We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great foods, pretty setting, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forge Restaurant

The Forge Restaurant
Carreterra de Casares Km 9.8, 29690 Casares, Spain
+34 952 89 51 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Casares
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great foods, pretty setting, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited The Forge on the recommendation of our host Alex at the nearby (excellent) DDG Retreat. From start to finish the service was attentive but never intrusive with helpful recommendations on both food and wine.
Our party enjoyed outstanding main courses of duck, wild boar and the most tender lamb dish I've had for a long while.
The wine suggestion was also excellent and had we had more days in the area we would definitely pay The Forge another visit (we tried but it was a Monday when the restaurant is apparently closed). When it came to the bill we were pleasantly surprised to find it was considerably less than a lunch we'd had at Purobeach and in terms of food quality there was no comparison. A fantastic find off the beaten track nestling in a beautiful setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    13
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinique
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Atmospheric country setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is not Spanish cooking.If you want that then go to a 'venta'. This place is purely wonderfull. Set on the top of a breezy hill surrounded by trees and in the summer you have the sweet music of insect all around. Talking of music, wonderfull soft jazz in the background too. Out side or in you will be amazed! The decoration is so fitting to the place, so much good taste, and did I say good taste? With your aperitif they serve a platter of vegetable dips and olives, so pleasant not to have to ask for it. Everything is well presented. The food is excellent the service friendly. You can also have a drink at the bar before taking your table, this is nice in the winter as they have a fire alight. In the summer eat out but if there is no space don't worry inside is just as pleasant and airy as the window can be opened wide. For adepts of english Sunday lunch they do a very good one. On week days they have a 'menu del dia'. Must book as it is always full. Very lovely people that run this place bravo!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We turned up at this restaurant without booking in the evening to be told it didn't open evenings until later on in the season but to call back for lunch - the owners had just finished lunches and were having their own meal so we were embarrassed at disturbing them but they were both lovely and friendly and wanted to ensure that they could welcome us back. We booked for a late lunch the following day. Lovely staff, all British on the day - lovely relaxed terrace at the back of the restaurant ( I could have stayed there all day if they had let me) and the food was great, good quality fresh and delicious. Definitely worth a visit - wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming finca, hidden jewel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a surprise to find this wonderful friendly restaurant in the hills near Casares. Luckily for me, some Spanish friends found this ideal spot some years ago and I have become a regular. I gave a birthday lunch recently for 22 on the terrace and all the guests were amazed by the country setting, delicious and original food, the impeccable and friendly service. Congratulations to owners Mike and Athene. One feels as if you are miles from anywhere in this romantic countryside setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hilltop delight,good hearty food,friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The restaurant is just outside Casares up a a short track. Plenty of outside seating and inside a couple of dining rooms as well as a small cosy bar,indoor is quirky but comfortable with lots of interesting Jazz posters a passion for the owner and chef. Menu is varied with daily specials,sadly no children's menu but still plenty for them to choose from.For starters the prawns with a cocktail sauce were well presented and tasty,melon and Parma ham plentiful and fresh,the devils on horseback .chicken livers wrapped in crispy bacon were Devine and the homemade pâté was delicious and plentiful.The mains were equally hearty,then Durban lamb madras was not too hot but tender,served with an interesting array of accompaniments,the duck with orange sauce was superb,the salmon was faultless with fluffy rice and the Moroccan chicken with couscous was delicious and a good portion. Service was friendly and efficient and very accommodating
Prices were reasonable given the portion sizes and quality.
All in all a very enjoyable experience we look forward to returning for more of the same

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forge Restaurant also viewed

Casares, Costa del Sol
Casares, Costa del Sol
 
Casares, Costa del Sol
 

Been to The Forge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.