We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Easter skiing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler to your Saves list
Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hintertux 765 | 6294 Tux, Hintertux 6294 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Hintertux
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Easter skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights during Easter with a group of friends. Our hotel room was in the new part of the hotel and I was very satisfied with it, because everything was new and clean. Also, we had a balcony where we could sit in the evening sun after skiing the whole day. Due to great snow situation, it was also possible to ski all the way down to a field straight next to the hotel. Also, it's only 5 mins bus ride to the nearest ski lift. The breakfast, afternoon snack and evening buffet were all great value & staff very helpful. Swimming pool and sauna area are OK as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel was really friendly. The restaurant had a great variety of well prepared Austrian food. The room was spacious with a superb mountain view. We liked the spa and pool. The children enjoyed the games room and free wifi really helps. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are a family with racer skiiers and have visited "hundreds"of hotels in the mountains. This hotel has outdated interior, desperately needs to be renovated! Buffet food ok, not great, typical tyrolian (quite heavy, mostly meat). Family-run which is nice but some members of (restaurant) staff were very rude and the service was slow&poor. Overall, quite typical Austrian family-run alpine hotel but far from the best or best-value-for-money, and absolutely not 4-star! Would not stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

alltough the interior is outdated it is a good and clean hotel!
the food was really good!
only the matrasses were not optimal, luckily is was tired from skiing.

It is also very hot in the hotel so first thing you do when you get in your room, turn off the heating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I had a 4 night break here in March & wish we'd stayed longer.
My husband emailed the hotel direct & booked, they organised our transfers for us and all went smoothly.  It's a family run hotel & the whole family all seem to be involved & would come & check you were having a nice time-attention to detail!  You are a mins bus ride from the ski lift & can even ski back down to the field opposite the hotel. 
The views from the hotel are wonderful & the dining is the best I have had on a ski trip. Food was amazing-!! The evenings were proper a la carte some nights 8 courses! Most of the guests were German/Austrian but that made it more like a holiday away rather than the usual resorts with 100's of Brits & drinking games. 
My husband speaks good German & I am learning so it was good practice. I would recommend this place for a couple looking for skiing, relaxation & romantic  dining. It would also suit a family. 
The first night our menu was in German but as soon as they realised my husband was having to translate they made new menus up for us & each night we sat down our menu was in English! It was very personalised!
The spa was nice to have as well although be prepared to sauna naked!  
Overall a great trip & would like to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were 8 adults and 12 children from 8-19 who stayed at the hotel and we were very pleased with this hotel. Despite arriving very late due to traffic there was an excellent "kalte platte" served and this was typical of the service of the hotel. Everybody is eager to help and really tries that little extra to make everything perfect.

The food was really one of the highligts with a rich breakfast buffé, "Jausen" in the afternoon and a 4 course menu + salad and cheese buffés in the evening, everything very tasty. For a mixed couple like ours - the availability of a child buffé (schnitzel, spaghetti, nuggets..) as an alternative to the genuine cooking was very appreciated.

The sauna and pool area is very good and was a given stop after a full skiing day in the wonderful Hintertux slopes. You can ski from the glacier to 30m from the hotel entrance and buses are stopping ~50m from the hotel. Getting down to the Mayrhofen system takes about 25 minutes by bus.

However - a keycard system to the rooms and ski lockers would have been preferred to the old style key when people are on different schedule in the morning and afternoons. Also - today when many in the family have both laptops and smartphones, it would have been better with a WiFi system that allowed several devices to be connected on one subscription - or add say 10€ to the bill and have it free/open.

Rooms are large, clean, silent and well kept but the beds are quite stiff - for my preference

All in all: I would absolutely recommend this hotel and would love to come back

A final tip: beware if driving your car downhill from the hotel - hills are steep and brakes easily overheat if you are not on a very low gear. Tyre chains are mandatory if the roads are snowy or icy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a few days, and loved every minute of it.
We had to change some dates (arrived a day later than planned) and the hotel staff was very helpful and responsive.
Breakfast and dinner were remarkable with very large variety and we would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future!

One small issue - the bar doors were open so the cigarettes smoke was rather disturbing in the evening time, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler

Address: Hintertux 765 | 6294 Tux, Hintertux 6294 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hintertux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hintertux
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hintertux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thermal Badhotel Kirchler in Hintertux is just situated 500 in front of the valley station of the glacier station. Shuttlebus in winter Hotel - Lift Station and backVisitors are able to ski, carve and snowboard 365 days a year at the glacier of Hintertux. The downhill to the valley ends directly behind our house.180 Km marked hiking trails are awaiting you in summer instead. Climbing in rocks or ice, swimming in the thermal bath or exploring the mountains of tux with the mountain bike are just some alternatives for your vacancy through the whole year.Unique: We dispose on Europeans highest thermal spring whose water is used exclusively for our hotel.The rooms in Thermal Badhotel Kirchler are furnished in a typical cosy tyrolean style and offer any comfort. Our rooms are all declared as non smoking ones.Relaxation and recreation you will found in our spa area which meets highest requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler Hotel Hintertux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.