We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tirreno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Tirreno to your Saves list
Villa Tirreno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Benedetto Croce, 2, 01016 Tarquinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tarquinia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose this location so that we could visit some "off the beaten track" towns in this less touristed area after many hot, busy days in Rome and Florence. From this convenient location we visited the Tarquinia Beach (and rented lounge chairs/umbrella at the Il Tirreno beach location), the old town of Tarquinia (incredible Etruscan tomb paintings) and Capalbio (with the fascinating Tarot Sculpture Garden by Niki de Saint Phalle.)
The hotel was excellent - reception was exceptionally helpful with recommendations and directions. Our room was spotless and had a large terrace with a small table and chairs.
The hotel's pool area was a relaxing place to spend a few hours and we were able to have a delicious lunch served under a canopy by the pool. Dinner in the dining room our first night was also well prepared, fresh and quite tasty. Scrumptious panne cotta for dessert was quite a treat!
Breakfast was a buffet and the staff was most accommodating with a request for gluten free items - the lovely young woman who was our server made a point of bringing some gf cookies for me the next day!
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Triple room (205) has lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    31
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
36
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We ended up staying here because of a broken down car. We showed up late in the day, miserable and starving. The staff was lovely and accommodating. They helps us cope with the vagaries of Avis amd the alpha Romeo car dealership. The room was spacious amd comfortable. The food for dinner, albeit expensive was delicious. The next day, they continued to be gracious and accommodating as we camped out in the lobby waiting for assistance. The manager helped us with telephone calls and translation.
We stayed on the third floor in a suite that fit four. The room was charming but the ceiling had dormers. My son and husband both are over six feet and bumped their heads on numerous occasions. we were very happy with our accommodations and grateful to our awesome tow truck driver for taking us there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here the day before we were leaving Italy..
Excellent Hotel all around. Big triple room very modern and clean. we spent the day at their beach club which was also very nice. Daniel at the desk was extremely helpful with everything. When we got back to the room for the evening we were all exhausted and decided to order room service from the restaurant downstairs.
What an excellent meal!
The breakfast the next am was excellent as well!
would highly recommend this to people traveling in the area1

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Found this place by accident whilst driving through Italy and stayed for 2 nights (it was meant to be a 1 night stop off on the way to Pisa but we loved the hotel and town so much we stayed an extra day!).
We had not pre booked but the staff were very friendly and accommodating and had us settled into a room in no time. The room was well furnished, clean and looked recently renovated, with a large balcony with views out to the coast. The bed was very comfy - I never sleep very well in hotels but I slept like a log here.
Plenty of parking, a lovely pool and garden area at the back of the hotel, we didn't try the restaurant onsite but the menu looked lovely. The staff were very friendly and coped very well with our embarrassing lack of Italian. The girl on the front desk was also great at suggesting places to visit in the area, without her suggestions we might have hit the road first thing in the morning and missed out on what this little gem of a town had to offer.
The hotel is walking distance from the enchanting ancient walled town and a short drive or bus journey to the beach. Take the walk up to the town at night its beautiful, and definitely go back for a wander in the day there are tonnes of little shops, bars, cafes and museums to keep you busy.
We were lucky enough to be there around the time of a local art/music festival (Late July) and caught a live band playing in a park till 1am outside of a little bar - a great end to a night after a fantastic meal in the main square. It was lovely to see people of all ages (from tots to pensioners) locals and holiday makers just sitting out in the summer heat enjoying a drink or a gelato and live music in a gorgeous setting.
If we could have stayed longer we would have and we will most definitely be going back and staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have lovely views out to the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, AZ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in Tarquinia for three nights before taking the train to the port in Civitivechia for a cruise. The train takes only about 15 minutes from Tarquinia to Civitivechia (the port). The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk from city center. There are 22 rooms. We had a corner room with a balcony overlooking the pool and with a view of the sea, about 5 miles away. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They serve a very nice but limited continental breakfast. They have a very limited bar but an excellent restaurant. We ate at the hotel restaurant all three nights. A hotel staffer drove us to the city center and on our last day drove us to the train station. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent one night before driving to cruise ship. Appears to be a new or recently renovated hotel. Clean, good size and great balcony. We had corner unit and had a wrap around balcony. Average breakfast. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel thoroughly deserves its 4 star rating.The staff are so attentive and welcoming.The outdoor pool is beautiful.The rooms are really comfortable,we were lucky to get a junior suite for a very good price of €140 euro for the night,which also included 2 beds,a parasol and 2 towels at their beach club located at the beach about 3 miles from hotel.We ate at the hotel restaurant,overlooking the pool which was lit with different coloured lights.The food was very good and very well presented.The attention to detail is excellent here (lovely sweets at the reception counter and chocolates and biscuits in the bar area).I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tirreno

Address: Via Benedetto Croce, 2, 01016 Tarquinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Tarquinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tarquinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tirreno 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Tirreno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tirreno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.