We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corte Altavilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Corte Altavilla to your Saves list
Corte Altavilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico Goffredo Altavilla 8, 70014 Conversano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Conversano
Palermo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

this hotel is situated in the heart of a lovely town in Puglia. The location close to the cathedral makes it a bit difficult to reach by car (but you can load and unload your luggage). The rooms are spacious, clean. Great breakfast. You can also dine here (but there are several other options in town). Great that they have a welness center!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Tony & Aletha,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the the title of your review about ... Great place to stay ... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. We find some troubles but we'll do better in the future also with your good advise!
Thank you so much for your comment about the "Great breakfast".
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and its cathedral are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    140
    56
    27
    9
See reviews for
30
257
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel for several nights during a very special trip with friends, both couples celebrating 40th Wedding Anniversaries. The location is tucked away down a cobblestone walkway, very private and quiet. We felt as if we were going back in time walking around the castle and down the various laneways.

The staff was courteous and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable, we especially liked the exposed stone and beautiful high windows. We were able to open them up and enjoy the church bells and cooling breezes.

The restaurant was very good. We enjoyed several meals there, including very nice continental breakfasts on the outdoor deck.

If we're ever back that way again, we would definitely stay at Corte Altavilla. We have already highly recommended it to friends.

Thank you Letizia for a lovely stay.

Tony & Aletha

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Tony & Aletha,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the the title of your review about ...back in time ... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. We find some troubles but we'll do better in the future also with your good advise!
Thank you so much for the "high recommendation".
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and its cathedral are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here in mid June 2013, having decided on Conversano as it was within a reasonable driving distance of Brindisi. The hotel is not far from the Castle. Park at the AGIP garage just below the castle on the main road into the town and walk to the hotel, which from memory is the second right past the castle in the main square the hotel staff were efficient and helpful with a speedy check in. We had a very nice room, sparsely furnished, but with some excellent Italian tiles in the room and bathroom. We looked out onto the backs of other buildings and the balcony below was very close and we overlooked the guests below. The room had air con and a mossi plug in supplied which was very much appreciated.
We had no complaints about the hotel, we didn’t eat there, using the local restaurants, the ones in the main square were fine, but the best one we found was, from the hotel entrance past the main church keeping it onto your right then into the square and going slightly right, but straight on – just past the square you will find an open air restaurant which was very reasonably priced and excellent local food.
This is a spa hotel and the spa is nice however we were disappointed to find “Premier Inn” style soap dispensers in the bathroom – not really promoting their spa image which you could have easily done with some nice toiletries in the room-bit of a missed opportunity in our view.
Breakfast was good, no complaints and the staff were always helpful, however, having stayed at a lot of Italian hotels, this was rather corporate and not particularly personal. We enjoyed Conversano, particularly the restaurants and in the main square one night was a Beatles tribute band, the “No Where Men” who are apparently a renowned cover band. They were excellent, although the Beatles wigs were a bit rough and akin to a Monty Python style sketch, a good night though.
We spent a good hour looking for the Peacock which you can clearly hear throughout the day – we suspect it either lives high up on the roofs or is a recording played to make tourists walk round the town in search of it !!!
Would we return – yes probably although we wouldn’t stay more than a couple of nights.
Would we recommend the hotel – Yes it is a nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the the title of your review about ..."The peacock chronicles" ... Thanks a lot... It's how you live! Often the peacock is walking and flying on the roof... It's strange but true!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. We find some troubles , sometimes beyond our control as you wrote, but our goals to do better in the future also with your good advise!.
I am sorry if you perceived our echo-friendly toiletries to be from 'bulk supplies'. For your information the hotel participates to the Ecolabel European program, which means that all toiletries used in our hotel are designed to have minimum impact on the environment - literature in all rooms informs guests of this fact - a practice both management and staff are proud of.
The peacock
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and its cathedral are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Conversano is a beautiful hilltop town.....I know this as I pulled my suitcase up the road from the station to the square and then down the cobbled lanes to the hotel and then later that day I rode my bicycle down and then up the hills surrounding the town.

The hotel takes over several old stones houses in the village and is a cool retreat from the blazing sun.

We arrived very early and were immediately shown to our room. Thank fully there was a lift to service all the floors. Rooms were airy although scarcely finished but it was perfect.

The staff looked after us and secured our bikes for the night.

Breakfast is taken on the roof and is buffet style. You can order a coffee from the waiter.

