We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos Normand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Clos Normand to your Saves list
Le Clos Normand
89, Rue Pasteur, 14750 Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were in Normandy recently and stayed at Le Clos Normand. Although the room and bathroom were small, it was clean and well located. We had a room overlooking the beach and with the windows open we had a spectacular view. The restaurant serves excellent fare - the desserts are out of this world. The staff were great - friendly and knowledgeable. If we ever return to this part of France, we'll be sure to stay at this hotel. The food is excellent, the location is perfect, the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly (even to us non French speaking clientele). What more could you want?

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beach offer great views but nighttime revelers can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    20
    20
    8
See reviews for
23
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of April 2012, after having visited Saint Aubin Sur Mer last October and staying elsewhere. What a mistake to book with this hotel.

We booked via a well known internet site and I specifically requested a sea facing room, but on arrival we were shown a room at the side of the hotel and on asking about my specific request they advised they had emailed us about that and received no response back from us. Of course we couldn't check that as we had no access to our emails on holiday and on return home, there wasn't any email from them.

What can I say about this hotel?

It doesn't smell good. They say its non smoking but every day it was easily evident to smell cigarettes in the hallway. Added to that was stale smells such as cooking. Not nice.

The entrance foyer. Is so dated. Has awful red net curtains up at the windows and dirty dated carpet and furniture.

The room - the walls were so thin we could here the TV in the next room and the couple talking to their dog.

Yes, onto pets. A couple in the next room to us had their dog with them. Not such an issue but it was when they took it to the dining room every time they ate.

However, this all pales into insignificance when on the second evening we decided to book a table for dinner in the evening. The menu looked great. I asked for the ravioli and was told they didn't have any. My partner asked about the steak and was told it came with pasta (odd choice and on suggesting french fries we were given a withering look, so he ordered the veal instead which again came with yes you guessed it - pasta). The starters arrived. Mine was langustines with grapefruit salad and toasted bread. It wasn't good with soggy toast and a pretty lame excuse for a salad. I advised the waitress it wasn't very nice but she wasn't interested and did nothing about it.
On to the main course. One veal with pasta and one lamb. The veal and pasta were mediocre. But the lamb? It was a huge rib of lamb which hadn't been cooked correctly, so that on attempting to cut it was difficult but to eat ? Forget it. I spat out the first mouthful. My partner felt the same. Remember this was a 25-28 euro meal. It wasn't some burger from McDonalds it was meant to be exceptional cooking (we'd paid much less in another restaurant the night before and the food was amazing). We explained to the waitress it wasn't edible. She fled. The other waitress came she couldn't understand what our issue was, instead she contacted the Hotel owner.
Here the evening went into what can only be described as a scene from Faulty Towers. The Hotel owner appeared and his first words to us were "I wasn't meant to be working this evening, I was at home with my children" in other words how dare you disturb me. What a rude and inconsiderate thing to say to guests in your hotel? He listened to our complaint and we advised him we wouldn't pay for the meal - and he sneered that other people had eaten the lamb that evening and didn't complain and that "he knew his chef" we argued that he should find the meal and taste it and let us know. He said he'd get right onto it. Instead he waltzed off speaking to other french guests in the dining room acting all friendly and like you would expect a Hotel owner to act.
Eventually around 20 minutes later he came back to us, no apology, no offer of anything else to eat, no drink on the house, no explanation, nothing. His last words "I wish you a good evening " through grated teeth and not in the least bit sincere.

I should also add here not one member of staff in the restaurant offered us any other food, or apology they just ignored us as though we'd committed a crime. No deserts or coffee or would you like to order... Just ignored. so rude.

We left disgusted.

In the morning when we went to leave and pay our bill he appeared from the bar area, with a croissant stuffed in his mouth watching as we asked for the invoice. There again were no apologies.

Awful owner, wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: dont bother going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Wonderful stay. Food, rooms and staff were great. Rooms were pretty small but still had a lot of charm, and I can't really complain because the ocean was literally right outside my window, haha. Food was incredible. Staff were very friendly and helpful, always went the extra mile.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

The first thing we did when we got to our room (which had a lovely 'beachy' decor) was open the window and let in the smell of the sea. We didn't have a room directly facing the beach but on the side but could still see the water without having to lean out the window too far. The room was fine although the shower cubicle was the tiniest I have ever used and the walls were paper thin - could hear everything the two old ladies were saying in the next room - including hearing one sing the other to sleep! We had a half board booking so had dinner in the dining room which was absolutely fantastic - a lovely view of the water and the waitress was very good at explaining what everything was (my basic French is not good when it comes to seafood dishes). Everything was delicious and of good quality and quantity as was breakfast the following morning. Our delightful stay was topped off by a romp with a very friendly puppy in the pretty garden on our way to our car (parking available out the back as well as along the side street).

Room Tip: Book half board - great value and great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent two nights in this lovely hotel. The best aspect of the hotel is its location directly facing the beach with just the promenade in front of it. A sea view room is worth paying for. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere of the hotel was very welcoming. We had dinner in the hotel one evening and found the food excellent though typically rich. We struggled to finish and had to abandon the Tarte Tatin. Our room was small but comfortable and although the bathroom was small, the shower was good. One criticism was that the soundproofing could have been better in the rooms.
St Aubin itself is quite small but it is well located for visiting the surrounding area, particularly the D-Day beaches.

Room Tip: A sea view room is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Le Clos Normand is located right on the boardwalk. In fact, its terrasse is on the beach side of the boardwalk. Our rooms were Channel-side and offered a delightful breath of salt air and great view. The rooms are tiny as are the bathrooms, and there is sign of age, but everything was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The dining room is outstanding! All hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Request rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

I loved this hotel! I had the chance to stay three nights at this hotel while touring Normandy and loved my stay. The hotel and rooms were spotless, my bathroom had recently been renovated to a high standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos Normand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Normand

Address: 89, Rue Pasteur, 14750 Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Clos Normand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Normand Hotel Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos Normand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.