We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bagat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grotto Bagat to your Saves list
Grotto Bagat
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Brusimpiano 20, 21037 Lavena Ponte Tresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had great night at this hotel. Lovely location right on the lake. Comfortable room with large new bathroom. The restaurant for dinner was excellent and we had a lovely breakfast with a very good selection which was included in the rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for a week in March 2013. Room was clean, large and king size bed. Balcony overlooking the lake was a bonus.

Being out of season we didn't expect too much from the restaurant - wrong - it was superb with great personal attention and service. Lovely food and very helpful waiters who laughed with us at our pathetic attempts at Italian, but helped us with that too. They spoke pretty good English fortunately. Busy every night, mainly with locals (always a good sign.)

We are back there soon (staying in a villa) but will be eating at the restaurant without a doubt. Bonus was free wifi which was good strength.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room at the front with double bed for balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is located along the lake at Ponte Tresa, so we had a nice view from our room, which opens up to a common balcony. The room was adequate. There was a queen sized bed and a sofa bed, and one bathroom. It's good for 2 couples or a family; but don't expect to get any privacy since it's all in one room. The room was clean and the hot water in the shower was consistent.

Our stay included breakfast, which was adequate. There was an assortment of pastries and cake, and coffee, tea, and yoghurt.

The highlight of our stay was the food from the restaurant below. There was a good range, and the food was excellent. The waiter even brought it up to our room at our request, and we had a lovely meal on the balcony, overlooking the lake, away from the noise of other restaurant patrons,

In summary, the room was decent for the price. But definitely, give the restaurant a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The service, food, atmosphere at this hotel and restaurant was exceptional. We eat in the restaurant on three evenings and the staff were really welcoming along with English menus being available to help you decide. The staff on reception were always prompt and professional and there appeared to be a real sense of pride in their hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Excellent stay in a town that is less busy, but equally, if not more beautiful than Lugano.
Hotel was exceptional value with decent size and very clean rooms. We were very to find this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grotto Bagat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bagat

Address: Via Brusimpiano 20, 21037 Lavena Ponte Tresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Lavena Ponte Tresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lavena Ponte Tresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grotto Bagat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grotto Bagat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Bagat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.