We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mastin Vecchio

Mastin Vecchio
Via Alighieri, 5, Gradara, Italy
0541964024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Gradara
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant has two floors: the upper one is a restaurant and the lower one is a taverna, the menu has fewer items but there is no charge for service. Upstairs there is also a shop with gastronomic items, we bought some excellent truffle butter and truffle honey at prices slightly cheaper than usual.
The floor downstair has ancient brick walls and a cave going down to complete the medioeval feeling. We had nice mixed antipasti, great meat and vegetables, and some porcini stuffed ravioli.
Waiters were very nice and professionals. We had a quarter of good wine for about 3 euros, much better quality than the usual 'wine of the house'. A first course is 9-10 euros and a second course is 16-20 euros.
They also organize weddings and parties.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    171
    30
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Osijek, Croatia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our group had dinner in this restaurant and everything was perfect. The service was excellent, fast and bringing everything what was needed and asked for. Food was excellent and although there was 50 of us everything was coming on the table almost simultaneously. Restaurant itself is very nice and it it within old city walls. Inside decoration is very simple and that is what it makes it very attractive. Definitely worth visiting

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow. Our new favorite in all of Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This place was extra welcoming by letting us come in before opening hours, while all other places told us to wait till 7.30 pm!

The food was simply amazing! Our special discovery was strozepretti pasta (spelling?).

And the prices were not at all high for a great place with great people, music and atmosphere!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A really charming place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place is located within city walls and it is very charming. It is divided in a very elegant restaurant and a very comfortable "osteria" in Middle Age atmosphere.
We had lunch in "Osteria" with "piadina" and "gnocchi" hand made and pear with Fossa cheese and nut!!! FANTASTIC!!!
All staff was very helpful. So if you decided for a journey in Gradara, I suggest to have a break for lunch there!!!
Good connection between quality and price!!!
See all photos to have an idea!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good food despite being in very touristy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We had a lovely lunch here sitting outside in the sunshine on a very busy Sunday in Sept when the castle was free to enter so the borgo was mobbed. There were so many tables laid out for big parties we were worried that the service might be awful and a table for two could be 'lost' but our fears were unfounded, the waitor smiled indulgently at our poor Italian and the food and wine arrived promptly and was very tasty. We shared an antipasti starter and then had a pasta course each followed by coffee so not a big blow out meal but enough for us. The bill was €50 including a litre of very acceptable house red, not a huge bargain but still reasonable for a smart place in a very touristy place. Only one gripe - they could do with more loos, queues were too long and a place that seats so many covers should have at least a couple more.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastin Vecchio also viewed

Gradara, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Gradara, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 
Gradara, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
Gradara, Province of Pesaro and Urbino
 

Been to Mastin Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mastin Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.