We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all been said before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pinasca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bgt. Serre Marchetto 1, 10060 Pinasca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pinasca B&B and Inns
Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's all been said before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Bella Baita is very special. Look for luxury? - Don't go. Shopping, boozing, sightseeing? - Don't go: at night you're basically locked in. Mountain scenery, great hosts, slow food? -This is the place for you! We visited BB mid october for 3 nights: off-season, cool weather, autumn colours. Yes, you need a sweater, but there are logs on the fire and good cooks in the kitchen. Hospitality is written in capital letters here. Nothing to complain about, though some adequate bedroom reading lights plus two or three easy chairs in the common room would be welcome when nights are long, specially in an isolated mountain lodge.
Go again? With pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Fabrizio & Marla gave us a warm welcome to their mountain home. They are a hard-working couple who love what they do. They are both professional chefs in their own fields & offer an irresistible combination demonstrating their love & knowledge of local foods. We enjoyed 4 evenings with them & tasted locally grown Piemontese dishes. Their food was complemented by outstanding local wines. On our final day we joined a cookery class with two other couples & appreciated the making of pasta being demonstrated, focaccia, & a stuffed chicken dish & gnocchi. Very well organised (beginning with a trip to the local Pinerolo market to select fresh ingredients). Made our stay memorable.
Fabrizzio has boundless energy & enthusiasm for his way of life & slow food which is infectious. Bella Baita have an excellent website describing how to reach them from Turin Airport. Very detailed & easy to follow. Forget the Tom Tom! The final ascent up to their house is beautiful. Mountain walks & drives to suit all tastes. Would thoroughly recommend taking up the option of having dinner with them in the evenings after a full day’s exploring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaBaita, Owner at Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us and cooking together with us while you were here. We hope you are having success with your focaccia and gnocchi especially We hope you find your way back to us one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Don't hesitate to book this great B&B in the middle of the most beautiful mountains in Italy!
This was our second visit and we are already talking about our next trip. Marla and Fabrizio are great hosts and made us feel like good friends. Oh....and don't forget to book dinner with them.
(and maybe a bit of that red wine too!) Don't let the ride up the mountain deter you from exploring
the region. We enjoyed a visit to Usseaux and Mon Viso (Pian Regina), as well as Sestriere and Pinorolo. What a wonderful trip........and great hosts. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our 3rd visit o the Bella Baita in the last 4 years. We have loved each stay here and the reasons are fairly easy to describe, and almost impossible to duplicate:
1) The owners, Fabrizio and Marla both speak excellent English (Marla hails from the US)
2) They both make you feel right at home immediately.
3) They are both gourmet chefs in their own right, producing some of the most amazing baked breads, pastries and main courses and pizzas on the planet
4) The B and B is secluded, perfectly maintained and incredibly priced
5) They offer cooking classes in English and they both have a rare skill at teaching some of the finer skills needed in the Italian kitchen
6) The hiking from the front door is absolutely beautiful (and strenuous if you'd like)...we climbed a path that had a 360 degree view, but it took 1600 feet of elevation climb and 3 1/2 hour round trip....and it started right at your front door.
7) The beds are super comfortable
8) They have room blackening shades in every bedroom..and I mean it's pitch black... so that at 9 in the morning, you think it's midnight...(great for un jet lagging)
9) The breakfast is to die for...organic fruits, yogurts, granolas, meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, juice, coffee, marmalades...it goes on and on
10) Dinner is also available for an incredibly reasonable price, around 20 or 25 euros per person and this includes every course plus wine and they often offer digestifs as well.

I would highly recommend this beautiful mountain retreat(just a bit challenging to find at first) for every couple, every family, every reunion of college buddies or extended families...it is where we plan to come on each of our successive yearly (Lord willing) Italy vacations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and had fantastic time - great location, beautiful scenery (see our photos!) and excellent hosts.

Highlights for us were...
- the owners Marla and Fabrizio who were exceptional hosts. Friendly, fun and a real pleasure to meet.
- the cooking classes...Marla and Fabrizio are both chefs and during our stay we took two cooking classes; one was in a group and the other was a private lesson. We cooked a three course menu both times and it was great fun and real learning experience. The food was delicious! The kitchen facilities are really professional and clean and as good as any cooking school I have experienced in London.
- the scenery...a short walk from the bed and breakfast are a number of walks with views of the Alps and surrounding towns. A great place for outdoor lovers. We did a few of these and especially enjoyed the walk to the waterfall.
- cheese making and lunch on the mountains...we visited a local cheese maker who also hosted us for lunch. This was a truly unique experience!
- dinner at Lago Laux...there is a beautiful lake a short drive away from the bed and breakfast with a fantastic restaurant (see photo). I'd definately recommend visiting if you stay there a few nights.
- Pinerolo...a really nice traditional town to walk around and do some shopping. Cioccolato-puro is a charming chocolate shop in the centre and worth a visit.

A really enjoyable break with lots to do and see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment we met Fabrizio & Marla at the farmers market in Pinerolo it felt as if we had know each other for years. We took the market to table cooking class and highly recommend it. We shopped the market for the freshest items for the meal and proceeded to their beautiful home located higher up in the mountains. They put together a menu, at my request, so that I could learn how professionals would prepare some of my favorite dishes. They also incorporated my wife's gluten free requests and after hours of cooking, laugher and wine we ate a gluten free meal that was fabulous. I learned so much that day about preparation as well as gluten substitutes that actually taste good.

Despite too much food we soon fell asleep in a comfy, warm bed and awoke the next morning to crsip mountain air and freshly baked items prepared by Marla for breakfast. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was the perfect surprise to celebrate my birthday weekend. If you love spectacular scenery, food full of flavour and discovering new wines that you'll spend a lifetime trying to find again then this is the place for you. It is run by a couple who will seem like your best friends by the time you leave, whether they've taken you on tours of the area, been shopping for fresh ingredients with you in the local Market, shared with you their dreams for redeveloping the local community, enveloped you with their passion for Slow Food and the environment, giggled with you as you try to make pasta, or simply given you advice on what to do in the local area. This one is an absolute must...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bgt. Serre Marchetto 1, 10060 Pinasca, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Pinasca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pinasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small inn, 57km (30 miles) SW of Turin in the mountains. We offer a balance of mountain activities and day excursions whilst enjoying the culinary delights of this region. All levels of walking, climbing, and cycling are just outside your door. We offer small custom "Cooking Together" sessions as well. Whether you are looking for relaxation or activities of Val Chisone, our peaceful alpine surroundings make Bella Baita the perfect choice. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.