A great restaurant Pasha is just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the the title of your review about ...Hidden down a cobbled lane! ... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. We find some troubles , sometimes beyond our control as you wrote, but our goals to do better in the future also with your good advise!.
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and its cathedral are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the beautiful Corte Altavilla. The setting is lovely, a stone's throw from the castle down a cobbled passageway. The rooms are very quaint, sparsely furnished with traditional furniture. The reception staff were especially helpful. Aside from our daily breakfast (which is self service with minimal fuss), we ate twice in the hotel restaurant - the food was delicious and good value for money. We also booked treatments in the hotel spa which is worth doing. I would strongly recommend this hotel and a visit to the beautiful town of Conversano.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the the title of your review about ...A wonderful find! ... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. We find some troubles , sometimes beyond our control as you wrote, but our goals to do better in the future also with your good advise!
Thank you so much for the "strong recommendation".
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and its cathedral are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hats off to all the staff at the castle and especially to Letizia for making our stay a great experience. We were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary along with another couple and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place to enjoy our vacation. As soon as you enter the courtyard it's like going back in time with all the modern conveniences. Our room was like our own little piece of the old castle with the lovely open windows, the stone steps up to our bedoorm and the sounds of the church bells ringing. Walking through the lovely little alley ways you never knew what to expect around the corner. Always a new site with beautiful old doorways, balconys, family crests above doorways and always someone to wish you a buon giorno. Every morning we enjoyed our delicious breakfast up on the terrace. You could have breakfast inside or have it on the outside terrace which we usually chose to do. We also had wonderful delicious dinners in the restaurant almost every evening. It was very convenient after a long day of site seeing to be able to take the elevator up to the terrace and have a lovely dinner with a few good bottles of wine. Thank you again Letizia for making our stay at Corte Altavilla a most memorable part of our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Chris,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the the title of your review about ...Dream vacation ... Thanks a lot... It's how you live!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. We find some troubles , sometimes beyond our control as you wrote, but our goals to do better in the future also with your good advise!
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and its cathedral are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Did you know Conversano is the world capital of Cherries? We didn't either, but sit in a cafe long enough and they'll bring you a bowl.

Let me start with how to get there and it doesn't involve a 60EUR transfer. At Bari airport go to the bookstore on the 1st floor and the guy there will be good enough to replace your own floundering Italian effort with his own good English. 1EUR buys a single for the No.16 bus to take you to the train station 'Bari Centro'. You won't find the train to Conversano in the main ticket office, instead take the subway to the left of the building and follow it to the end platforms, south east or something, there you can buy your 1.90EUR single to Conversano. The train may not tell you what your next stop is so just time the 40mins ish it should take and get out when it's up, you probably won't be in the right carriage to see the Conversano sign at the station either so just trust in luck and judgement.

You will be at the hotel reception in 5 minutes and man what a place! A simple Bongiorno will be greeted with a massive smile and charming broken English. We had a junior suite and I can't recommend it highly enough, our balcony looked out at the Cathedral and it has a charming bedroom and lounge, the shower likes to droop frustratingly and there is a kitchen with 2 hobs, a sink and a fridge. The only utensil you have is a bottle opener, however, so if you want to cook anything on your burners you'll need to bring your own pans etc.

Cooking may be more desirable than you think because depending on what day of the week you will either be spoiled for culinary choice or facing starvation. On monday there was a bizarre and beautiful festival of the Madonna with a street market, illuminated arches and a procession culminating in everybody diving into a church for a very late service. All the restuarants were open so we got Pizza in the medieval place just outside the hotel and sat over a glass floor above a tomb of some sort - you wouldn't think 6EUR would be a whole pizza but I'll be damned.... it was massive!

Tuesday nothing was open for dinner and Wednesday seemingly nothing was open for lunch, even buying something from the supermarket was a no-go because it was open 0900-1200, 1700-2100. Happily the bar directly across the main square sells great ice cream all day and is an absolute steal with 2 glass of wine, 2 red Peroni and a couple of espreso ice creams came to 14EUR. No kidding. The hotel restaurant does a typically curious Italian breakfast full of cake and offers a tasting menu for the region which is nice but I'd skip it; everything seemed to come with red cabbage and I know I enjoyed my massive grilled fish the previous night more. They are good though, they knew what we'd eaten the last night (the day nothing in town was open) and replaced similar items from the tasting menu for that which we hadn't had yet. That meant that my girlfriend didn't have Tagliata twice, and that isn't a pasta (which we had thought) but is strips of steak, so there - the more you know.

On the Tuesday we went to Polignano A Mare (by the sea I assume) and since there is only 1 bus in the morning and one back in the evening we set off on foot. Don't do that, it's 10kms which isn't tough but the lack of pavement and 100kph traffic is kinda scary. An old Signor took pity and took us the mile or so much to our gratitude. It's fun sitting in a car knowing no Italian and speaking to a man who knows no English. Go for a swim there as it's wonderful, then to get back take the train back to Bari then the train to Conversano, it's much cheaper than a taxi and you will like the old part of Bari and the chance to shop!

The Spa is a tranquill affair which you can enjoy for a no-treatment price of 30EUR for 1.5hrs, in truth though they are so relaxed there that you could spend 3 hours and nobody would mind. You go from bubbly pool to pepperminty hot steam room to cool shower then start again. The steam room is crazy, the temperature instantly starts to go up if you do something as simple as wave your arms, if you do star jumps it gets quite unbearable.

