We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pinasca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bgt. Serre Marchetto 1, 10060 Pinasca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pinasca B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was the perfect surprise to celebrate my birthday weekend. If you love spectacular scenery, food full of flavour and discovering new wines that you'll spend a lifetime trying to find again then this is the place for you. It is run by a couple who will seem like your best friends by the time you leave, whether they've taken you on tours of the area, been shopping for fresh ingredients with you in the local Market, shared with you their dreams for redeveloping the local community, enveloped you with their passion for Slow Food and the environment, giggled with you as you try to make pasta, or simply given you advice on what to do in the local area. This one is an absolute must...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
siggiewi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wow what can I say. Price is very reasonable. Location is spectacular and perfect for trekking. Hosts Marla and Fabrizio made us feel so much at home and were so helpful in suggesting great walks and places of interest to visit. Breakfast is abundant, delicious and genuine. Evening 3 course meals are a gastronomic delight again at a very reasonable price when considering that most of what we ate was home made or grown. Fabrizio's grappa is the best that I have tasted. Our comfortable room had breathtaking view of the alps bordering France. Thanks to the good weather we managed a climb to the summits of nearby Mounts Cuccetto and Merla to experience stunning views of the alps and valleys. Yes, definitely worth a wholeheartedly recommendation for 1st class service as well as for the beautiful natural surroundings of the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We 'discovered' Bella Baita last year and have just revisited. We know that they are passionate about their valley so we asked Marla to put a gastronomic itinerary together for us so we have just had 3 days of wonderful eating and drinking experiences. We flew to Turin and Fabrizio picked us up so we didn't have to drive.
Our first day down in the Chisone valley was a visit to a local goat farmer to learn about cheesemaking followed by the most amazing 'light lunch' ever experienced, consisting of platters of his own and local cheese and meats. Marla provided the bread which she makes every day. As if this wasn't enough, we were served up with veg which he had just dug from the garden-and all helped down with a bottle or two of the local red wine. Such a convivial occasion as neighbours called in to chat and eat as well!
Day 2 was a trip to a vineyard to learn a bit about winemaking and of course sample the products. To our surprise we found the table laid up in the bottling room with more local delights -different cheeses( served with local honey) and meats from this part of the valley, with bread and their own cherry jam to finish!
Day 3 morning started with a drive down to Pinerolo market to buy food with Marla for our cooking lesson later that day. Then back up the hill for an inspection of the garden in which Fabrizio grows a lot of their fruit and veg. For our meal that evening we cooked pasta with a sauce, a selection of anti pasti, stuffed peaches and to finish, a jar of home grown cherries steeped in grappa appeared on the table. All washed down with some excellent local wines. Marla creates the cookery course menu on an individual basis so these were our choices.
This was eating and drinking on a very special level. Everything was locally sourced so we felt we were contributing to the local economy and they provided us with an exceptional gastronomic experience.
Go try for your own experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Marla and Fabrizio are the perfect hosts in this absolute gem of a bed and breakfast. Hidden away in stunning countryside, the scenery alone is worth going for. Reasonably priced, the hosts will keep you entertained and comfortable throughout. The food is fantastic, and most comes from their own gardens as well as the surrounding area. This is worth making the trip up into the hills for. Stay for a few nights for the full experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

There is a reason that this place has such impeccable reviews, it's amazing! We stayed here for five nights at the end of July and wished that we stayed longer. The hosts, the food, the view, everything was beyond what we could have ever hoped for at any price, but especially at 55 euros/double. We felt as we have were visiting good friends in Italy. Not only that, but we had a wonderful time discovering all the gems tucked away in Chizone and Susa valley as well as Saluzzo and Manta castle - most impressive frescoes inside of that one. We decided to do a "Market to table" class and are we glad we did! It was so much fun, not to mention the meal afterwards, which was delicious. Stay here if you want to experience the real hospitality and the real Italy without the hordes of Rick Steves' fans :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice room, beautiful surroundings, great walks, and the tastiest food! What more could you want? Thanks to the two great hosts, I hope I'll be back.

That was the most important stuff, but I have 200 words to fill. We drove up from Turin airport which was quick and easy, although the last bit is a narrow mountain road. Lacking a car would be more difficult, but should be no obstacle to staying here! Welcomed with a glass of iced tea, we were then recommended a place to lunch by the owners (Osteria Setteponti), from where we walked down to the river and had a paddle in the mountain water. The next day we went on one of the walks that leave right from the hotel door up to the Cucetto peak, which was an enjoyable baptism to the area. Our final day was spent walking around the “13 Laghi”, a collection of lakes which we reached by chairlift from Prali. This was unforgettable, not least because of the sunburn!

Twice we ate with the hosts, and each time they laid on course upon course of delightful food. Our fellow guests were a pleasure to dine with also.

Just wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Bella Baita is a wonderful B and B, with lovely views and the most fantastic chef and teacher! We had a wonderful day with Marla at the markets and then preparing food. Marla, an excellent and flexible chef, carefully picked a personalised menu for us to learn and it was Fabulous! Thank you so much!! A great experience and place to stay (I even slept in the same room as John Malkovich once did!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bgt. Serre Marchetto 1, 10060 Pinasca, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Pinasca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pinasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small inn, 57km (30 miles) SW of Turin in the mountains. We offer a balance of mountain activities and day excursions whilst enjoying the culinary delights of this region. All levels of walking, climbing, and cycling are just outside your door. We offer small custom "Cooking Together" sessions as well. Whether you are looking for relaxation or activities of Val Chisone, our peaceful alpine surroundings make Bella Baita the perfect choice. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Baita Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.