We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could wish for and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher to your Saves list
Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Station Road | Carmarthen, Nantgaredig, Carmarthen SA32 7LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Nantgaredig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All you could wish for and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our two hosts, Paul and Steve, really have got it spot on. A lovely welcome, attractive gardens and riverside setting, great breakfast and dinner, comfortable room and attentive service. Have already recommended Ty Castell to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Your kind words are greatly appreciated, thank you very much. We are always pleased when we get it right or "spot on" as you say. We do our best to accommodate every ones need and if you are happy then that makes us happy. A good bases for a relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
71
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Well what can I say. Brilliant-Steve and Paul are the perfect hosts. Friendly and so helpful nothing was too much trouble for them. The location was stunning the garden out of this world. Then we had a good night's sleep and woke to an exceptional breakfast . Best value for money anywhere in Britain. Thank you both so much. Can't wait too come back .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are overwelmed with the "Best in Britain" comment "Best in Wales" would have been suffice, but thank you very much for your kind comments and scores. It is always good to hear such excellent feedback which makes it all worth while for us and in addition your review must have gone some way for us to be the 2013 Winner of the Trip Advisor Certification of Execellence awarded only today. It is difficult to measure the value for money aspect without some thinking we are too cheap and others thinking we are too expensive. We try our best to offer the best value for money accommodation in Britain, no sorry, I meant Carmarthen, however everyone has there own version of this. The proof for us will be your return which we look forward to. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston-s-mare
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was clean quiet and a great refuge for a weekend . When we opened the curtains the view was excellent with the lovely river and lovely garden. Having been touring in Australia and New zealand the freshly cooked breakfast was super and would certainly recommend Steve and Paul as great hosts. Lyn and Keith.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Wales and thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate them. The garden is starting to come together now as the wind and cold air has moved on (for now anyway). The views from the Kingfisher balcony room and the Heron room are improving day by day as the garden comes to life at long last. Thank you for choosing Ty Castell for your stay in Wales. Steve appreciated the breakfast comments - Super ! Hope to see you both again if you are passing this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything we wished for and more! Clean and comfortable room and comfortable bed.
Approachable friendly hosts. Great Breakfast. Good advice on walks and attractions in the area.
Highly recommend this guest house to anyone. from Jim and Trish Mclean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Great news, thank you for your review and your company, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return trip? In the mean time stay healthy and don't forget when things get too stressful come back to see us, sit on the riverbank. raise a glass and say good bye to your stresses as it flows down the river Towy as you munch on your tuna baquette !!. Keep an eye out for the otter and kingfisher ! Very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at Ty Castell on a Business Trip. Wasn't sure what to expect and arrived late at night so wasn't aware of the gorgeous location till In opened my curtains the next morning. Steve and Paul were so warm and welcoming the next morning at breakfast. What a surprise to see the amazing view over the river from the Conservatory where Breakfast was served. I didn't want to leave!!
Breakfast was piping hot, well presented, and delicious!! Excellent service. I spent only 45 minutes with them at Breakfast but it was long enough to know I would be returning there with my family for a long weekend where I could explore and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.
Steve and Paul made me feel like I was a VIP and I am certain that a return trip will not disappoint. I would recommend Ty Castell to anyone, for any trip or purpose. You will be very well looked after and it will exceed your expectations!!

Room Tip: The Kingfisher Room by all accounts is excellent and advised to stay in there next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
It was our pleasure, VIP treatment is the basis of our hospitality and we try our best to ensure our guests feel special, welcome and at home with good company. We look forward to your return trip and hope that we have the opportunity to look after your family, book early though for the Kingfisher room as it is very popular, more so as the weather improves for sitting on the balcony enjoying full sun all day. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have stayed with Paul and Steve twice in the last month while on business in Carmarthen. The location is peaceful and idyllic overlooking the river and fields. I chose this guest house partly because they provide evening meals - I wasn't disappointed. The food is great, a good choice and well-presented. The charming small restaurant overlooks the gardens and river. I was travelling by myself and they made sure I was properly looked after. The rooms are a good size and well-equipped. They were flexible about breakfast time so I wasn't late for my business meetings. Very good all round.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that evening meals was a priority and a success for you. Business travelers are welcome at Ty Castell and we do what we can as far as flexibility is concerned. Your kind words are very encouraging and you came back twice !! You busy business people work very hard but don't forget to stop, relax, unwind and start the day with the best Welsh breakfast in the area (at Ty Castell of course!) Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our first visit to Paul & Steve's great guest house but I don't think it will be our last. There were 4 of us in our party and we occupied the 'Swan' & Otter' rooms, which represents half of the accommodation as there are just 4 rooms.
The welcome from the boys was warm & friendly with a tea & coffee on arrival in the elegant and comfortable guest lounge. You have the feeling of being part of the 'family' and Paul and Steve join in the friendly banter at meal times.
Breakfast is very good using local produce where possible (great sausages and welsh bacon); the evening meal is ordered in advance so Steve is able to buy in the necessary produce. The menu is adequate not expansive and the food simple rather than exciting, but it is well cooked and more than adequate. The wine list is small but this is understandable for a 4 room guest-house.
The rooms are average size with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and tea, coffee and biscuits provided, although the shower in the 'Swan' room wasn't very powerful and a bit on the cold side.
The guest lounge is a normal house sized room with comfortable seating and modern flat screen TV where guests have complete freedom to do as they please.
The gardens are a credit to the boys and I can imagine when in full bloom must be beautiful and the location on the river bank would be ideal for long summer evenings sipping wine watching the herons swooping down the river.
The overriding impression left is of the friendliness that Paul & Steve convey and I'm sure this is the real reason why people return.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We were very pleased with your kind comments, thank you very much. We feel that over the nine years we have been here that we have got most things right and are now directing some of our time to promote the garden under The National Garden Scheme with view to raising money for cancer charities and others. We look forward to welcoming you all back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher

Address: Station Road | Carmarthen, Nantgaredig, Carmarthen SA32 7LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Nantgaredig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nantgaredig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast is our family home and sits on the door step of the National Botanic Gardens of Wales in the heart of the Carmarthenshire countryside, in a small hamlet village called Nantgaredig just 4 miles from Carmarthen Town. Ideally situated with good road links for cross county explorations of Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and beyond. Once a farmhouse on the banks of the River Towy, Ty Castell- now a four star bed and breakfast - opens its doors to weekenders, rural explorers, nature and garden admirers. West Wales boasts rich culture & heritage shaped through major periods in history. Explore narrow gauge railways, castles, caves and much more. With an abundance of activities and attractions all year round and for evening meals try the popular local Y Polyn public house which has two AA rosettes and is featured in the Good Food Guide. Also on the doorstep is the recently renovated Railway Inn Country pub serving bar/restaurant meals. Great value for money and within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Castell Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.