We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Hondo

Arroyo Hondo
Carretera de Casares Km. 10, 29690 Casares, Spain
+34 952895152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Casares
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Estepona, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

On a lovely summers evening there is nothing better than dining at Arroyo Hondo, the menu and service is exceptional. Day time enjoy the menu del dia, we have many times and it is brilliant. Ok getting there is not easy but great fun driving up the mountain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    44
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I have been to this restaurant twice in the last few months and both times the food and service were great.
The food is European/international and is very tasty. The menu del dia is fantastic value for money and the full menu is good value too.
It's a little bit of a trek to get to, which in itself isn't really an issue, I'd just suggest booking first to save any disappointment if you make the trip into the mountains.
Well worth a visit, especially during great weather, mid week for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Aroyo Hondo Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Aroyo Hondo is an excellant restaurant, when my car wouldnt start they drove me home, I dont think they will fall for that one again though. Food is international and good, at a fair price.
Wine list is good . We are so lucky with so many good restaurants in the area. Nearly all charming in their own way, with a common theme of charming friendly staff and great cuisine of different styles , I have been visiting for about ten years and cannot remember ever being disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“'Don't rest on your laurels'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arroyo Hondo has an excellent reputation which is genuinely warranted.Nevertheless, the actual dining room needs an upgrade/clean to compliment the excellent food and service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For us, definitely the number one in the Estepona/Casares area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a Yorkshireman, as is the Chef Christian, I always look for the best equilibrium between price and quality. On this basis, the Arroyo Hondo has no equal in the area. An excellent three course meal with wine for two can be had for around €100.

There is an extensive menu which changes regularly. The food is mainly European with one or two dishes with an Asian flavour. For those who must have an English roast on a Sunday, there is usually a choice of two or three with, as you would expect, genuine Yorkshire puddings. Dishes are very much "nouvelle cuisine", beautifully presented, but unlike some establishments the quantities are ample and you do not leave feeling like having a snack shortly afterwards.

The location is superb with lovely views of the mountains in the Casares area. There is a large patio for dining outside in good weather.

The welcome is always friendly and personal, usually with the Japanese lady owner Noriko (whose husband, Christian, is the chef) leading the front of the house team. Another test of a well run establishment is how it retains its staff and most of those in Arroyo Hondo have been there for many years.

We have been going regularly for some ten years and have never had a poor meal. The only slight reservation I have is that service can be a little slow out of season on Thursday nights. This is usually the least busy time and probably they find it hard to estimate the number of staff required.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arroyo Hondo also viewed

Casares, Costa del Sol
Casares, Costa del Sol
 
Casares, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Arroyo Hondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Hondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.