We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, hospitable hotel full of local character and charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gressoney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gressoney to your Saves list
Hotel Gressoney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lys 3, 11025 Gressoney Saint Jean, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Authentic, hospitable hotel full of local character and charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a very pleasant week here in March/April 2015. Food was excellent; ingredients locally sourced, well prepared and presented. Wild boar, venison and rabbit among the highlights; risotto, home made soups and ravioli all delicious. All tastes catered for at breakfast when we were greeted with the aroma of freshly baked cakes two or three times during the week. Relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant as elsewhere in the hotel. Extensive public areas in the hotel added to the ambience; sitting room tastefully furnished and adorned with local artefacts and the idiosyncratic collections of Renzo, the manager. Decently sized bedrooms, set around an atrium bathed in natural light. Wonderful north facing views over the Monte Rosa ski area. Local village, with interesting architecture and historic buildings. Water pressure in the shower could have been a bit stronger but a minor point when set against all the positives of this hotel. Great place to stay with plenty to do in summer as in winter.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I stayed here for my 2nd time. Lovely hotel in the beautiful village of Gressoney Saint-Jean.

The staff are very friendly and will help accommodate you as much as possible (they went and bought me porridge for my breakfast).

The Manager is an extremely nice man that even dropped into the next village late during the week for a few drinks.

The food is pretty amazing, with different options every night.

And access to the local bus service is pretty much outside the door, with a 1 min walk to the bus stop.

Great experience and i looking forward to going back there again next year.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We wanted to ski in the Monte Rosa ski area and decided to stay in Gressoney, but we were aware that there are two villages - Gressoney Saint Jean and Gressoney La Trinite, which are a 10 minute bus journey apart. Our concerns that the hotel might be too far away from any facilities were quickly allayed when we arrived - Gressoney Saint Jean has a good range of shops, sports shops, bars, a museum, restaurants and the hotel is only 200 metres from one of the interlinked nordic ski circuits which extend for 22kms along the valley.
On arrival, we were warmly welcomed, swiftly helped through check-in and assisted to our room.
The Hotel Gressoney has a triple height, plant-filled atrium, a comfortable seating and bar area and a new dining room extension with panoramic views up the valley towards Monte Rosa.
Our room was spotlessly clean, bright, spacious, had a shower/toilet and a balcony.
We stayed on a half board basis and were delighted with the excellent cuisine and friendly staff. Erica and her colleagues work tirelessly to ensure all the guests have a great experience while staying at the hotel. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
The breakfast buffet was a comprehensive selection of fresh fruit juices, bacon, scrambled eggs, cereals, pastries, breads,cold ham and cheese.
Dinner consisted of 4 courses, with a salad/antipasti buffet, then your selection from 4 starters, 4 mains ( always including a vegetarian option) and then an impressive dessert buffet. The main courses included local specialities, including wild boar, rabbit and venison. The wine list also had an impressive selection of local wines.
The ski bus stop was conveniently just outside the hotel and the 10 minutes up to La Trinite ( to ski within the valley) and a further 10 minutes to Staffal ( to get the cable car or gondola to the ski areas in the adjoining valleys) turned out to be part of the overall enjoyment of this stunning area.
Having a bath in the room would have made this hotel perfect, but that would definitely not stop us from returning here - I would definitely recommend this hotel for either winter or summer stays.

Room Tip: From the floor plan, room 109 was at least twice the size of our room - and we were perfectly happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I spent a week here in Jan/Feb 2015 on a Crystal skiing trip. I chose the hotel because of its good previous reviews and these were thoroughly vindicated. It was very comfortable, with very good and varied food, nice spacious rooms and very efficient and friendly staff. Although you have to use a bus to get to the slopes this was not a problem: the bust stop is very close by and the bus service was reliable. Gressoney St Jean is a very pleasant village too, although this is not a place for those looking for lively apres-ski!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for a week in March. The food was excellent, lots of regional specialities, rabbit, venison, local dumplings and so on. Service was very good in the restaurant and the rooms were clean and well kept. Gianni the main waiter was great craic and very attentive. We enjoyed sampling Renzo's grappa recommendations with an after dinner coffee.
The valley is very interesting and we enjoyed the rides up to the slopes on the bus to Staffal. We found the Jolanda lift very, very slow and ski hire based up at Gressoney Trinite was a bit of a pain as it involved getting a bus there and then another bus to get up to Staffal to access the slopes.
From a skier's point of view a jacuzzi would be a welcome addition to the hotel now. We enjoyed a pre dinner "giro" in the village for a drink. Our favourite was the Flying Brasserie with great Guinness and lovely white wines.

Room Tip: We had a north facing room with a lovely view up the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here at the same time as the previous reviewer and would back up everything he has said a great review and sums up the Hotel Gressoney perfectly. We were there at the same time as some great people and this does help of course!

Room Tip: Chat up Renzo as my wife did and get a bigger room!!??
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Gressoney at the end of February and had a brilliant time. The best thing about the hotel are the people; Renzo (the owner/manager), Gianni ('Johnny' the Somellier) and Erika who all go a long way to make sure the guests have everything they need.

The Hotel is very nice with large, clean, well decorated, comfortable rooms off a large central atrium. The public areas and dining room are excellent. The food is plentiful and of a very good standard. Breakfast and antipasto buffets are very well stocked and, because it is a small hotel, these never feel like a free-for-all. The following choice of five or six of each primo and secondo courses are like two main courses and if that isn't enough then the pudding selection and cheeses should do the trick. There is no free bottled water or wine with dinner but a big selection is available to buy from Gianni the Somellier. The bar serves bottled beers and spirits.

We were a bit apprehensive about staying away from the lifts higher up the valley. However, Gressoney St Jean is a lovely old village with several restuarants, shops and bars. Handy on arrival days, delays, apres ski and for non-skiers. The 8.15 or 8.30 bus will get you to the lifts in Trinite in 15 minutes or to Stafal in 25 minutes. No real problem.

Gressoney with Champoluc on one side and Alagna on the other make it an Italian Three Valleys. There are plenty of wonderful, quiet pistes but the off-piste is fantastic. Runs from the Punta Indren lift (which is for 'expert' skiiers with transciever, probe and shovel) are just the most dramatic off-piste you will do without a helicopter or a long walk. There are plenty of easier off pistes through the trees in Frachey, at the sides of the pistes and lift lines everywhere. Get a guide from Stafal and ask for Hervey, the head honcho, who is superb.

Overall one of the best skiing hotels with the nicest people running it that we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a balcony facing up the valley if one is available. The views are stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gressoney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gressoney

Address: Via Lys 3, 11025 Gressoney Saint Jean, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressoney Saint Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gressoney Saint Jean
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gressoney 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gressoney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gressoney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.