We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlosshotel Iglhauser

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mattsee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schlosshotel Iglhauser
Save
You added Schlosshotel Iglhauser to your Saves list
Schlossbergweg 1, Mattsee 5163 , Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mattsee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful time at a wedding on Mattsee. Our suite was spacious, very private and clean. The staff was polite and attentative.
The food was nicely presented and very
tasty...We really enjoyed the breakfast and the after-breakfast electric- boat ride around the lake was a highlight for the kids.



  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    10
    4
    3
    21
See reviews for
26
72
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

On private and business travels I have already enjoyed numerous 4 and 5 star locations on pretty much all continents, but what I experienced in the Iglhauser was unique. To say that the location is stunning would be understatement, and the hotel - or rather to say castle - not less appealing. You will enjoy the first hard hit when getting in contact with the staff - or even worse with the owners.
I was guest on a wonderful wedding party that - luckily - wouldn't let itself down by a couple of really enjoyable things:
All people witing for the agape - when finally it was served 30 min before dinner.
The waiter frequently complaining to all guests that there would not be "enough wine". Well - in the end there was more than enough.
The waitress waiting for guests to hand in the used plates. And well - any polite guesture would have been appreciated.
A steak that was - well - not a steak. Something else. But not a steak.
The barkeeper just leaving the bar when the party was on top
The owners - when confronted with criticism - bluntly insulting the guests, including the bridal couple. Behaving on a level that is absolutely inacceptable. And I do not comment on the outward appearence of the owner.
Credit Cards were not accepted - although it is indicated that they would.
Well - and if your German is good enough you will notice that quite a number of "Excellent" ratings here are all written in the same manner, same wording, same expressions and same points being praised.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Stayed here twice on business and the hotel is old fashioned, beautiful and quaint. Arrived once when it was under 2 foot of snow and it looked AMAZING. Creaking floorboards, a maze of corridors and rooms but very modern bedrooms with jacuzzi bath tubs. Graet alkeside location

Room Tip: Enjoy a walk through teh small village and local restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We had a booking with hotel Scholss Ighauser as part of a cycle tour ( booked in January) . When we arrived at the hotel they appeared to have lost our booking but as we had the confirmation papers they eventually found us a room. That sorted we were told that there was a large wedding in the hotel and that they would give us the "suite" outside the main hotel. What a disaster! The "suite" was huge, bare and not very clean. The bedroom was scarcely furnished - only with a huge bed ( clean and comfortable) and a wooden cupboard. No bedside tables, overhead lighting, our cases sat on the floor, no curtains, pictures or anywhere to put your belongings. Wooden blinds that had the paint peeling off covered the windows. There was a TV mounted on the wall too but it was at a level below that of the bed! The bathroom was grubby and very poorly fitted out too.

There was no heating or cooling to be found in the suite and you couldn't open the doors or windows because there was a pond covered with green slime, algae and mosquitoes directly outside the room. Added to this, two sides of the room opened onto the entrance to the sailing club so everyone coming and going or taking their boats in and out of the water looked directly into the room and not all window had blinds so this was a bit of a problem.

The large sitting room only had two small lamps for lighting one with the globe not working. When we asked for this to be repaired they did so and when we asked about lighting the man helpfully suggested that if we wanted some more lighting we could pull up the blinds and let in some light in from outside. ( seriously!) He even offered to lift the blinds for us!

There was no wi fi in the room despite being told there was. When I checked on this I was told that that was a mistake and there was no wi fi outside the hotel but we were free to walk across to the hotel to use the wi fi which was hardly convenient. Given we have paid a good price for a 4 star hotel this is less than what we expected to get for our money.

I think the hotel had given priority to the large wedding party and bumped our booking - says a lot about the hotel management really. While I understand that mistakes like this can happen I was disappointed that it happened in a 4 star hotel and also at the way it was managed. The staff were off hand, uncaring and unapologetic and I found this the most disappointing thing. The whole thing could have been handled much better. I would not recommend this hotel at all. See the photos attached for more details.

Room Tip: Stay away when they have a large function!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you're looking for an American style business hotel, take something else. But for everyone else, looking for Central- european culture in terms of building, environment, beach and feeling, take a look at this! Lovely room (at least ours, which was a 2 storey suite), beautiful corridors. The service is, well, ok, but we felt really good there.

Room Tip: 35 is just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed about a week during silvester. The food, the decoration and the whole atmosphere was incredible delicious, beautiful and enchanting. Especially the fireplaces on winter days were wonderful. Traveling with a toddler is easy when you stay in such family friendly hotels. Thank you family Iglhauser for this lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Well located hotel for either spending time on the lake or a day trip to Salzburg. Also seems to be popular for weddings and functions - though not to the detriment of other guests.

When we arrived we were surprised at the lack of check-in formalities - nothing to sign - they were expecting us and so handed over room keys and arranged a welcome drink. After a long drive to get there is was a nice touch.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. While not too much English is spoken there's not much that can't be accomplished by hand gestures, a phrase book and a smile! WE asked for some washing to be done - no problem - and when we tried to pay on check out were told "no charge - its all fine." Same for some drinks we took one afternoon on the terrace - no charge even though we asked!

The owner is a charming man, always stopping to say hello at breakfast or when passing. Breakfast is amazing by the way - home made butter even!

Rooms are lovely and comfortable and wonderfully cool given the heat outside. Only negative was mosquitoes from the lake but not the hotel's fault. This hotel continued the theme of our tour through Germany and Austria and was a gem to which we would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlosshotel Iglhauser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Iglhauser

Address: Schlossbergweg 1, Mattsee 5163 , Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Mattsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mattsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlosshotel Iglhauser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.