We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Descriptions of a Personable, Peaceful and Delicious Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pinasca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bgt. Serre Marchetto 1, 10060 Pinasca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pinasca B&B and Inns
Granite Bay, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“10 Descriptions of a Personable, Peaceful and Delicious Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our 3rd visit o the Bella Baita in the last 4 years. We have loved each stay here and the reasons are fairly easy to describe, and almost impossible to duplicate:
1) The owners, Fabrizio and Marla both speak excellent English (Marla hails from the US)
2) They both make you feel right at home immediately.
3) They are both gourmet chefs in their own right, producing some of the most amazing baked breads, pastries and main courses and pizzas on the planet
4) The B and B is secluded, perfectly maintained and incredibly priced
5) They offer cooking classes in English and they both have a rare skill at teaching some of the finer skills needed in the Italian kitchen
6) The hiking from the front door is absolutely beautiful (and strenuous if you'd like)...we climbed a path that had a 360 degree view, but it took 1600 feet of elevation climb and 3 1/2 hour round trip....and it started right at your front door.
7) The beds are super comfortable
8) They have room blackening shades in every bedroom..and I mean it's pitch black... so that at 9 in the morning, you think it's midnight...(great for un jet lagging)
9) The breakfast is to die for...organic fruits, yogurts, granolas, meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, juice, coffee, marmalades...it goes on and on
10) Dinner is also available for an incredibly reasonable price, around 20 or 25 euros per person and this includes every course plus wine and they often offer digestifs as well.

I would highly recommend this beautiful mountain retreat(just a bit challenging to find at first) for every couple, every family, every reunion of college buddies or extended families...it is where we plan to come on each of our successive yearly (Lord willing) Italy vacations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and had fantastic time - great location, beautiful scenery (see our photos!) and excellent hosts.

Highlights for us were...
- the owners Marla and Fabrizio who were exceptional hosts. Friendly, fun and a real pleasure to meet.
- the cooking classes...Marla and Fabrizio are both chefs and during our stay we took two cooking classes; one was in a group and the other was a private lesson. We cooked a three course menu both times and it was great fun and real learning experience. The food was delicious! The kitchen facilities are really professional and clean and as good as any cooking school I have experienced in London.
- the scenery...a short walk from the bed and breakfast are a number of walks with views of the Alps and surrounding towns. A great place for outdoor lovers. We did a few of these and especially enjoyed the walk to the waterfall.
- cheese making and lunch on the mountains...we visited a local cheese maker who also hosted us for lunch. This was a truly unique experience!
- dinner at Lago Laux...there is a beautiful lake a short drive away from the bed and breakfast with a fantastic restaurant (see photo). I'd definately recommend visiting if you stay there a few nights.
- Pinerolo...a really nice traditional town to walk around and do some shopping. Cioccolato-puro is a charming chocolate shop in the centre and worth a visit.

A really enjoyable break with lots to do and see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment we met Fabrizio & Marla at the farmers market in Pinerolo it felt as if we had know each other for years. We took the market to table cooking class and highly recommend it. We shopped the market for the freshest items for the meal and proceeded to their beautiful home located higher up in the mountains. They put together a menu, at my request, so that I could learn how professionals would prepare some of my favorite dishes. They also incorporated my wife's gluten free requests and after hours of cooking, laugher and wine we ate a gluten free meal that was fabulous. I learned so much that day about preparation as well as gluten substitutes that actually taste good.

Despite too much food we soon fell asleep in a comfy, warm bed and awoke the next morning to crsip mountain air and freshly baked items prepared by Marla for breakfast. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was the perfect surprise to celebrate my birthday weekend. If you love spectacular scenery, food full of flavour and discovering new wines that you'll spend a lifetime trying to find again then this is the place for you. It is run by a couple who will seem like your best friends by the time you leave, whether they've taken you on tours of the area, been shopping for fresh ingredients with you in the local Market, shared with you their dreams for redeveloping the local community, enveloped you with their passion for Slow Food and the environment, giggled with you as you try to make pasta, or simply given you advice on what to do in the local area. This one is an absolute must...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siggiewi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wow what can I say. Price is very reasonable. Location is spectacular and perfect for trekking. Hosts Marla and Fabrizio made us feel so much at home and were so helpful in suggesting great walks and places of interest to visit. Breakfast is abundant, delicious and genuine. Evening 3 course meals are a gastronomic delight again at a very reasonable price when considering that most of what we ate was home made or grown. Fabrizio's grappa is the best that I have tasted. Our comfortable room had breathtaking view of the alps bordering France. Thanks to the good weather we managed a climb to the summits of nearby Mounts Cuccetto and Merla to experience stunning views of the alps and valleys. Yes, definitely worth a wholeheartedly recommendation for 1st class service as well as for the beautiful natural surroundings of the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We 'discovered' Bella Baita last year and have just revisited. We know that they are passionate about their valley so we asked Marla to put a gastronomic itinerary together for us so we have just had 3 days of wonderful eating and drinking experiences. We flew to Turin and Fabrizio picked us up so we didn't have to drive.
Our first day down in the Chisone valley was a visit to a local goat farmer to learn about cheesemaking followed by the most amazing 'light lunch' ever experienced, consisting of platters of his own and local cheese and meats. Marla provided the bread which she makes every day. As if this wasn't enough, we were served up with veg which he had just dug from the garden-and all helped down with a bottle or two of the local red wine. Such a convivial occasion as neighbours called in to chat and eat as well!
Day 2 was a trip to a vineyard to learn a bit about winemaking and of course sample the products. To our surprise we found the table laid up in the bottling room with more local delights -different cheeses( served with local honey) and meats from this part of the valley, with bread and their own cherry jam to finish!
Day 3 morning started with a drive down to Pinerolo market to buy food with Marla for our cooking lesson later that day. Then back up the hill for an inspection of the garden in which Fabrizio grows a lot of their fruit and veg. For our meal that evening we cooked pasta with a sauce, a selection of anti pasti, stuffed peaches and to finish, a jar of home grown cherries steeped in grappa appeared on the table. All washed down with some excellent local wines. Marla creates the cookery course menu on an individual basis so these were our choices.
This was eating and drinking on a very special level. Everything was locally sourced so we felt we were contributing to the local economy and they provided us with an exceptional gastronomic experience.
Go try for your own experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Marla and Fabrizio are the perfect hosts in this absolute gem of a bed and breakfast. Hidden away in stunning countryside, the scenery alone is worth going for. Reasonably priced, the hosts will keep you entertained and comfortable throughout. The food is fantastic, and most comes from their own gardens as well as the surrounding area. This is worth making the trip up into the hills for. Stay for a few nights for the full experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bgt. Serre Marchetto 1, 10060 Pinasca, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Pinasca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pinasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small inn, 57km (30 miles) SW of Turin in the mountains. We offer a balance of mountain activities and day excursions whilst enjoying the culinary delights of this region. All levels of walking, climbing, and cycling are just outside your door. We offer small custom "Cooking Together" sessions as well. Whether you are looking for relaxation or activities of Val Chisone, our peaceful alpine surroundings make Bella Baita the perfect choice. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.