GO AND MAKE PASTA! As soon as you arrive book the learn to make an Italian meal evening which is the most fun you will have, Marina (who speaks good English) picks you up at 5 and you cook and drink with her and Mara (who speaks good Italian) until dinner around 9, I can now count myself a master cook though really I just did some potato peeling and washing up. It's a charming experience and while you may never find the ingredients to make it all again it's really a perfect evening - just have a small lunch. End of the meal Marina's husband acted like a naughty school boy running around to find home made Licqurice, Walnut and Lemon liquors, all delicious and all worth going back for.

There is something mad like 12 churches in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, the Chiesa San Cosmo has a ceiling that must be seen to be appreciated for it is a stunning sight, on the Tuesday there was a Santa Lita festival which I didn't understand but everyone was walking round with roses and they were in the San Cosmo chanting, it's all so beautiful!

You will hear a bird call which I could not identify but it's the same you'd hear in a wildlife park or zoo, there was no sign of any exotic bird and I finally remember to ask reception just what the devil that is, after a quick flutter on Google Translate it turned out to be a Peacock, just crazy enough to compliment this ridiculous and beautiful place.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letizia V, Direttore at Corte Altavilla, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your review...
Above alI .. I enjoyed the the title of your review about ...Is That a peacock?! ... Thanks a lot... It's how you live! Often the peacock is walking and flying on the roof... It's strange but true!
Conversano is the town of cherries... yeah! In may and june Conversano is a great cherry and there are many activities and attractions for the visitors!
We're really trying the best to improve our services and the good relation between quality of services and their prices. We find some troubles , sometimes beyond our control as you wrote, but our goals to do better in the future also with your good advise!
The hotel staff, the historical centre of Conversano and its cathedral are waiting again for you!
I hope to see you soon at Corte Altavilla!
Letizia Valenzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corte Altavilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte Altavilla

Address: Vico Goffredo Altavilla 8, 70014 Conversano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Conversano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Conversano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Corte Altavilla 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel "Corte Altavilla" is an old medieval court situated in a residential area of the historical centre of Conversano, (City of Art). It stands on a hill, 8 km far from the sea, near the area of the "trulli" and the "grottoes." In 1100 beautiful and young Sibilla d'Altavilla lived here, who were Roberto Courtehouse's wife, the son of William II the Conqueror. Sibilla, missed queen of England, is buried inside the cathedral of Rouen, in Normandy.Following a complete restoration in 2002, a very unusual complex of antique dwellings, located within the walls of the medieval Altavilla court, has been transformed into a receptive centre with hotel rooms, elegant suites and apartments where original stone built rooms with whitewashed plasters, barrel vaults and wooden beams charm the guests. Nothing is made by chance: attention to the details, to the smallest things, in order to make everything elegant and sumptuous, between the past and the present, an harmonic contrast between the modern and the old.Discretion, kindness and helpfulness of our staff at the reception meet your needs to suggest itineraries from the cliffs of Polignano to the "trulli" of Alberobello, from the landscape of the Itria Valley to the "grottoes" of Castellana, and then the "white city" of Ostuni, Frederick II and Castel del Monte, the "rocks" of Matera, Salento, farmhouses, rocky churches: in a word: Apulia. The 31 dwellings (suites and rooms) are equipped with all modern comforts: direct control air conditioning, satellite TV, direct telephone, safes, free internet wi fi, fire alarm, minibar and kitchen area (available in some rooms). On request we have a Junior Suite with hydromassage bath tub.Also available: solarium terrace, concierge/information desk, bikes, transfer facilities and chauffeur, daily excursions by car or on boat all around the area; thermarium spa, cookery course and parking area. In the morning at our restaurant on the terrace with a beautiful view of the old town, you can have breakfast buffet: orange juice, yoghurts, different cereals, croissants, cakes and tarts, bread of a local baker's, toasted bread, marmalades, seasonal fresh fruit, taralli, cheese and salami, eggs.For dinner our chef offers a typical regional cuisine using fresh seasonal products and every day it proposes different menus which enclose the history and the culinary customs of our town. IN SHORT: Every room offers the following service: Free internet Wi fi, sat TV, heat/cold air conditioning with remote control, telephone, Internet connection socket, safe, hairdryer, kitchen area (on request in Standard rooms), minibar and smoke alarm. Internet Wi fi free of charge is in available in 100% of rooms and public areas. In the common area: Free Interne Wi fi free of charge, lounge, free Internet point, typical cuisine restaurant on the terrace with the view of the old city, 2 meeting halls, hall with reading area and courtesy cafe, solarium, lift, free parking service, thermarium spa. Furthermore, we have at our guests disposal: rental bikes, transfer service, organized excursions around Apulia, cookery course, boat or cruise excursions, riding school at 5 km far, olive oil bottles on sale with Corte Altavilla mark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Corte Altavilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Altavilla Hotel Conversano
Holiday Inn Bari
Corte Altavilla Bari
Corte Altavilla Conversano, Italy - Puglia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corte Altavilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.