We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can not accurately describe this place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Davui Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Davui Island Resort to your Saves list
Royal Davui Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beqa Lagoon | PO Box 3171, Royal Davui Island, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY/PAY - FREE NIGHT
Wasilla, AK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Words can not accurately describe this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Where to begin...first, I would like to mention that the customer service at Royal Davui is unparalleled in all of my travels. Everyone who works at the resort - and I mean everyone - is cheerful, smiling, helpful and seem to truly enjoy sharing their culture with the guests. Our honeymoon started poorly by experiencing an 18 hour delay leaving LAX on Air Pacific. I shared this information with the resort and I received a phone call from Chris saying that he took care of local hotel reservations in Nadi, and he even met us at the airport at 10:00pm to make sure we were taken care of...we knew right then that Royal Davui was going to be a special place. The bures have astounding views and are very comfortable with nice linens which allow for a very sound night's sleep - I think we slept between 9-10 hours every night!
Things to note about the resort: the island is small covered in vegetation - this brings the obligatory lizards but bugs didn't seem to be an issue; the food is delicious, fresh and plentiful, and if you prefer they had a non-seafood offering at every meal; breakfast includes juice but at lunch and dinner you must pay for all drinks aside from water, coffee and tea - with the average blended drink being $12 and reasonably priced bottles of wine; no cash is required on the island as they charge drinks and other knick-knacks to your room; reef shoes are recommended when doing water sports like kayaking or paddle boarding - unless you want to tear your feet up on the coral; the bar and restaurant area have wifi access if you absolutely must be connected, and while we were there they were working on getting wifi to each bure; the sand spit picnic is a unique experience and the zip-line is exhilarating!; the nighttime activities are a wonderful means to interact with other guests and the locals - don't miss the crab races!
To the wonderful staff - Rusi, Sparky, La, Lanieta, Siteri, Ben, Salla, Jale, Save, Johnny, Mere and the others - and to the managers Julie and Daryl, my new wife and I would like to thank you for helping give us the honeymoon of our dreams! It was truly everything we hoped for.

Room Tip: We were in Bure #2 which had great sunset views. There honestly doesn't seem to be a bad place o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    32
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
5
296
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had a great birthday celebrated on the island and got everything I expected. I needed a quite 5-Star resort, private villa, well stocked bar, and some peace and quiet. Julie and the team were exceptional and obviously understand hospitality. Thank you all. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: All was good.... but perhaps a West facing villa to catch all of sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just spent a belated Honeymoon at Royal Davui Island, Fiji and what an amazing place. Noting was too much trouble, the staff were incredibly friendly and soooo laid back. The food on offer was varied and plentiful and the bar service was reasonably priced. There is lots to do or noithing to do which in itself was very appealing to us. The Fijian people are beautiful and very accomodating.
Thoroughly recommend Royal Davui for any couples who just want to leave the world behind and concentrate on each other

Room Tip: Villa 13 was very private with views to Beqa Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

what can I say about this amazing place... its what dreams are made of. we stayed in the royal davui pool suite for 10 days in February and we were blown away. this is a truly special place that you must visit at least once is your life. we loved our villa and the food was always amazing. snorkelling off the jetty was a great experience. the most important part of this wonderful place is the staff. They go out of their way constantly to make you feel special, as do the GM's. we will be back, this place is indescribable, just do yourself a favour and jump on a plane and go there!!

Jarlie, I'll have another please......thanks for making our stay so special.

cheers big ears, same goes big nose!

Kimberley & Natalie

Room Tip: we had the davui pool suite but all of the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We did a great deal of research before choosing the Royal Davui for our wedding. Still, you never know for certain until you actually visit a resort...

We are so pleased with our selection of Royal Davui for our ceremony and honeymoon. We visited several properties in Fiji and enjoyed them all, but the setting at Davui is idyllic and the management just wonderful. They helped us create the very personal event we wanted.

The food is creative and elegant, the staff professional yet friendly. The massages are world class and the villas absolutely beautiful. We especially loved the private plunge pool, on a cliff over looking the ocean.

Vinaka to our friends at Royal Davui. We will never forget you.

Mitch and Kathy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place must be in everyone's bucket list.... it was amazing! The staff was friendly. The villa in which we stayed with beautiful with breathtaking views. The food was incredible and I am sure I got back home with an extra few pounds. There is plenty to do and plenty of space to do nothing at all. Both my husband and I loved it and are hoping to return for an anniversary with family and friends. Andy and I were completely awestruck by the island. While it does take a plane ride and boat ride to get there, both were comfortable and a smooth ride. The couples massage was very relaxing. The spa is a retreat within a retreat. We miss Royal Davui already.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Anne and I have just returned from an amazing stay on the Island. We enjoyed the time together so much that we added additional days whilst there. The whole team on Royal Davui are there to assist you with everything you desire.
Having travelled to many of the top Islands around the world, this one won't disappoint! The accommodation is fantastic and private with the plunge pools a great touch.
If you are certified divers make sure you do the feed the sharks dive it is nothing short of amazing.
We will certainly be revisiting the island.... Thanks to you all love Chief Bruce & Princess Anne lol

Room Tip: Go for the Premium Vales if your budget permits. They are another level of quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Davui Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Davui Island Resort

Address: Beqa Lagoon | PO Box 3171, Royal Davui Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Royal Davui Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Royal Davui Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Davui Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Davui Island Resort is an exclusive adults-only sanctuary situated in Fiji's spectacular Beqa Lagoon offering a level of Fijian luxury, elegance and privacy not found in today's larger resorts. At Royal Davui Island Resort Fiji, the shell symbolises our invitation for you to come to our island paradise. Just a few guests can be accommodated at Royal Davui, so be prepared for an exclusive and exceptional experience from the moment of your arrival. Here the world-renowned warmth and hospitality of the Fijian people awaits you. Royal Davui Island Resort is an adults only resort, offering an ideal tropical island escape, vacation, honeymoon or wedding.Bula Vinaka! - Welcome to Royal Davui Island Resort Fiji ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Davui Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Davui Island Hotel Royal Davui Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Davui Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.