We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Arc-en-ciel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montcaret
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Arc-en-ciel
Save
You added Maison Arc-en-ciel to your Saves list
Le Fauresourd, 24230 Montcaret, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Montcaret B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed with Sue and Cath a couple of nights to start our French Vacation. Sue and Cath are execllent hosts, great clean and spacious room. Breakfast was something to look forward to every morning. We loved the dogs. A perfect stay!

Sarah & Chris

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed with Cath and Sue in August with our 2 small children, in the B&B and it was a wonderful end to our holiday. We were all made so welcome. The rooms were lovely, big, clean and ideal for a family. The children's room had a stair gate, the pool an alarm and they were both treated so well. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a feast, with Sue even getting my husband's favourite cake in. Lovely setting, among the vineyards and the woods. There is plenty of room for playing football and running around. Only downside was that the swimming pool was cold.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, Cheshire,UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights and considered it one of the best we have stayed at in France. It's not easy to find and suggest you get a directions map from Sue or Cath, but what a lovely place it is when you get there !! Lovely grounds and walks from the house, we had our dog with us and she loved it ! Sue and Cath were very attentive and gave us great advice on where to visit duriing our short stay. We plan to return and recommend you to give it a try - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madames2, Owner at Maison Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for the review we are glad you and Tess enjoyed your stay. Hope we see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Made very welcome in this gem of a rural retreat. Hosts could not be more attentive. Hoping to make a return visit in the future. Many thanks.

Room Tip: This is not the Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madames2, Owner at Maison Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us we appreciate it. You are right our rooms are not the Hilton, we aim for individualised decor and facilities. Hope you make it back our way soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed here in the B&B. Cath and Sue are terrific hosts they make you feel at home the moment you walk through the door. Nothing is too much trouble. The house is lovely, and you can see that much care has been taken in the furnishings which are full of character as befits a property of this age and style. The breakfast is a real feast, complimented by home made preserves. Sue and Cath are great cooks so if you do have supper you will not be disappointed. We will always take the warmth of their welcome in our memories

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed for two nights in the middle of August 2010. The house is tucked away and takes a bit of finding , but once there it is well worth it. In the middle of the hills and surrounded by vineyards and fields the setting is very tranquil. Although the weather was a little too cold for us to use it, the large swimming pool looks very inviting.

Although it was advertised as B&B, we effectively had use of half the traditional;stone house, with a simple but delightful bedroom with terrace and outside seating, a large traditional bathroom and a spacious downstairs sitting room equipped with dvd and audio, a fridge and tea and coffee facilities.

Sue and Cath who own the property are both very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, recommending and booking restaurants and making sure our little dog felt at home. Breakfasts are substantial with lots of fresh fruit, mostly from their garden, and home made jams and preserves.

If you are looking for a very reasonable and comfortable base to explore the Dordogne and St Emilio0n areas then Maison Arc en Ciel would be well worth considering.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Just the best possible way to spend a week unwinding and discovering peace and tranquility . The hosts, Sue and Cath, are welcoming and informative and there is plenty to appreciate in this quiet setting. The house has been lovingly cared for and has superb views, with extensive grounds to explore. I particularly enjoyed watching the birds of prey and catching sight of the deer quietly moving through the field. The food and local wine were excellent and access to local shops a short drive away. I have become a frequent visitor and know of no better tonic for stress and urban tiredness than this and I look forward to returning in the spring.

  • Liked — comfort, style, peace, choice of rooms with different aspects, privacy
  • Disliked — terrace can be slippery when wet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Arc-en-ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Arc-en-ciel

Address: Le Fauresourd, 24230 Montcaret, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montcaret
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Montcaret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, comfortable unfussy accommodation in the heart of the Bordeaux and Bergerac wine regions. We are only 20 minutes drive from the UNESCO World Heritage Site of St. Emilion. We have a large swimming pool and a Jacuzzi hot tub. Breakfast is when you want it and we provide homemade organic jams and organic fruit from our own garden. Wheelchair access and free WiFi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Arc-en-ciel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.