We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel when travelling with car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montra Hotel Sabro Kro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Montra Hotel Sabro Kro to your Saves list
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viborgvej 780, Sabro, Aarhus 8471, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Århus
1 review
“Good hotel when travelling with car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good location for shopping at Bilka, close to main road and easy to get to town with the car. Nice rooms, altough a little small for families if you want to stay longer. Good breakfast and very good bbq buffet. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob-Sabro, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the barbecue buffet.
Kind regards,
Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
29
1
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Certainly worth 4 stars! Good service from reception to restaurant, well-equipped room with free WiFi, stylish modern furniture and bathroom with bath and shower. The hotel had many artistic elements from netting sculptures to antique furniture and was in typical modern Danish style - clean and functional! The free big buffet breakfast catered for every taste and gave a perfect start to the day. We stayed for 3 nights and slept well in a very quiet and peaceful hotel although it is located on a main road(road 26: Viborg Rd.). Its location made it easy to access Aarhus (it took us approx. 15 minutes to drive from the Sjellands Odden ferry to the hotel, and was a pleasant drive, 25 minutes from Silkeborg and the same from Viborg. These towns were well worth a visit but we liked Silkeborg best.
We have only one negative comment: the dinner was not gourmet! We had guests one night and their verdict was not good. We tried the barbecue buffet one night but thought the food was similar to what you get when on a ferry crossing from Norway to Denmark -edible but not exciting nor tasty! Apart from this we have only highly positive comments and recommend it to both families, couples and business people..

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob-Sabro, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi VikingDave100!
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, especially all the good things you write about our decoration. Thank you for the praise of my staff, which they deserve. They are good.
Our restaurant is not a french gourmet restaurant, but prepare good food from mainly danish ingredients. We have had very good succes this summer with our barbecue evenings, and therefore I'm sorry that you didn't like it.
Hope to see you again some time.
Kind regards,
Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tau, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Impeccably clean modern hotel, with large rooms / bathrooms, and a fine restaurant with good food, Decent selection of wines and beers. Friendly staff. Reasonable prices off-season. Situated along the old main road from Aarhus to Viborg, but the rooms are in the back of the building complex, and there is no traffic noise to speak of. Has not the charm of a traditional old Danish "kro" (= inn), but has all modern facilities you expect from a medium-sized business hotel. Also suitable for tourists / travellers wanting a decent hotel for a short stay, but the location would hardly be your first choice for a long term stay. I will most likely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the northern side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob-Sabro, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Sigmundm!
Thank you for the review here. We emphasize our cleaning, and are glad you noticed the high standard. I'm glad you liked the restaurant, bar and my staff.
The hotel is located in the country side near Aarhus. In this way you can enjoy city life when you want it, and relax in quietness in our hotel afterwards.
Have a nice summer.
Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I don't have any disadvantages for this hotel. Very nice, clean, staff was friendly. Super!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

As a conference hotel it worked well, very nice rooms, facilities wellfunctioning, good food and service. The location 15 km outsider Aarhus close to a big road is convenient but not nice. No running rouges nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

It's a very simple hotel but it is simple in all the good ways. Good rooms, gym, wifi, etc. Very friendly, welcoming and responsive staff that was more service oriented than in many 5 star hotels. Don't expect luxury but for a demanding traveller (which I am) the hotel exceeds all expectations. If you have to stay in this area, do stay here.

Room Tip: some rooms are facing the road. I haven't slept there so I don't know if they're noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011 via mobile

Very friendly staff. All around a great business hotel. Excellent Internet connection. The only negative point are the very small beds.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montra Hotel Sabro Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montra Hotel Sabro Kro

Address: Viborgvej 780, Sabro, Aarhus 8471, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus > Sabro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montra Hotel Sabro Kro 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro is a modern hotel near Aarhus.All rooms are large with bathtub and shower, TV, mini bar, coffee/tea making, ironing facilities and French balcony. Junior Suites with jacuzzi, walk-in closet and private terrace. Big breakfast buffet is included in alle prices.The hotel is situated 13 km from Aarhus Centre, 4 km to highway E45 and offers free parking. There is a direct bus connection to Aarhus Centre.Free use of WIFI, playground, table tennis, petanque, table football, billards, outdoor fire place. We prepare the food in our restaurant with fresh products from our local farmers in a modern Danish way. Enjoy drinks in our bar, or visit the wine cellar. Aarhus is the second largest city in Denmark and offers lots of sights and exciting city walks, shopping posibilities and good life. Here you can visit the art museum ARoS and the Den Gamle By - Open air Museum. From Montra Hotel Sabro Kro it is very easy to reach all other attractions in the middle of Jutland by car: Legoland, Randers Rainforest, Silkeborg, Ree Park, Ebeltoft, Skandinavisk Dyrepark, Kattegat Center, Silkeborg and the old city of Viborg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montra Hotel Sabro Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.