We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Paternoster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paternoster Lodge

Paternoster Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paternoster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paternoster Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   64 St Augustine Road, Paternoster 7381, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Cape Town
1 review
“Weekend in Paternoster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The friendly and pleasant staff. The food and accommodation were very good with a view that is amazing.
The lodge is very well located and obviously has a good reputation for breakfast and supper as it was supported by many

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were welcomed with a smile and presented with a room and food that exceeded our expectations. Paternoster, in short, is a small drinking town with serious fishing problem. It is a definite must for anyone that wants to experience authentic South African seafood while having a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Paternoster Lodge is situated walking distance from the beach, the Panty Bar,Art Gallery, Oep vi Koep and other attractions. The rooms are comfortable and neat. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The only thing we would have liked is a choclate on our pillows at turndown, which we expect from a 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The premises are very well kept and the bedrooms tastefully furnished. The bathroom is well appointed with both a shower and a bath and heater lamps in the ceiling. Bliss on a cold spring morning! A TV is provided but the bonus is a huge screen in the events room where we enjoyed a raucous rugby match viewing. The dining area has a verandah with a great view across the wide, sweeping beach and bay. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A group of us had been on the Wellington wine walk and then drove up the west coast to this quaint little village, Paternoster. Its an easy, pleasant hour and a half from Cape Town. From the green valley of Wellington surrounded by mountains the fynbos covered dunes, white beaches and limestone cottages were an interesting contrast. The rooms are immaculately clean, all had sea views, a bath and a shower en suite. Wide choice for breakfast overlooking the beach and fishermen rowing out with their nets in colourful wooden boats. One can eat other meals in the restaurant or walk to numerous other restaurants nearby. Friendly helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

very soothing and the setting realy satifies the stressed feelings i terms of a ""relieve "" not sure if this desribes it well .thanks very much i realy appreciated my stay and the staff was extremely helpfull . they even gave suggestions when asked when most people could not care less they have this i care attitude

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked in for just one night en route to Cape Town from Clanwilliam. We wish we'd had longer to linger as the setting was wonderful, the room tip top and the food great. Will definitely be back and recommend to friends who visit Paternoster. The staff were helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paternoster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paternoster Lodge

Address: 64 St Augustine Road, Paternoster 7381, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paternoster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Hotel Class:4 star — Paternoster Lodge 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paternoster Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paternoster Lodge to your Saves list