: Legoland, Randers Rainforest, Silkeborg, Ree Park, Ebeltoft, Skandinavisk Dyrepark, Kattegat Center, Silkeborg and the old city of Viborg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Montra Hotel Sabro Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.