We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All but a free Wi-Fi....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berghof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Berghof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Berghof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hintertux 754, Hintertux 6293, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Hintertux
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All but a free Wi-Fi....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very organized hotel, with experienced staff, excellent food and amenities. I did complain upon my arrival that internet is charged separately (nowadays free internet is a MUST on all hotels which aspire on the upper level).

Room Tip: It seems all rooms are sunny....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just returned from a week holiday in Hintertux. I arrived late in the evening at the hotel after dinner hours , but they still offered us a hot meal . They were very nice at the reception and also in the restaurant.
Rooms are nice but not very spacious ( it is true that they have also bigger rooms) . Rooms were clean.
Special appreciation for the meals in the restaurant. Both breakfast and dinner were really good and plenty of choices for each one. Chef was really good.
Pool area is clean and very nice . Even if the hotel was full at the moment the pool area was not very crowded. Maybe a single negative observation , the relaxing room is close to the pool and it can be noisy at times when children are in the pool or impolite adults are shouting in the pool but this is not the hotel fault.

Ski bus stops in the front of the hotel so it is very easy to reach in max 5 minute the cable car.
Overall I was very pleased to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were looking for a hotel that we could literally wake up and be at the ski slope. The hotel has a bus stop that is for all the ski slopes on the mountain that is right across the street. It took about 3 min to get to the very top slope.
The meals at the hotel were very good! We were never disappointed. They had one night that they let the kids go back in the kitchen and help prepare an item.
The staff were all very friendly from the reception, bell man, cleaning, to restaurant staff.
They had just upgraded the hotel recently and they had a large pool area that was surrounded by windows. There was also a hot tub outside.
The spa area was very nice and my husband and I enjoyed massages after a long day at the ski slopes.
The gym was big enough for an elliptical, treadmill, stationary bike, stair stepper and weights. Water and towels were provided.
The only downside I did not like was that the Spa area closed during the day. My husband and I will normally take a day off of skiing when our kids are in ski camp and enjoy a massage. We could not do this hear.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just returned from 8 days at the Berghof and we were thrilled by the experience. We drove from Munich and arrived after lunch and received a very warm welcome from the reception staff. Our room was in the new part of the hotel next to new gym and spa centre. It was one of their suites and consisted of a large sleeping area as well as a sitting area, spacious bathroom and balcony. Overall very comfortable and met our expectation. Yes it was hot at night so needed to open the window to sleep even though it was -20'c outside.
We were on half board with afternoon tea included. Overall the food and service were excellent. We particularly liked the 'Chef's table' buffet in the kitchen each Friday which was excellent. Wine options consisted of either house wine (very reasonable) or a long mainly Austrian list which we tried several times and were very happy with the choices
The Spa and Wellness centre at the Berghof is really first class. The pool is stunning, multiple saunas and steam rooms and indoor/ outdoor spa pools. Free fruit and cordials on offer everywhere, plenty of fresh towels and large relaxing beds and chairs to relax and sleep on.
The staff were really great.. very cheerful, welcoming and entertaining..
Overall could not fault the Berghof. I agree with the other comments about not taking any credit cards which was a bit of a pain but in no way did it affect our stay.
Also as we left really early on our last morning the hotel provided a nice pack breakfast without us having to ask.. again very good.

Room Tip: Did not see the rooms in the older section but would recommend the new section of the hotel if affor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

In february 2012, iT was the third time that we spent our skiing holiday at this hotel.

We're not used to return to the same destination several times, but we found a second home at berghof.

Here are the positive points:

- marvelous rooms in the new part of the hotel
- good location for the skibus to the gletsher and to eggalm
- two nice spa areas (one clthed with a swimming pool with a vue, and one nude with several sauna's and steam baths)
- every nigvt a five course menu of very high quality (of which they even offer seconds)
- nice snack buffet when you return from the slopes
- helpfull staff

Negative points:
- elaborate, but expensive wine list
- Credit cards are not accepted

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

On the plus side,
-large room.
-friendly staff.
-good food.
-good location, close to the ski lift via regular bus.
-beautiful swimming pool area with amazing views.
-gym looks good also but did not use it.

On the down side;
-hotel does not take credit cards on check out !!
-needed to take 2 lifts to get to room. (not a big issue)
-10am check out.
-room very warm at night.
-not a lot happening in the immediate area around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

After driving from Munich we arrived at Hintertux in beautiful sunshine!
The hotel consists of a new part and an old part. We booked a room in the new section and where very pleased! The balcony was large and with fantastic views of the mountains and glacier!
We had breakfast and dinner included i our stay and of those the breakfast was best. Dinner was OK.
In regards to the payment policy of this hotel they ONLY except cash!
All in all we where happy with our stay at Hotel Berghof!

Room Tip: Go for the new section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Berghof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berghof

Address: Hintertux 754, Hintertux 6293, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hintertux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Hintertux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berghof 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Berghof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berghof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.