We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ye Olde Fighting Cocks to your Saves list
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Arnside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank you!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am an entertainer who was fortunate enough to be invited by the owners Tony and Jeanette to stay overnight and perform at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks. Upon arrival, my wife and I were welcomed by the friendly bar staff followed by the even friendlier welcome from our hosts.

We were shown to our room which was lovely with a nice view of the bay and included en suite, digital TV and tea and coffee making facilities. On the bed we were also greeted with luxury dressing gowns, a cue for us to relax before our evening meal.

There is an excellent menu choice with the option to eat in the bar area before 6pm or from 6pm onwards the menu changes and you are invited to “Jays” the restaurant upstairs. We chose to eat in the restaurant and are glad we did. The food was superb as was the ambience within the tastefully furnished dining area. Again Tony & Jeanette could not do enough for us and the other guests.

The only downside was that I had to perform in the evening and I would much rather have enjoyed having a few drinks with the other guests and locals – there was such a good atmosphere in the bar area, with young and old thoroughly enjoying their weekend at a top establishment.

After a relaxing, comfortable and good night’s sleep we dined for breakfast with fruit juice, tea/coffee, cereals, toast and small to large full English…. Go for the large if you need to fuel for the day…. delicious!

Before returning home we completed our trip with a walk along The Promenade. Arnside really is a beautiful place!

We will definitely visit again, maybe next time I’ll leave my Microphone at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for your great review, we have a new team in the hotel and this has further improved the quality of the rooms and customer service.

we look forward to seeing you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    68
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
160
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived too late for the evening meal but by the look of the punters faces and their empty plates, they were well pleased. They have live music which finishes at 1130pm prompt. The Irish night with the acoustic trio was brilliant. This beautiful old hotel is right on the prom and Arnside is a great place for walking. Tony & Janette can do enough for you, also the breakfast is top notch. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

as a member of a five piece rock n roll band, we found ye olde fighting cocks a great venue
to play. the staff were very friendly, and welcoming, and the audience were a very friendly and responsive crowd.
looking forward to the next time we play there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for your great review, we have a new team in the hotel and this has further improved the quality of the rooms and customer service.

we look forward to seeing you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from a weekend break at this olde worlde bayside pub. Not one complaint about the rooms, or service from the recent new owners Tony and Jeanette. Food is brill in both the restaurant and bar, with meticulous attention to giving first class service to the customer. Although in the side rooms, the views are still excellent and as stated by other guests, binoculars are left for your use. Tea and coffee supplied together with dressing gowns and quality bathroom materials.This is not the Ritz, and due to the age of the building all is not perfect, but for the price,it is without doubt excellent value for money. Tony,Jeanette and the other staff made sure that one or two requests we made were immediately sorted. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north across the bay and beyond to the Lakes obviously the best, but as stated the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review,

We hope to see you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just spent an amazing night at ye Olde Fighting Cocks. The new owner Tony and all the staff were brilliant hosts mingling with all the guests. Our room was lovely with great views and we were even provided with binoculars to see over the estuary to the snow on the mountain tops. The menu has changed and is much more accomadating for all and very reasonable. The Irish band playing on March 16th were fab all the pub had a thouroughly enjoyable evening the atmosphere was electric. We will be returning very soon and can't wait for the warmer weather when we can sit in the beer garden overlooking the bay with a glass or two of vino superb!! Well done once again for making this pub the best it has ever been may it remain this way for a long time.
Thanks Denise and Stuart Molyneux

Room Tip: All rooms are named after places around Arnside ours was called sandside this was a lovely room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a very old property and is now a restaurant bar and hotel. Restaurant Food is good value for money and basic good choice of fish and chips, liver and onions, a curry dish, chilli dish and plenty of other options for £5 There is also a choice of five different pie dishes also £5 Four starters including soup, mushrooms etc. for £2.99 and desserts are also £2.99 tea and coffee are also available at reasonable prices. The owner and his wife only moved to this pub in December 2012 and have spent time and money doing up the bedrooms(all Ensuite) to provide really good accommodation at a reasonable price combining the old and new for fixtures and fittings. Tony and Jeanette are a lovely couple and really friendly as this place is close to where we live the restaurant is our main interest and we believe the menu is changing soon so another visit is expected Do try this little gem in Arnside sure you won t be disappointed in the rooms, food or service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review,

We hope to see you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently spent two nights at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks. The room was quiet, very clean, well furnished and had superb views over the bay. The food was very good, tasty and wholesome. Tony and Jeanette are very friendly and professional. They ensured that my stay was relaxed and peaceful. I shall stay there again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a report on your stay, and your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Fighting Cocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Address: The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Arnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arnside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Olde Fighting Cocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks Hotel Arnside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.