We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Socrate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Socrate to your Saves list
Hotel Socrate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Ungheria 1, 21037 Lavena Ponte Tresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Holland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Small, but clean room, and lovely view over the lake ( at request) . Nice restaurant downstairs, also overlooking the lake. Try a beer about 50 meters to the right. The city is on the borderline switzerland and italy, and you can really notice a differance!

Room Tip: Take the red train to lugano, and a boat back, or the other way around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    10
    9
    16
See reviews for
6
14
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We've been to this hotel during mid April (2012).
The hotel exterior was under construction and the interior is really old and ugly.
The rooms are so small and dated and the WORST two things were - NO heat and NO hot water!
For a 90 Euro room this is an outrage!
When we told the women in the front desk that heating in our room is not working she says that it's because the winter is over... There were 3 Celsius degrees that night...
The location is indeed excellent but this town is boring anyway so it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lavena Ponte Tresa hotels

Angers, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Right next to the border post between Italy and Switzerland, the hotel's location in Ponte Tresa is alright. Nice views of lake Lugano. The staff were friendly and polite. Overall clean. The room we had could have used some renovating and freshening up though, especially for 95 euros a night. When the people in the next room flushed their toilet it sounded like a waterfall in our room! Also, the towels were more like dish cloths (thin and very small).

  • Liked — Lake views
  • Disliked — Tiny towels, thin walls
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

This hotel turned up in my search for a hotel in Lugano. It turns out it is not in Lugano. When I couldn't find the hotel, I called them and told them I was in Lugano and could not find them. They misdirected me to a town an hour away but the hotel was nowhere to be found. I ended up having to pay for and stay in another hotel and they charged me anyway for that night's stay which was not used. It wasted and ruined a full day of my trip.

  • Disliked — lack of helpfulness to a lost traveler
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Nice stay, great view to the lake, staf pleasant, good restaurant. Booked at booking.com

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Socrate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Socrate

Address: Viale Ungheria 1, 21037 Lavena Ponte Tresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Lavena Ponte Tresa
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lavena Ponte Tresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Socrate 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Hotel Socrate is located on the Italian / Swiss border of Lavena Ponte Tresa on Lake Lugano.The location is unique, it takes a few dozen steps on the beautiful promenade of the lake to cross the border and go shopping in Lavena Ponte Tresa and reach one of the many bars and cafes of the town.L 'Hotel consists of 17 double rooms, 4 triple rooms and 3 single rooms.From most of the rooms, you can enjoy the relaxing view of the lake. A view of effect that will allow you to admire the sunrise from the Swiss mountains.The restaurant Hotel Socrate is composed of two rooms .The outer room , a veranda , where you can enjoy a relaxing view of Lake Lugano, is used only in the summer and has a capacity of about 150 seats.The indoor dining room has been obtained from the restoration of an ancient grotto , the architect has chosen to maintain the original appearance , large arches , exposed brick , a location of romantic tones . the Menu The fish, always fresh , is definitely our specialty, in fact, our grilled Mediterranean dishes served directly on the grill are one of the most popular dishes and appreciated by our customers.The showcase of the fish is always very well stocked and we give the opportunity to the customer to choose directly between sea bream , sea bass , turbot , lobster , crab and so on.The meats are carefully selected by our chef , the cuts allow us to serve abundant mixed grilled fillets , accompanied by sauces (i.e. the famous truffle cream).The pizzas: we have more than 40 varieties of pizzas that are baked in our wood-burning oven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Socrate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Socrate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.