We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Save Saved
You added Ye Olde Fighting Cocks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Arnside B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently spent two nights at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks. The room was quiet, very clean, well furnished and had superb views over the bay. The food was very good, tasty and wholesome. Tony and Jeanette are very friendly and professional. They ensured that my stay was relaxed and peaceful. I shall stay there again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a report on your stay, and your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    50
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
103
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Fighting Cocks. Tony and Jeanette could not have being more welcoming or helpful- especially as my wife was on crutches. Our room the Westmorland had spectacular views over the Kent Estuary and Lower Lake District and was immaculately clean. The food was of good quality and great value for money- especially the roast beef Sunday Lunch. Tony even told my wife how to cook it so hopefully ours would be the same, here's hoping! All in all a great weekend break we shall look forward to visiting the Fighting Cocks again. Without crutches so we can do more walking in the spectacular countryside.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. All have sea views but we would like to try the four poster room as a treat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review,

We hope to see you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frizington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we arrived at the Ye Olde Fighting Cocks.about 7,30ish,looking for a meal..but they had finished serving,but tony said it was no trouble to prepare us a meal which was very nice, very nice an friendly couple,going back quite soon,,,,,,sorry its taken me a while to write a reveiw,but better late than never eh,,,,joan an fred

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for takibng the time to post a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon

Tony & Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ignore any old reviews new couple only been here 12 weeks.Great room ,fantastic view over the coast,room smart and clean great heating,all the extras you get in larger hotels.Pub serves good basic pub food at the price they charge bargin of the day,homemade not factory produced as in most pubs.We will stop again rather than just do the day trip,as at these prices you just can not go wrong.Landlords and their team all out to provide a service and deserve top marks!
Thwaites beer well kept,bar busy with entertainment at weekend

Room Tip: ROOM CALLED WHITE CREEK on second floor great views and four poster.Do not book online give them a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for your great review, we have a new team in the hotel and this has further improved the quality of the rooms and customer service.

we look forward to seeing you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were incredibly lucky to have been gifted a stay here for our engagement present. Our room was at the top of the hotel, which afforded an amazing view over the estuary. The four poster bed was a pleasant surprise and the tasteful, plush furnishings, fluffy robes, and in-room niceties such as tea and coffee and products in the bathroom all contributed to the luxury feel of our stay. The bar food was delicious: I had the breaded brie and my fiancé enjoyed the club sandwich. There was a band playing during the evening, which provided fantastic entertainment, both lively and fun. After an extremely comfortable night's sleep, we came down to breakfast (late!), and we were delivered a feast--a plate piled high with all our English Breakfast favourites. The walk down the beach is truly lovely, and again we were fortunate, since the sun shone all day while we explored. We are looking forward to staying again in the summer so that we can enjoy the views from the immense beer garden! If you are planning to visit this part of the world, then stay here: you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for your nice review, we have a new team in the Kitchen and the food quality I believe has improved hugely.

we look forward to seeing you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night in Feb. Having read some old reviews we didn't know what to expect. It is clear that the new management have really turned this place around. We stayed in a four poster room with a stunning view. The room was lovely and clean, had dressing gowns, coffee, tea and a pair of binoculars to make the most of the seaside view 8-)

On the Saturday night there was a good local band on to keep us entertained (and maybe a couple of beers). Breakfast was tasty, a full English although plenty of other options were available for the healthy eaters. There are loads of nice places to walk nearby and enjoy an ice cream.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for your great review, we have a new team in the hotel and this has further improved the quality of the rooms and customer service.

we look forward to seeing you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night but had previously stayed twice before the current owners. Two coaches parked outside on our arrival made us wonder if we had chosen the right place to stay. But all was ok as they were just having drinks. We were shown to our room, the Estuary room, which has wonderfull views. Clean and warm with a nice bathroom and a comfortable bed. We ate in the bar that evening, food ok and cheap. Breakfast was nice also but not the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review,

We hope to see you again soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ye Olde Fighting Cocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Address: The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Arnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arnside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Fighting Cocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks Hotel Arnside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.