We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corte Altavilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Corte Altavilla to your Saves list
Corte Altavilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico Goffredo Altavilla 8, 70014 Conversano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Conversano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend here and all I can say, is fabulous! The welcome we received Friday night was lovely and a wine tasting event was held and would highly recommend! The rooms are very clean and comfortable and very in keeping with the building. Breakfast and dinner was excellent and previous comments about lack of choice surprised me as wonderful selection. Would highly recommend the Spa facility too. I travelled with the Discovery Collection and their service and knowledge is excellent. Can't wait to visit again and explore the region more.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, may I thank you for your eedback.

I am delighted that you liked Conversano 'Città d’Arte ' with its architectural beauty and its many relaxing coffee shops, the wine tasting organized for you and our welcome!

Thank you for your positive feedback on our restaurant - the staff and I a grateful for your kind words and hope you will return to Conversano to provide us with an opportunity of welcoming you back to Corte Altavilla once more.

With best wishes,
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    129
    49
    27
    9
See reviews for
29
241
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent our first 2 nights in Puglia here end very much enjoyed it. True, the beds are not the best and the hotel is a bit noisy, but it wasn't a big deal and given we paid 60 euros per night, we thought it was terrific value for a spacious room in a gorgeous spot with an excellent restaurant. The car parking process is a bit complicated but well run and we never had to wait to be run to the car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Great Value ... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla! The great value is waiting for you!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Tucked away behind the cathedral, with a maze of rooms which are plain and simple, and very helpful staff, we spent the first two nights of a week's holiday in Puglia, in October, and enjoyed it, although the nature of the building meant we heard the staff walking about late at night and preparing breakfast early in the morning, as we were directly below them and the old floor meant there was no way of stopping us hearing their footsteps. The spa was also disappointing, but the food in the restaurant was excellent. The night we ate there, and the overall ambience of the hotel was such that we didn't regret staying there.

Room Tip: Ask not to be placed immediately below the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Quirky Hotel with a good restaurant ... A boutique hotel.. It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at the Corte Altavilla as a treat for my sister on a special birthday through the Discovery collection. The small town is quite atmospheric with its narrow twisting alleys and tunnels and beautiful old buildings, amazing old wrought iron balconies full of potted plants. We loved the old fashioned coffee places ( no chains here thank you ! ) and gelateris with delicious ice creams. Unfortunately almost the whole place becomes a ghost town between 1 and 4 , with no galleries or shops open , so plan your day carefully....( maybe factor in a very long lunch ...?).The Hotel was very unusual and quirky. However , the decor of the rooms was extremely minimalist , with no comfy chairs , cushions on beds, rugs on floor , so not exactly welcoming . I agree with another reviewer that the pillows were in need of replacement. The beds were also incredibly creaky !! Saying all that , I decided the hotel was just very traditional and Italian ! Very good food and service in the restaurant , and friendly reception staff. I also agree that a decent walking map should replace the poor photocopied one available . Conversano is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, may I thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am delighted that you liked Conversano 'Città d’Arte ' with its architectural beauty and its many relaxing coffee shops. Please note it is a local tradition that between 1-4pm local families take a siesta hence entire neighbourhoods quieten down in the early afternoon. You will be pleased to know that the old town's map is now being printed in colour!
With regards to your bedroom, it is regrettable that you did not bring your discontent to our attention as we would certainly have moved you to another room.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our restaurant - the staff and I a grateful for your kind words and hope you will return to Conversano to provide us with an opportunity of welcoming you back to Corte Altavilla once more.

With best wishes,
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked a 5 night "foodie break" through Secret Escapes / Discovery Collection which was based at Corte Altavilla. Sadly the hotel was disappointing - very few amenities in the room (no kettle / mugs / coffee etc), bed was rock hard (as other guests mentioned as well) and room was generally very basic and bathroom very dated (we stayed in a Junior Suite). Location is good, however, and restaurant OK (for dinner) though breakfast was very simple and quite plain - often with much of the selection already finished / not re-stocked. We had expected a lot more....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, may I thank you for your constructive feedback.

I would like to bring to your attention that our hotel is part of Ecolabel. This is a program providing eco-friendly hotel product, which dictate we must not use single-dose sachets of any kind.
Please rest assured that the reason for this is purely an environmental one - the hotel is not saving on the cost of coffee.

Whilst I sympathize that the decor of your room may not have conformed to a modern space, Corte Altavilla is centuries old hence any refurbishment is very much restricted both by the building's original features as well as by the authorities (Ministry of Monuments).

I am however surprised by your comments relating your breakfast experience with us as we don't seem to have ever had an issue with food and beverage restocking up. If however you went for breakfast after 9:30am (autumn time), which is when the breakfast room is closed, you would not have found the full breakfast spread.

