We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of those meals you remember as a couple.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marmitiere - CLOSED

La Marmitiere
38 Port, 34140 Meze, France
0467438499
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“One of those meals you remember as a couple.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Amazing food, value, service and location. We often talk about our meal here. We just popped in as another local favourite wad quite bust and had a wonderful evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently had lunch here one very rainy saturday and could not have enjoyed it more. Very atmospheric 12th centurydining room with vaulted ceiling and friendly service, coupled with good food and a bottle of Les Yeuses viognier made this a memorable experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful resturant, average food, charming service, hefty prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Located close to the port Le Marmitiere is a romantic resturant with attentive and charming waiters, they have a good selection of wine and food but unfortunatly none of the above lives up to the hefty price tags in the menu.

The cheapest wine was 14 euro for 50cl. It was good but not brilliant.

The 3 dish courses was 28 euro pr. Person. The starters was nicely presented but lacked any inspiring taste, the main courses was the biggest dissapointment, they had the petite size of the starters and was simply not worthy of a resturant trying to reach a top level. I had viele and got served with a small portion of pasta with olive oil and two very small cuts of viele.

It tasted as pasta does and the meat was good but there was nothing in the dish to justify the price, if i wanted pasta and meat i could cook it at home myself.

Desserts was alright and presented on large plates, a cone of sorbet ice cream, some fruits, a small creme brule and two small plastic cups of caramel, pudding and strawberry pudding.


If the main courses had been bigger and better i could live with the price but for a small portion of simple pasta and meat it did not live up to the expectations or prices.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
449 reviews 449 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“I respectfully disagree ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

... with the owner and with previous review reports. The quality of the harbour restaurants might be uneven (we simply recommend to go to Bouzigues), we have not seen many convincing arguments to go back to this restaurant. We had already gauged this restaurant two years ago, and immediately felt some kind of difference. Was it the sloppy menu stapled on pink pages on the terrace fence? Was it the laundry hanging from the opposite house?
We made the mistake of choosing a table on the terrace. Every car that came by stopped to have a chat with the owner... with running engines. The exhaust of these cars were less than one meter away from our plates ...
Well, we cannot say that service was not friendly and efficient. Even the food was decent. But it is all about these details that can ruin a romantic evening. Like the (extremely friendly) owner talking too much about his own topics, instead of showing real interest in us. Hint for owners and waiters: when clients start a conversation, just follow the thread ... and go on with your work.
We had the Menu Plaisir at 28 € (tartare de tomates, mélanges de fruits de mer, burger de thon, brochettes de viandes à la plancha et le sphère gourmand as desert). Decent, not really delicious.
The accompanying wines (Les Yeuses white and red) were more than acceptable.
The XIII century interior of this restaurant is very beautiful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best in town -- no doubt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

forget the similarly menued eating establishments around the pretty harbour..fine for location but not for inspiring eating... only 30m off the harbour in a side street is la marmitiere where very good food is served in a wonderful setting accompanied by considerate service..different class.. great lunchtime deals...dearer but still value in the evening.. do try you will not be disappointed..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marmitiere also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marmitiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.