We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place with wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast
Bgt. Serre Marchetto 1, 10060 Pinasca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pinasca B&B and Inns
North Yorkshire, UK
1 review
“A beautiful place with wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed here for a week: it was an excellent base from which to see Piedmont. We skied on several days and also visited Turin; we were guided throughout by the suggestions and assistance of the friendly and solicitous owners Marla and Fabrizio.

Bella Baita itself is beautifully located, though you really need access to a car unless you are preternaturally energetic, as it is 6km off the main road, halfway up a mountain.

The amazing breakfasts and dinners were full of superbly prepared home-cooked food, and they also ran their interesting and useful cookery course, even through there were only the two of us. By some distance the best B&B we have ever experienced. If we are anywhere near again, we shall certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We booked a 6-night stay in Bella Baita in August. From the moment Fabrizio picked us up from the train in Pinerolo we knew we had made a good choice. He made us feel at home straight away and by the time we arrived in Bella Baita, we were well acquainted with local history and culture.

Bella Baita is situated 6km from the village of Pinasca up a very steep and windy road. Those who arrive without a car should be prepared to face a 2 hour walk up!

The rooms at Bella Baita are comfortable and homely and offer a great view across the valley. We didn't bring a car but still found plenty to do. The area has some lovely walks both long and short in a very peaceful and tranquil area.

The cooking classes were great fun and we learned a lot from the Fabrizio-Marla double act. For anyone who wants an entry point into Italian cooking, these classes are highly recommended. Oh, and you have to eat what you cooked later!

Another highlight was the trip to the market in Pinerolo with Marla and Fabrizio. There are markets on Wednesday and Saturday selling a cornucopia of wonderful fruit, vegatables and cheeses. This is well worth a visit.

The evening meals in Bella Baita should not be missed. Each night, there was something different with each dish lovingly prepared and beatifully presented. At €18 euros per head inc. wine, it was fantastic value. Apart from the food though, the best part was the interesting and funny conversations around the table with both hosts and guests that made it hard for us to leave.

Marla and Fabrizio have put an enormous effort into developing an eco-friendly and self sufficient environment at Bella Baita. A lot of the food is grown in their own garden and the rest is locally-grown produce. This is a very commendable approach to running a business.

It was very hard to say goodbye at the end. Marala and Fabrizio made us feel like part of the family. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Bella Baita was everything you could expect from a B&B and so much more. There is lots to do in the local area: hiking, mountain biking, visiting local markets and towns, tasting wine and just absorbing the stunning views. We enjoyed taking a ski lift from Prali to the top of the mountains and following extensive hiking trails through flower filled meadows and along steep ridges. The views up there are amazing: Mont Blanc stands imposingly in the background. It was lovely to return from such excursions to Marla and Fabrizio's fantastic home cooked meals. Both are chefs and invite you into their dining room for fabulous four course dinners- I have never tasted tomatoes that are so full flavoured and my boyfriend almost ate his own weight in a delicious fruit pudding on the first night. We enjoyed wild boar and sea bass while we were there and even took a cookery course during which we made gnochi from scratch and stuffed the most delicious peaches. After Bella Baita the rest of Italy seemed to lack the personal touch. We even returned for a night after visiting the Cinque Terre as we wanted one last night of relaxation and good company. It was lovely to visit somewhere so untouched by tourism and yet so beautiful.

  • Liked — Food, scenery and the hosts.
  • Disliked — It was hard to leave.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Bella Baita is a very special place. This tiny bed and breakfast is nestled on the mountain side about six kilometers above Pinasca. It is a beautiful setting with terrific views. The rooms are large and comfortable. However the best aspect of Bella Baita are its proprietors, Marla and Fabrizio. Both are trained chefs. Fabrizio grew up in Val Chisone, about 100 yards from the site of the Bella Baita. Both have a wealth of knowledge of the best places to visit and dine in the valley. Breakfasts are served in Marla and Fabrizio's dining room. Dinners are available as well and, as you'd expect given the training of the owners, are terrific. Cooking lessons are offered, and we would srongly recommend you take advantage of the opportunity. Marla took us to the open air market in Pinasca and showed us how to pick out the right ingrediants. Then they showed us how to prepare some very special Piemontese specialities. Staying at the Bella Baita is more like visiting old friends than staying in a hotel.

  • Liked — The wonderful personable proprietors.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Our stay in B&B Bella Baita was very pleasant. We have been there only for a weekend, but, anyway, we enjoyed it vey much.
Bella Baita is located in mid-mountains (about 1000 meters altitude), in a lonely side valley of Val Chisone (Turin 2006 Olympic Mountains)
However well-known places as Pragelato and Sestrieres are easy to reach.
You can breathe there a unique, cosmopolitan atmosphere: Marla gives a strong international flavor, while Fabrizio, who speaks the Piedmontese dialect, gives you a taste of the ancient Piedmont mountain traditions. They are both very very kind with their guests.
The restaurant located next to the B&B is very good.
Strongly suggested for a relaxing vacation!
Stefano & Raffi (Torino, Italy)

