We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tayto Castle Tours

Tayto Castle Tours
Tayto (N.I) Ltd, Tandragee BT62 2AB, Northern Ireland
028 38 840249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Tandragee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set deep in the heart of the Ulster countryside is Tayto Castle where Tayto have been making some of the world’s best loved crisps and snacks since 1956. The Tayto Castle tour allows you to experience the magic of Tayto, see firsthand how our famous crisps and snacks are made and even meet our brand mascot, Mr Tayto.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

As my daughter and boyfriend were over from Edinburgh and we decided a trip to the Tayto factory was a good idea .In total there was seven of us we headed to Tandragee. We all had to get dressed in protective clothing, take off our jewellery . Even the men had to put on beard masks and as my daughter has her nose pierced and wore a sporting blue plaster over it..We had a good laugh dressing up and having our pictures taken .The tour was excellent , plenty to see and lots information on how they make and store the crisps and all of the different flavours and lots and lots of different kinds of crisps to try and take home. Its a trip well worth trying , excellant price as well £5 adults and £4 students and children

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Crisps!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing tour! Our tour guide Jill was fantastic really informative and entertaining. Not many company's would let you walk round a working crisp factory. On top of the tour we got to meet Pat Tayto and got to sample loads of free crisps. Well worth the £5 entrance fee. If you do decide to visit make sure you book in advance as I don't think you can just turn up and go on the tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having intended to do this tour for years whilst home visiting family, we finally managed to get a slot (you do need to book quite far in advance). Went with husband and two children, and we all thought it was brilliant. Great guide, and loads of crisps, much to the kids delight !! So interesting to see the whole process from the muddy potatoes (which were rolling off the back of the truck when we visited) through to slicing, frying and packaging. We all loved the hot crisps fresh from the fryer. Definitely value for money - especially when you throw in the 6 pack that each person is given at the end.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“AAAGGGHH Excitement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

That's how I felt when I booked this tour a few weeks ago....and I wasnt disapointed!

My wife & I took this tour on the 25th March and found it both fun & educational, The Tour is kinda geared towards the U-10s BUT dont let that put you off, as no matter what age you are, you will LOVE this tour.

We were initially met by Jennifer and then our main Tour Guide was Charlene. Both were really friendly and you could tell that Charlene is passionate about her knowledge of crisps!

The tour takes you from seeing the whole process from Potatoe to Packet....apart from the secret ingredient room!

For £5 you get the tour, a free 6 pack of crisps and the chance to meet Me Tayto!

Go on, you know you want to book this tour!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Crisp's, crisp's and more crisp's!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited yesterday as a family afternoon out. It was great from start to finish! The tour guides were really informative and we got loads of samples at different stages of production. It is excellent value for money and it really is a factory tour not a over-priced visitor attraction. You see how the product is made from start to finish and you get to see the staff at work in the many departments. The health and safety outfits are very fetching!! Overall a great afternoon out for the family just book well in advance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tayto Castle Tours also viewed

Portadown, County Armagh
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Portadown, County Armagh
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Tayto Castle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tayto Castle Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.