We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Rising Moon'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farr Out Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Farr Out Guesthouse to your Saves list
Farr Out Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   17 Seemeeu Crescent | Pelgrimsrust, Paternoster 7381, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 nights pay for 3!
Ranked #5 of 18 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“'Rising Moon'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was looking for a unique and memorable experience for my partner's 30th birthday and this is exactly what we got at Farr Out! It was wonderful, clean, well-equipped, superb breakfast and an absolute pleasure overall.
Thank you Deon and Marion!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks so much Gabriella. We always like when our guests want to surprise their partners, makes it a bit more exciting! Hope to see you some time back to enjoy our Hot Tub!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    38
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Many thanks to Marion and Dion for their warm welcome on our arrival at Farr Out and their hospitality throughout our stay. The location was superb and the breakfasts were plentiful & delicious. Their recommendations to the local restaurants were spot on. We loved Paternoster and it will certainly be one of the places we will return to in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Wow, what a fantastic rating you gave us. Thanks so much for it. Maybe next time you should consider staying in our Wigwam combined with the Hot Tub? Perfect now without any winds and sunny days. All the best. Marion and Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It was just a perfect weekend, we felt very much welcomed by our hosts Marion and Deon.
The beach buggy tour early in the morning with Deon was simply wonderful, and to end a perfect day in the hot tub gazing at the stars was fantastic. Our 6-year-old son enjoyed himself very much in this little paradise. The room was very nice, good breakfast.
Great value!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hallo Christine und Dietmar. Lieben Dank für Euren netten Kommentar, hat uns sehr gefreut. Besonders Deon möchte von nun doch öfter die Beach Buggy Touren auch vor dem Frühstück anbieten, da dies doch ein völlig anderes Erlebnis ist. Genießt noch die wenige Zeit, die Euch bleibt, in Kapstadt. Vielleicht solltet Ihr noch ein Winter Paternoster Erlebnis vor Abreise einlegen...Liebe Grüße Marion und Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was my birthday the day we arrived at Farr Out and Marion had a special surprise for me which had been arranged by my son and daughter-in-law, and put together by Marion. My husband and I enjoyed birthday cake and a bottle of wine which she had organised. Both Marion and Deon were friendly hosts, sharing their knowledge of the area and suggesting places to visit and things to do. We enjoyed the relaxation in the fine room and the fun things in the garden. The birds at the nectar feeders were a treat to watch. A very pleasant visit and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hope you'll have lots of more surprise birthdays in your life and some of them maybe even at Farr Out again...It's always such an exciting feeling to see into "surprise" faces...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in the Black and White mussel rooms at the end of January 2013 and had a wonderful time. Breakfast was delicious, prepared by Deon and we really enjoyed the scenery. Our son was just over 1 year at the time and some of his clothes were dirty ofcourse. Marion was so kind to offer to wash his clothes (@Marion: did we by any chance leave a dark shirt behind ;-)?). Unfortunately we could not do the braai because there was too much wind but we just had some drinks in the tipi tent which was also fine. The only little downside could be that the B&B is not located near the beach but overall experience was perfect. Marion and Deon, thank you very much for your hospitality. We would love to come more often but unfortunately Dubai and the Netherlands are not around the corner. Who knows, maybe we will see you in the future..........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello to the Loos family! Yes, indeed, a black shirt stayed behind but found out only to late to let you know. Sorry, hope it was ok to give it one of our staff members who has similar age child as yours?Next time we'll switch wind off so that you can thoroughly enjoy the true West Coast. We chose Farr Out for a reason to be a little bit out of town as it can become rather crowded in season. At the smallholding we can still maintain the peaceful feeling around us. Hope to welcome all of you again some time! all the best in Dubai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a great time staying in this very cute place called "farr out" in Paternoster.
We absolutely can recommend it to everyone.
It's lovely decorated and the host couple are very friendly and make you feel like your at home.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Google Translation
Hallo Annika und Marcel. Vielen Dank für Eure freundliche Beurteilung, ist auch von unserer Seite immer wieder super, wenn wir so nette Gäste wie Euch haben! Wir hoffen auf ein Wiedersehen, wer weiss, dann ja vielleicht doch im Wigwam???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokelrehm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is a very nice Place. So lovely all things in the rooms and a wonderful garden.
Look at the homepage from far out and rent the Wigwam or the hot Tube. Lovely greetings from Ute and Klaus from Germany

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarrOutGuesthouse, Owner at Farr Out Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hallo Ute und Klaus. Vielen Dank für Eure Beurteilung. Wir hoffen, dass Ihr beim nächsten Mal länger bleibt und noch mehr genießen könnt! War schön mit Euch. Liebe Grüße. Marion und Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Farr Out Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farr Out Guesthouse

Address: 17 Seemeeu Crescent | Pelgrimsrust, Paternoster 7381, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Farr Out Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The few minutes drive from Paternoster 'Center' to Farr Out is not what you would exactly call far. But when you arrive in this sandy bushveld wilderness, you do feel pleasingly remote. Crunching up the glinting shell pathway you can see across an indigenous garden and right out to sea. Catch the glimpse of the last manned lighthouse of South Africa situated in nearby Cape Columbine Nature Reserve or listen to the foghorn and cuddle up.Go on; be extravagant, enjoy your vacation! Four luxury rooms PLUS our new Wigwam Rising Moon will make your stay comfortable and unforgettable in our guesthouse. Your hosts speak English, German and Afrikaans.The perfect 'off the beaten track' breakaway. About 2 hours from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Farr Out Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farr Out Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.