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We loved our stay at Bella Baita. We stayed for 3 nights and had cooking classes on each night by our hosts, Marla and Fabrizio. He's Italian and she's American. Marla is an excellent teacher with loads of professional experience and gave us many tips, even on things we'd done for years. Fabrizio is charming and funny with a warm personaility and 30+ years in the restaurant business. He worked hard and we learned Gnocchi, Pasta (from Marla), and Risotto. Each meal was a feast and we cooked, ate, drank wine, and talked until late into the night all 3 nights. It was like our own mountain home. On the second day, we climbed the nearby mountain. It was a 3.5 hour climb to the top summit, well worth the hike. We met another couple, Carlo and Sonia, Italian climbers from Genoa, who run a climbing/travel website business. We practiced Italian and they tried English and we had 2 great nights with the 6 of us laughing like old friends over stories and jokes. I agree with Fabrizio's sarcasm when he looks out over the beautiful sunset, tossing back fresh made ravioli and a house red wine and says "What a terrible life we are living!" Bella Baita was an experience unlike we've ever had in all our years of traveling. At 50 euro a night, this place is a steal. 45 euro apiece for the cooking classes, which included dinner, was a bargain, too. On Saturday, Marla took us to a huge market and spent all that day's money on cheeses, fish, meats, wine, etc., for us to cook dinner. She couldn't have made a dime!

  • Liked — Marla and Fabrizio were wonderful hosts and great company
  • Disliked — The drive up the mountain, but its not too bad
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

My husband and I decided to book a four night stay at Bella Baita because we wanted to visit the Turin area. Bella Baita was so highly rated on Trip Advisor, we decided to check it out. I'm so glad we did. We spent four wonderful nights on top of a lovely mountain with beautiful views of the French border and plenty of peace and quiet.

Though the weather was, at first, a bit cold and rainy, Marla and Fabrizio offered us a very warm welcome. The first night, we enjoyed a delicious meal with them, complete with wine, delicious fresh baked foccacia, and dessert. The next morning, we were off to the market in Pinerolo, where we picked up food for our cooking seminar. My husband and I really enjoyed meeting Marla's favorite vendors and getting a very colorful experience with the locals. That night, we prepared braised rabbit and risotto with asparagus, artichokes, and some very tasty proscuitto. Although I was personally a little leery about eating rabbit (it was my husband's choice), I was very pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Afterwards, we enjoyed a wonderful fruit tart made with fresh ricotta cheese.

We got to explore the cute border towns of Italy and France, including Sestriere, where the 2006 Olympic ski events were held, and Briancon, a charming but somewhat touristy French town. We also enjoyed a quick trip to Turin and checked out Eataly, a wonderful food store that celebrates Italian products. Each of these locations were located within an hour or two's drive from Bella Baita.

Our room was very comfortable, with a nice bed outfitted with flannel sheets. I wouldn't have thought we'd need flannel sheets in May, but it was chilly enough during our visit that the sheets were very welcome and cozy. My husband and I both slept like babies. I also enjoyed trying out the Italian "sit bath", which I'd never seen before. Each morning, Marla presented us with delicious pastries and hot coffee with steamed milk, as well as lively conversation and good travel tips. We had a wonderful time at Bella Baita and really enjoyed getting to know Marla and Fabrizio, who are great chefs and fine hosts; they were wonderful company and their prices were downright cheap. I get the feeling that the Piedmont region of Italy is a bit underrated, though I can't imagine why.

That said... I will offer a warning that the ride up the mountain may be scary (but worth it) for those who are afraid of heights. The B&B is located on top of a tall mountain and getting there requires driving up a winding road frequented by locals who don't always remember that they aren't the only ones on the road. It's good to have a car if you stay at Bella Baita unless you're planning to spend most of your time hiking or biking.

I wish I had brought warmer clothes with me. The weather is definitely cooler on top of the mountain, even in late May. Definitely bring along at least one pair of pants and a sweater or two. Finally, you may want to make sure you bring toiletries with you, since the B&B is in a remote locale and, beyond hand soap, toiletries are not included. Of course, the lack of amenities like toiletries might be part of the reason why Marla and Fabrizio are able to offer such economical rates to their guests!

Our room may not have been the fanciest one we've ever stayed in, but it was definitely comfortable, quiet, and cozy. One day, we even came back to find a lovely vase of fresh violets waiting for us. We spent nine days in Italy and Switzerland and we count our time at Bella Baita as the definite highlight of our trip! I'm definitely pleased to spread the word about Bella Baita. If you go, make sure you bring your camera and an appetite for good food and even better company!

  • Liked — Food, beautiful views, free wireless Internet access, proximity to different areas
  • Disliked — Unpredicatable weather, slightly scary road
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bgt. Serre Marchetto 1, 10060 Pinasca, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Pinasca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pinasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small inn, 57km (30 miles) SW of Turin in the mountains. We offer a balance of mountain activities and day excursions whilst enjoying the culinary delights of this region. All levels of walking, climbing, and cycling are just outside your door. We offer small custom "Cooking Together" sessions as well. Whether you are looking for relaxation or activities of Val Chisone, our peaceful alpine surroundings make Bella Baita the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.