It is regrettable that you did not bring your discontent to our attention as we would have made sure you received the high standard of service we like to deliver to all our guests.

I do hope you will return to Conversano to provide us with an opportunity to welcoming you back to Corte Altavilla once more.

With best wishes,
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Corte Altavilla after it first coming to our attention via Secret Escapes and decided to spend a couple of nights here as we liked the look of both the hotel and Conversano. Both were charming. On arrival, we were shown to our room, which we were not entirely happy with, but were quickly shown another one which we found much more pleasing and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were only small things which we felt stopped the hotel rating from being a 5. We were using public transport and felt that local knowledge in this respect could have been better and, instead of the photocopied maps, a proper one from the tourist information would have been nicer.

That said, we had a lovely time there and found it a gorgeous setting and convenient for visiting sights such as Alberobello, easily reached by train.

Room Tip: We had junior suite room l06 which had a window overlooking the entrance and cathedral at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Captivating Conversano... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Charming old town with large central square and abundant bars and cafe's. The old monastery was open as well as the Church, it was a special 'Children's Festival'. Town also had a fort with well restored walls. Hotel was quiet, all the bedrooms different as it was converted from several old town houses with secret courtyards and numerous stairways. There was a lift. Beautiful roof top terrace restaurant where breakfast was served. Wifi signal excellent. Beds rather hard. Can recommend this hotel for cleanliness and charm. We were two friends sharing and were allocated a suite with two bedrooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the beginning of your review about ...Attratctive small town, historic hotel building... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. Your review is the mirror of our efforts started on July 2002, more than10 years ago..
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and Puglia farms are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corte Altavilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte Altavilla

Address: Vico Goffredo Altavilla 8, 70014 Conversano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Conversano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Conversano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Corte Altavilla 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel "Corte Altavilla" is an old medieval court situated in a residential area of the historical centre of Conversano, (City of Art). It stands on a hill, 8 km far from the sea, near the area of the "trulli" and the "grottoes." In 1100 beautiful and young Sibilla d'Altavilla lived here, who were Roberto Courtehouse's wife, the son of William II the Conqueror. Sibilla, missed queen of England, is buried inside the cathedral of Rouen, in Normandy.Following a complete restoration in 2002, a very unusual complex of antique dwellings, located within the walls of the medieval Altavilla court, has been transformed into a receptive centre with hotel rooms, elegant suites and apartments where original stone built rooms with whitewashed plasters, barrel vaults and wooden beams charm the guests. Nothing is made by chance: attention to the details, to the smallest things, in order to make everything elegant and sumptuous, between the past and the present, an harmonic contrast between the modern and the old.Discretion, kindness and helpfulness of our staff at the reception meet your needs to suggest itineraries from the cliffs of Polignano to the "trulli" of Alberobello, from the landscape of the Itria Valley to the "grottoes" of Castellana, and then the "white city" of Ostuni, Frederick II and Castel del Monte, the "rocks" of Matera, Salento, farmhouses, rocky churches: in a word: Apulia. The 31 dwellings (suites and rooms) are equipped with all modern comforts: direct control air conditioning, satellite TV, direct telephone, safes, free internet wi fi, fire alarm, minibar and kitchen area (available in some rooms). On request we have a Junior Suite with hydromassage bath tub.Also available: solarium terrace, concierge/information desk, bikes, transfer facilities and chauffeur, daily excursions by car or on boat all around the area; thermarium spa, cookery course and parking area. In the morning at our restaurant on the terrace with a beautiful view of the old town, you can have breakfast buffet: orange juice, yoghurts, different cereals, croissants, cakes and tarts, bread of a local baker’s, toasted bread, marmalades, seasonal fresh fruit, taralli, cheese and salami, eggs.For dinner our chef offers a typical regional cuisine using fresh seasonal products and every day it proposes different menus which enclose the history and the culinary customs of our town. IN SHORT: Every room offers the following service: Free internet Wi fi, sat TV, heat/cold air conditioning with remote control, telephone, Internet connection socket, safe, hairdryer, kitchen area (on request in Standard rooms), minibar and smoke alarm. Internet Wi fi free of charge is in available in 100% of rooms and public areas. In the common area: Free Interne Wi fi free of charg, lounge, free Internet point, typical cuisine restaurant on the terrace with the view of the old city, 2 meeting halls, hall with reading area and courtesy cafe, solarium, lift, free parking service, thermarium spa. Furthermore, we have at our guests disposal: rental bikes, transfer service, organized excursions around Apulia, cookery course, boat or cruise excursions, riding school at 5 km far, olive oil bottles on sale with Corte Altavilla mark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Corte Altavilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Altavilla Hotel Conversano
Holiday Inn Bari
Corte Altavilla Bari
Corte Altavilla Conversano, Italy - Puglia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corte Altavilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.