We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a magic place to visit!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paternoster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Camp
Save
You added The Beach Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Columbine Nature Reserve, Paternoster, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a magic place to visit!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have visited and stayed at the Beach camp many times - too many to remember - since 2002. Over the years, I have seen it grown into a most precious, magic spot where you can relax and rejuvinate. The owners and their staff are very friendly and welcoming, and take tremendous care to maintain this camp that is so exposed to the relentless West Coast elements of sun, sea, salt and south easter. Granted, it is not the Hilton - and that is its magic. It has a rustic, timeless feel but I stilll call it camping in luxury - no tents to make (and I slept in them while raining as recent as September 2011, never came across a leak), sleeping on beds with linen provided, no cooking gear to to haul along.... Visitors to the west coast will be missing out if you don't experience this place. It is my favourite getaway out of the city at least three times a year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    1
    6
    0
See reviews for
2
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I went to The Beach Camp for December holidays and wow, what a fun, relaxing, friendly place. The warm welcome and cold beer was a great start, and my tent, all be it rustic, was exactly what the doc ordered after a long work year. A view of the ocean, the sound of the waves and the joy of no loud music blaring in the back round. With the staff knowing all from the plants, weather (always spot on!!!) and the stars, to funny camp stories, jokes and fire making skills made for some very humorous evenings!
You got to go there to experience it!!!

I thank them all for making me feel like one of the family, be it only for a few days!!

Room Tip: Tent 5 or 7!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Peet & Sonja are awesome hosts, however I feel that they have lost interest in the tidiness and maintenance of what could be an amazing getaway from the everyday lifestyle. Putting up with no electricity and eco freindly toilets would not be an issue at all if the place was kept in shape, which it is not. The price you do pay for getting away from the rat race is really not worth what you get in return. R620-00 per night in a cramped tent is not worth it at all. Their bar rates are also extremely expensive. I had also requested meals when I made my initial booking and did not have any as they forgot to cater for me.

Tidy the place up, pull out the weeds and restore the so called herb garden, do a couple of repairs,wash down the kitchen area as well as the utensils, throw away the old mattresses that are scattered about the premises and it won't look like an expensive squatter camp

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The one thing The Beach Camp has going for it is location. It is on the beach and you wake up to the waves crashing outside your tent in the morning. We booked for 2 nights and ended up leaving after the first night. The R620 per night for the A frame tent is way to expensive. The tents have seen better days and are not all waterproof. The sheets have holes in. The toilets are eco toilets which are great but they have seen better days. We ordered oysters but they never materialized - not sure what would happen if one actually ordered a meal. When it is cold and wet there is no-where dry to hide out and warm up - they have a lovely under cover wood stove but there is only space for about 6 people around it. The whole place feels a bit shabby which is a pity as it could be the most fantastic "away from it all" nature spot. Basically I would go back but would not pay more than R300 for an A frame tent per night. At R620 one expects a certain standard and The Beach Camp does not provide that.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

It was an extremely special experience to stay at the Beach Camp, in a good way. At the end of a seemingly endless dirt road, you'll find the Beach Camp, tucked away between big pink boulders. There's no electricity and everything's made out of wreck wood. You can sleep in an A-frame (which is a wooden tent with a double bed) or a tent. Any closer to the sea and you'd be wet! Waking up is opening your tent and look out over the sea.
Freedom, one of the managers is relaxed and helpful and at the bar there is electricity to keep the beers and softdrinks cold :-) There's not much to do in the evenings when it's dark, but there are some boardgames and with a cool beer in your hand, you can chat the night away with fellow travelers around the bonfire or braai. The only downside we experienced was that there were a lot of not so well-raised, very loud kids! Otherwise: excellent location, great staff, wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Take an A-frame, definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We had a two night stay at the Beach Camp. What a stunning place. Great place for nature lovers. We stayed in an A-frame tented room. The ocean comes to your doorstep. The Beach Camp is eco-friendly so there is no electricity but you have hot water showers and clean eco-friendly non-funky smelling loos. Peet, Sonja and Freedom will take good care of you to make sure you get the most out of your stay. We enjoyed morning Sea kayaking in Paternoster and also boulder hopping in the reserve. Would definitely go again and recommend it to nature lovers, eco-friendlies.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

If there was one place in the world that I could call home, it would be beachcamp! Had the best time of my life there over new-years, the crew was unbelievably friendly and all have the most chilled persona's you can expect from a bunch of beach-bums;-)

From the moment I landed there, I relieved everything deeded to be at my uttermost comfort. Situated right on the beach, on a shoreline of granite rocks, I couldn't ask for a better view. When I eventually got to bed after the new-years party, I was soundly lulled of to sleep by sounds of the ocean.

At first, I didn't know quite what to do with myself, it's so calm and quiet!! But I soon discovered the giant catapult, appropriately known as the 'beachcamp playstation'. After a stunning walk accross the rocks and experiencing raw untouched nature, I felt completely at home (who wouldn't, it's in our nature..) and could really start enjoying the beachcamp for what it is.

To anyone who would like to break away, and find their roots again, this is definiately the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Camp

Address: Columbine Nature Reserve, Paternoster, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paternoster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Paternoster
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Any closer to the water, and you will get wet... Situated in a Nature Reserve on the wild Atlantic Ocean, surrounded by pink Granite rock lies this hidden gem. Accommodation is rustic in A-Frames or Tents with comfy beds, pillows and pillow slips (bring own sleeping bag or duvet). Hang out in a hammock in Chill Cove or enjoy a drink at The Beach Bar which is for residents-only. Don't forget to bring your sunblock. You are welcome to self-cater or we can do meals & Oysters for you - booked a week in advance.Facilities include hot showers, Eco-friendly toilets, no electricity, communal equipped kitchen, ablutions, Residents-Only bar with the first Yerba Maté bar in Africa.Life is a beach, and then you braai... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.