We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux to your Saves list
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hintertux 750 A, Hintertux 6293, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hintertux
Dublin-Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unsurpassable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

11 of us have recently returned from our first Family Christmas skiing Holiday together. There were 7 Adults and 4 kids ranging in age from 12, 10, 3 & 2. With no previous knowledge of the Alpenhof Hotel, we were overwhelmed by the quality, friendliness, efficiency, and innate ability of staff to pre-empt your every need. The bedrooms and bathrooms were top quality both in terms of space, cleanliness and comfort. We had a family room which comprised of double bed, sofa bed for our 3 year old and cot for our 2 yr old. The food in the alpenhof is quite simply the best I have ever tasted anywhere! It was like dining in a Michelin Star restaurant every night and the anticipation of waiting for your next course to see if it could possibly exceed the quality of the previous became a great source of entertainment and delight for us every evening. The facilities in the Hotel cater for all comers. We found the playroom brilliant for the kids. They have a climbing wall, fuzzball, X Box, a DVD player and TV, giant Lego and lots more to entertain. The swimming pool and health centre is exquisite and the variety of saunas, steambaths, relaxation rooms (both enclosed and with views of the Glacier) is refreshing! How this Hotel is not a 5 Star is beyond me, however, perhaps that's a good thing as you get the standards one would expect of a 5 Star but without the stuffiness or pretence you often get in some Hotels! I promised the Family Dengg (I hope I spelt that right) that I would write a review because this Hotel deserves to be top of the rankings in Hintertux if not Austria itself! If you are considering a ski holiday in Austria and have a few quid to spare, you will not get better value for money than the Alpenhof. It was a real treat and I genuinely hope to return again some day in the future!

Room Tip: We had a room to the back of the Hotel facing the river however I would imagine a Glacier facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
163
152
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roeselare, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Tophotel in a top ski-area! Very good service on any level, restaurant of michelin-star-quality. Spa-area, welness and swimming pool : top quality. Real family hotel, special attention for the kids-meals! Little space to improve.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is amazing. It's luxerious, spacious, the food is fantastic and the personnel exeptional.

This hotel gives you a worry free holiday. You feel special and at home.

They thought of everything. The wellness is huge (1600 m2), there is a gym, a teen room, you can have a massage or a beauty treatment. Even if you don't ski, you can walk around or visited the villages down the hill.

The hotel is at walking distance of the gletscher.

The hotel is awarded 4 start superiour, But it could easily be 5 start extra superieur.

It's our 11th time here and every visit it's better, there is something new, something changed for the better, etc.

A must go hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room but we prefer a room with a seperate couch. Rooms with a view on the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Incredible. Not the most expensive, but the best hotel i have ever stayed. The most helpful and courteous staff, by far, of any hotel I have been too. Immaculate rooms, pretty decor, very comfortable beds, amazing saunas, incredibly good food. Pretty convenient to the skiing as theres a bus, or you can leave your ski boots at the rental shoip and just walk for 10 minutes. There's also a nice ski run back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Really, I am sure all the rooms are good., We had a very nice family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaiza, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a week's stay for an early November skiing holiday. This hotel is outstanding in terms of service and friendliness, even before arrival. Communication was excellent, and having travelled for 2 days to reach Hintertux the welcome could not have been better. Location of hotel was very convenient for 3 minute ski bus to lifts, or it was walkable. Facilities in the hotel's ski room with individual heated lockers were first-class. The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious and kept very clean. The breakfast buffet, with eggs, bacon, etc. cooked to order was excellent, as was the salad buffet for the starter for dinner. The rest of the food was definitely in the "gourmet" class; perhaps just a touch over fussy for a winter-sports break, but beautifully presented at all times. The staff were very attentive. We only used the pool once as it was a little chilly. Underground parking a bonus. An excellent stay.

Room Tip: Don't worry, I'm sure they are all excellent, such is our confidence in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My sister and I recently spent 12 days at the hotel and had an excellent experience from the delicious meals to the friendly staff. Many of the guests we met have been coming back to the Hotel Alpenhof for years. One ski group has been coming for 39 years! The rooms were well-appointed and the beds were very comfortable. The spa was awesome! The front desk was incredibly helpful. The staff made every attempt to insure our visit was truly memorable! We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

stayed in early sept, (off season), it was five star service, food and cleanliness every minute! the food was GOURMET (one in our party is a chef, and he took photos of every meal!). we stayed in the 'edelweiss' suite (2couples), and it was flawless, bedding, bathrooms everything. the spa area downstairs is like NOTHING i have seen before. stunning, and tranquil. hintertux itself is a quiet area, lots of hikers and skiiers. not sure if the area attracts over 40's mostly, or if it was just very offseason, but seemed like there were very few younger or family ppl.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux

Address: Hintertux 750 A, Hintertux 6293, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hintertux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hintertux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenhof is the only Superior hotel in Hintertux and nestles in the dreamy mountain setting of Tuxertal - just 1 minute from the Hintertuxer Glacier. The cosy rooms and suites in fine Tyrolean style are fitted with tiled stoves, lovely bathrooms, most have a balcony and everything that your heart yearns for. With excellent cuisine, a selection of traditional, international and sophisticated delights, the Alpenhof has already stolen many a connoisseur's heart. In autumn 2014 the culinary range was awarded 1 'toque' by Gault Millau. To switch off and relax our 1600m ² relaxation realm, VITALIS SPA, has 6 different saunas, steam baths, quiet rooms and more. The indoor pool, at 128 m², is also suitable for performance-oriented swimmers. The 160 m² XXL gym is available for your own fitness programme. In summer we also offer a 1000 m² Alpine garden. Massages, beauty, bath packages and much more are available to book. Refreshments are available at the vitamin bar which offers fruit juices, a selection of tisanes and invigorating spring water. The fantastic location in the middle of the ski area, at the foot of the Hintertuxer Glacier, sets skier's hearts racing. Snow-assured from October through to May - there is powder snow here right into the spring and the glacier ski area is open year-round. In summer Tuxertal is a natural paradise which has a fantastic range of sports - 350 km hiking trails, 30 managed Alpine inns, 90 summit tours, 70 km mountain bike tours, parties and celebrations and numerous excursion destinations. And, with the maxim being 'More Service', it is a matter of course that the Alpenhof has ski guides in the winter and hiking and mountain guides in the summer who are 'ready to get out there'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.