We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trulli unique experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Palmento

Save Saved
You added Il Palmento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Palmento
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Contrada Cupa 161, 70010 Locorotondo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Locorotondo B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A trulli unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks at Il Palmento and it was a lovely stay for my wife & I. The hotel is set in a quite and beautiful location, with all accomodation in traditional trullis. We were in a modern room which was simple, basic and spotlessly clean. The room consisted of a bedroom and shower/bathroom - it had a chair to sit on but could've done with some more seating to sit inside. The pool area is lovely with lots of sunbeds and a pool bar. The restaurant is also nice, with lots of tables etc. We had 3 meals there and had no complaints plus breakfast every day. Breakfast is both plentiful and varied - lots of stuff to eat!

The only drawbacks were the distinct lack of staff. Il Palmento seems to have become like a lot of European hotels - struggling for bookings in the current climate and making cutbacks accordingly. Reception isn't/wasn't manned all the time (we had to leave the key on checking out as there was no-one there) and the Pool Bar had no-one manning that either. Staff are multi-tasking - one waiter also acted as the pool cleaner and most seemed to be working both morning and evening shifts as did a lot of staff. All, though, were extremely polite, friendly and welcoming - I couldnt fault them in any way. There just wasnt enough of them. As a result, lots of odd jobs need doing around the hotel - wheel on sunbeds, umbrella repair, towel rails dropping etc. Air con worked only intermittantly - this was an 'external' problem not related to the hotel and wasnt a major issue to us as its cooler in Sep. All this doesnt detract from the hotel - I would recommend this hotel to family and friends

Room Tip: Ask for a modern room - air con units were integrated and ugly old units in the historical rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week in August. There was much to enjoy, but not all attributable to the hotel. The staff were very nice to us, but we know there had been a problem immediately before we arrived.
The room we were first shown overlooked the pool, so we asked to be moved to a quieter room. We had no hot water ( or very limited amounts) for most of our stay, despite mentioning it to the staff.
Lunchtime meals by the pool were made and served by one poor very hardworking young man, who seemed to spend his whole time running between the pool and the kitchen. As a result, we had to wait for an hour for our meal. We were given plastic knives and forks and plastic glasses to drink from.
The evening meal was hit and miss and we wished we hadn't booked half board. We did swap our meals for lunchtime on 2 days.
The surrounding countryside is very beautiful and relaxing and we wouldn't hesitate to return to the area. I'm not sure we would return to the hotel. We would consider doing so if they paid more attention to staffing it adequately. I don't think it would take much to improve and make it a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want. You might prefer to stay in one of the original trulli to experience the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a fabulous time staying in a traditional Trulli, surrounded by olive and fruit trees. The staff were fabulous and helpful and everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. We had one afternoon of rain but we had Sky TV and a library of books to keep us occupied. The ppol and bar area was very spacious with a decnt range of lunchtime snacks to keep you going. The restaurant doesn't open until 8.30pm which was a little late for us but the food was exceptional. Try the seafood platter if its available it is devine. For 16 euro each you get longastine, a whole lobster, king prawns and clams in a beautiful tomato based sauce accompanied a small dish of creamy mash and spinach. The vegetable minestrone soup is like Momma used to make. The wine menu is extensive and reasonably priced. You mean a phrase booker with a menu reader in it (BBC book £4.99 WH Smiths) as there is no tourist menu. The staff do their best to help but they are not the best, but then again being a lazy Englishman it serves me right really. Go to Alberobello which is approx 5KM away. There is a market place and numerous beautifully renovated Trulli on display. You will need a car as it is in the middle of fields of oliver trees and vineyards.There is nothing nearby so without a car you are scuppered. A fabulous place worth the visit. The place has a basketball court, tennis court and bowls as well.

Room Tip: have a car with sat nav and make sure you have a phrase book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We started out in a very small trullo with steps in the middle and a claustrophobic shower room. On complaining we were moved next day to a much nicer one with a bedroom and sitting room of a decent size and a far larger shower room. It had a snack kitchen section and was all on one level. There were chairs to sit outside with a pleasant garden view. The grounds and the pool are very attractive but the service is a bit chaotic. This may have been because the manager's father was in hospital when we were there. Breakfast was OK but the evening meal, with the exception of the excellent local wines, was disapointing, slow and sometimes cold. The best food was the excellent 'Caprice' mozzerella and tomato salad made by the poolside bar at lunchtime. There is no information in the rooms - the best English guide to the area was the 'Simply Travel' book in Reception.
There is no taxi or bus service between the hotel and Locoratondo. You really do need a car if you are not to be isolated. They really should think about running some sort of regular shuttle into town because the railway line opens up all sorts of local trips without the problem of driving or parking. The hotel will drive you for a taxi fee of 15 Euro but apart from the expense you feel you are taking the chef (who drove us) away from his work.

