We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern 4 star hotel, more than a traditonal Danish "kro" (inn).” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montra Hotel Sabro Kro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montra Hotel Sabro Kro to your Saves list
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viborgvej 780, Sabro, Aarhus 8471, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bo Godt - Spis Gratis
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tau, Norway
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Modern 4 star hotel, more than a traditonal Danish "kro" (inn).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Impeccably clean modern hotel, with large rooms / bathrooms, and a fine restaurant with good food, Decent selection of wines and beers. Friendly staff. Reasonable prices off-season. Situated along the old main road from Aarhus to Viborg, but the rooms are in the back of the building complex, and there is no traffic noise to speak of. Has not the charm of a traditional old Danish "kro" (= inn), but has all modern facilities you expect from a medium-sized business hotel. Also suitable for tourists / travellers wanting a decent hotel for a short stay, but the location would hardly be your first choice for a long term stay. I will most likely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the northern side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakob-Sabro, General Manager at Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Sigmundm!
Thank you for the review here. We emphasize our cleaning, and are glad you noticed the high standard. I'm glad you liked the restaurant, bar and my staff.
The hotel is located in the country side near Aarhus. In this way you can enjoy city life when you want it, and relax in quietness in our hotel afterwards.
Have a nice summer.
Jakob Beck Wätjen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
30
1
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I don't have any disadvantages for this hotel. Very nice, clean, staff was friendly. Super!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

As a conference hotel it worked well, very nice rooms, facilities wellfunctioning, good food and service. The location 15 km outsider Aarhus close to a big road is convenient but not nice. No running rouges nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

It's a very simple hotel but it is simple in all the good ways. Good rooms, gym, wifi, etc. Very friendly, welcoming and responsive staff that was more service oriented than in many 5 star hotels. Don't expect luxury but for a demanding traveller (which I am) the hotel exceeds all expectations. If you have to stay in this area, do stay here.

Room Tip: some rooms are facing the road. I haven't slept there so I don't know if they're noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Very friendly staff. All around a great business hotel. Excellent Internet connection. The only negative point are the very small beds.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sande, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Don't be fooled. This is not a Danish " KRO". It is just a hotel. Both hotel and restaurant is quit expensive, but do not hold the quality to support its prizes.

We traveled with three children, and found this hotel not to be suited for bringing children. We had agreed with the hotel that we would get two rooms connected. The first thing they did was to give us two rooms in each end of a corridor. When we complained the staff reluctantly gave us another. This room was still not connected to the other. We had also agreed a price for the two rooms, but had to argue and show them e-mails before they gave us this price. The staff was overall unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel is situated about 15 to 20 minutes drive from Aarhus. There is basically no other building within 200 meters from this hotel. Car park was huge.
The hotel has just completed a new wing and it was a good one, indeed. The rooms are very spacious and so is the bathroom. New LCD TV is provided with few local channels and maybe more. Since it is still new, everything in this hotel / room works well and look contemporary.
There are many nice collection of furniture or art work being displayed at lobby and hall way. There was wheat farm behind the hotel and the scenery was breathtaking.
The food this hotel provides was excellent. Do try their 3 course dinner.
I would definitely stay there again if I am at Aarhus.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Montra Hotel Sabro Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montra Hotel Sabro Kro

Address: Viborgvej 780, Sabro, Aarhus 8471, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus > Sabro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montra Hotel Sabro Kro 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro is a modern hotel near Aarhus.All rooms are large with bathtub and shower, TV, mini bar, coffee/tea making, ironing facilities and French balcony. Junior Suites with jacuzzi, walk-in closet and private terrace. Big breakfast buffet is included in alle prices.The hotel is situated 13 km from Aarhus Centre, 4 km to highway E45 and offers free parking. There is a direct bus connection to Aarhus Centre.Free use of WIFI, playground, table tennis, petanque, table football, billards, outdoor fire place. We prepare the food in our restaurant with fresh products from our local farmers in a modern Danish way. Enjoy drinks in our bar, or visit the wine cellar. Aarhus is the second largest city in Denmark and offers lots of sights and exciting city walks, shopping posibilities and good life. Here you can visit the art museum ARoS and the Den Gamle By - Open air Museum. From Montra Hotel Sabro Kro it is very easy to reach all other attractions in the middle of Jutland by car: Legoland, Randers Rainforest, Silkeborg, Ree Park, Ebeltoft, Skandinavisk Dyrepark, Kattegat Center, Silkeborg and the old city of Viborg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Montra Hotel Sabro Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montra Hotel Sabro Kro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.