We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place in Paternoster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abalone House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abalone House & Spa to your Saves list
Abalone House & Spa
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster 7381, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A special place in Paternoster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a truly wonderful weekend at Abalone House in the beautiful little village of Paternoster. I was very impressed with the friendly service and the attention to detail was exceptional. The high tea and dinner also deserved a special mention. The guest house is beautifully decorated and exudes a feeling of luxury in a relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egmonddp d, Public Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back at Abalone House soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    27
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
120
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We loved everything about the Guest House... the beautiful eclectic furnishings, stunning Art work, all the little touches (coffee machines in the rooms, the wonderful huge comfy beds, the warmth from the heated floors & towel rails, the beautiful views) and then we felt spoilt at every turn, starting with the yummy Afternoon Teas, to the snacks on the Bar, to the fabulous Dinner in the In-house Restaurant, to the amazing Breakfast in the morning. The views were incredible and the best Sunset we've ever seen! I am a Wedding Co-ordinator and will definitely be bringing weddings to this perfect venue!

Room Tip: The rooms on the Roof level - best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were 8 couples celebrating my birthday (weekend :D), and we stayed for two nights at Abalone House. The service was excellent, the food very very good! Our ever-present waiter (which we nicknamed Japie) was brilliant. Hats off to all the personnel for coping very well with 16 people, and making my birthday a very memorable one! Eventhough all the rooms do not have a sea-view, the decor and ambience of the rooms made up for it, and of course the filter coffee machine in each room...Not cheap, but it was worth every cent if you are looking for something special or to spoil someone special. Do not take the kids with...!

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon room - the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Paternoster is such a magnet for traveller's to the Western Cape and offers lots of accommodation options, but for a truely superb and pampered stay, we can highly recommend ABALONE HOUSE. From the moment we arrived we were faced with superb elevated views of the beach and sea and a most special High Tea, superb breakfasts with delicious treats that you would never have at home! Dinner is also a fantasy of indulgence. Our room was very spacious and ever so comfortable with underfloor heating in the bathrooms and super size bed. We enjoyed the hi-tech gadgets, music, dvd library etc.
Very peacefull and calm, with the occassional quack from "Christmas " and "Thanks-Giving" who are the resident Ducks living in a corner of the garden.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

To come across such a magnificent guest house in Paternoster is unspoken of.
This has been the best service, friendliest most sufficient staff that one can think of.
I will come back again and again to this tranquil home.
The rooms are spacious and have all the modern corns one can think of I even had a place for my Ipod- they where surely thinking of the younger generation we they did the fittings, Great all around food variety of drinks - YOU CAN NOT DO BETTER IN TOWN!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, aus
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The service here was very friendly. Kiethlan who looked after us was magnificent. Every time you turn around Kiethlan is there smiling away - serving you breakfast, afternoon tea, dinner, carrying your bags, organising your drinks in the bar - the guy deserves a medal.

Our party of four were all pretty crestfallen when we saw our rooms. To be fair, our travel agent had booked us the cheaper rooms - not sure if the others would have been better though. Our rooms were small, had a strong mildew smell and were pretty dark and dreary. When we asked if we could move to rooms with sea views, we were told that the general manager and owner had these rooms.

The restaurant, Saffron, was lovely though. We had dinner there one night and very much enjoyed it. The common rooms were very "eclectic" in their decor and not really to my taste.

We did however enjoy our time in Paternoster. It's a funny little town but I'm just not sure that Abalone House is what it says on the box. If you're looking for a nice-ish B&B with good food then great. If you're expecting a fancy boutique hotel, I wouldn't recommend it. That said, I suspect this may be the best that Paternoster has to offer...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Abalone House & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

Abalone House has been decorated by renowned interior designed Dawid Strauss. The eclectic feel of Abalone House has been incorporated in all of the rooms.

Our apologies for not being able to accommodate you in a room with a sea view. This room has in fact been occupied by the owner for a reason: the room has wooden floors and is situated directly above restaurant. This causes the room not to be soundproof and all the noise from the restaurant below comes directly into the room. It is also located directly next to the rooftop Jacuzzi and its noisy motor is a disturbance to the room. We do not want our guests to experience a restless night and have thus closed off the room.

We have compensated the seaviews with in-room luxuries, such as an ipod docking station, espresso/cuppacino machine, wifi facilities, high quality interiors and private verandah. The Jacuzzi offers a great sea view and we also offer guests the pleasures of our solar heated pool and magnificent gardens. Exceptional dining facilities are of the highest standard to give our guests the experience of a lifetime.

We strive for the highest standard of service and ask feedback from all our guests to continuesly improve on our standard of service.

We offer 5 star service and some of the highlights at Abalone House include our exquisite High Tea served from 3-4pm. We have also just completed butler training with all staff to improve on our service even more.

Once again our apologies and we trust that you understand why we could not offer you a sea-view room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had a faultless stay at Abalone House. Everything was perfect and the surrounding area is beautiful. The jaccuzzi looking over to the ocean was just amazing and we had such a relaxing stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abalone House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone House & Spa

Address: 3 Kriedoring Street, Paternoster 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Abalone House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone House & Spa offers five star luxuries with serious seaside appeal. The boutique hotel is an eclectic visual tapestry of texture and authentic colours of Africa cocooned within a central poolside courtyard. Disappear into this world of genuine South African hospitality and be indulged. A 90-minute drive from Cape Town, Abalone House offers city-weary dwellers and discerning travellers an unashamedly sumptuous beachside escape, where extravagance and guest comforts take precedence. Feast at the bistro-style Reuben's at Abalone House, celebrity chef Reuben Riffel's West Coast offering that elevates this Paternoster destination to a new level of luxury escapism. The Healing Earth Spa offers ancient African traditions of healing and energy where pampering and rejuvenation await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Abalone House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone House Hotel Paternoster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abalone House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.