Room Tip: If you don't like your Trullo ask to change it. They are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

An update of our review of a year ago....

Il Palmento is still in a beautiful spot. The gardens are still beautifully maintained. The pool still has a deep end. The "don't dive" sign is still happily ignored. The breakfast is still better than in many Italian hotels. The same team still work very hard.

And yet, and yet- there have been changes since last year....

Above all, the evening meal is not what we expected, or found last year. (The current chef, who was head waiter last year, is a marvellous guy. But I'm afraid the food coming out of the kitchen isn't good. And it's certainly not worth waiting an hour for....)

There have been other changes too: petty maintenance has been neglected. For three nights in a row we had no hot water (and then we discovered that each trullo pair has a boiler, and ours kept blowing out). In the pool, algae gathered because the creepy-crawly wasn't working. The light fitting by our bed was broken, exposing live wires; the WC flush plate was falling off the wall; the kitchenette sink's drain leaked; the mosquito netting was all broken, and the tennis net didn't go up and down.

The management also seem to have lost sight of their greatest asset: peace and quiet. So one evening a separate wedding party stumbled to and fro past our bedroom through the night, and the very next evening a self-inflicted open air speaker system boomed out "YMCA" towards midnight.

This place has such potential. We had such a good time last year. But I'm afraid it's just not worth its price now.

The staff admit that the il Palmento has had a particularly difficult year. It's clear reading the reviews that something changed radically.

Message to the management: We hope the management will take these very clear and specific reviews on board, and restore the hotel to its former beauty. It can be done: swallow your pride and please accept the need for change, quickly! Good Luck!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

When we were there, one guest openly compared Il Palmento to Fawlty Towers (the British comedy about a terrible hotel) and another told us that their meal was inedible. Other guests - who had originally taken the half-board option - converted to B&B rather than eat at the hotel at night (or else just swallowed the expense and avoided the evening meal). The result was that one evening we saw only one family eating at the hotel . . .

I do feel sorry for the staff (who work very long hours and have little or no support from management) but the hotel appears to have expanded beyond its capabilities, with a poorly located kitchen chief among its problems (others being the fact that there were not enough loungers and umbrellas by the pool).

This means that:
- the one member of staff by the pool spends much of the day literally running back and forth (there is no way for him to communicate with the kitchen and no-one to help him poolside);
- when hot food is brought to the table for the evening meal, it can be tepid (it took the one waitress working flat out five minutes to bring our food from the kitchen to the dining area);
- you have to order lunch an hour before you want it (lunch being salads and cold/stale focaccia); and
- if you miss the one can of Coke which is available, tough!

As for breakfast, you're in this gorgeous place with plenty of shaded outside areas (and an unused terrace) but you have to eat it indoors.

I've been mugged at knifepoint in the YMCA in New Orleans and slept on floors where cockroaches shed their skins, and while Il Palmento was spotlessly clean and in a beautiful location, my memories of it will truly rank up there with those experiences!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is in a very pretty location, with lovely views. The Trulli layout is lovely. The rooms are clean but dismally furnished. There is nowhere to sit in the lovely garden and enjoy a drink in the shade, nor is there any staff who could serve you.
Bicycles advertised for the guests use are in bad condition and dangerous.
The restaurant food is terrible and breakfast is underwhelming, running out of croissants, and fruit. The cheese and hams are from packets. All of this is unexpected in Italy and not at all our previous experience in other hotels.
Lunch by the pretty pool is chaotic and left to one young man to run back and forth to the kitchen to bring the most basic things. Even running out of cold beer and coca colas (ok for self catering but not for a hotel). Plastic cutlery, glasses and plates of the worst quality.
There were too few deck chairs and umbrellas until an Italian family complained vigorously
By 10.30 pm everything is silent and packed away, unlike the rest of Italy.
The manager is conspicuous by his absence, wandering by in the late evening - I imagine to avoid all the complaints. Everyone we spoke to had some sort of grievance
We had to complain about the most astonishing rudeness from a waitress after we had waited 20 minutes for a bottle of water, to have her put her hand up to my face and tell me to wait. After which she seemed to be deliberately smashing plates. We were given a bottle of red wine as an apology.
It seemed as if the owners and management had never visited any other hotels, as they seem to have no idea of how a hotel should be run.
I am sorry to have to say all this, but have not experienced such chaos in a hotel before.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Palmento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palmento

Address: Contrada Cupa 161, 70010 Locorotondo, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Locorotondo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Locorotondo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Il Palmento 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Il Palmento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Palmento Locorotondo, Italy - Puglia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Palmento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.