We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Western Cape you need to come here !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Noisy Oyster

Noisy Oyster
St Augustine Road, Paternoster, South Africa
022 752 2196
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 restaurants in Paternoster
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In the Western Cape you need to come here !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have spent 9 months living and working in the western cape and had many occasions to dine here and this is my favourite place. Very quirky and cool venue, with excellent food, attentive hospitable and friendly staff. Carl the host does provide a very warm welcome and the waitresses are amongst the most attractive in the Cape.

Booking is always advisable, but a sign does proclaim that if you are a fast eater and a big tipper you might get a table at short notice.

The eating area is outdoors, enclosed at the rear of the building and on first appearance it could be classed a ramshackle, but I along with others who visited believe it is really funky and well put together. The roof is a "bedouin" tent . There are fire pits and braziers strategically placed which, together with the chilled tunes add to the ambience.

I have eaten here many times and can recommend everything that I had on the menus available, but they do change the content quite often. Specifically, for starters I enjoyed; the Stovie fishcakes or the Sharing Platter (the terrine is fabulous). Mains; The Cob, Hake or the Steak are particular favourites for me. I also had a go at a few of the white wines and rated the Rienke [sp] Organic wine as a particular good one to try.

I do hope I get chance to visit this place again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    180
    81
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midrand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is such an unexpected gem. From the outside it's quant but plain, but the courtyard inside is absolutely beautiful. The atmosphere is amazing, the service was excellent, the food was great. The perfect venue for a lovely meal with family and friends. Even the kids were comfortable and happy. This is definitely a place I'd drive a detour to visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paternoster, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have never been disappointed eating here. Service is always good with fun , easygoing on the ball waiters. The quail was outstanding as well as the steak. Atmosphere and music supports the fine food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“5 star restaurant in a small sea side village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a surprise this place is, having heard about it for years from everyone who has ever been to Paternoster I had very high expectations!

We arrived at the door and from the outside it looks very ordinary and fits in with the sea side surroundings, but once you get inside it's like whole new world. Fairy lights and fireplaces create the warmest glow, along with trees in between the tables and interesting decor pieces the atmosphere is truly magical.

We had a 5 hour long dinner and indulged in starters, mains and desserts or as they call it "flirting", "foreplay" and "intercourse"! Everyone raved about their meals, the beef fillet, pork belly and fish were all hits and their starters and desserts were just as delicious!

They don't ask corkage so we were able to bring our own wine and champagne.

Good to note that we made the reservation weeks in advance to assure a space as they are so fully booked - always.

I can't wait to go back! I have also been told by many that this makes for the perfect wedding or celebration venue!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Rushed service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I first ate here 3 years ago, and really enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. However my return visit was less enjoyable. The service was extremely rushed. It was obvious that they wanted us to eat and leave as quickly as possible so that they could turn the table to get more customers served. Our starters appeared within 3 minutes of ordering. The main course similarly arrived about 3 minutes after we had put down the cuttlery from the first course. There was no time to relax and actually enjoy the meal.

The food itself was fine. The waiting staff were polite, but the rushed service was very off putting. I hope to go back to Paternoster, but am doubtful that I will return to the Noisy Oyster. If I do go back, I will book a late sitting in the expectation that they won't be trying to chase me out of the restaurant in such a hurry.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noisy Oyster also viewed

Paternoster, Western Cape
 
Paternoster, Western Cape
Paternoster, Western Cape
 

Been to Noisy Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noisy Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.